In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Filters and Pumps for In Ground Pools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)

Hayward Super Pump for in ground swimming pools outlasts and outperforms the competition. Haward super pumps are large capacity and durable. Swimming pool pumps by Hayward from In The Swim.
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 39
35 of 40(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Review 1 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pump,
Date:May 7, 2013
By st01
from Bennettsville, SC
from Bennettsville, SC
Pros: Quiet, large strainer basket, easy to clean strainer
"I have had the 1-1/2 hp Hayward Super Pump for about 14 years now. I have only had to replace the motor once although it is getting near time to replace it again. The Super Pump is far superior to the old Marlow pump I had for years. (My pool is 34 years old.)"
Review 2 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible,
Date:June 25, 2012
By Upstate
from Upstate NY
from Upstate NY
"When my pool was installed six years ago, it came with a 1 hp Hayward Super Pump. It was hit by lightening, so I replaced with the same. The motor failed in 10 months, so I received a replacement under the warranty. That pump failed in 14 months so it wasn't covered under the warranty. I ordered a new 1 hp Hayward Super Pump from In the Swim last July. That one just failed too. Luckily for me it's only the 11 month and In the Swim sent me a new one. This will be my 5th Hayward Super Pump in 5 years! If this one fails, I am switching brands! Can't believe it! Hayward is suppose to be so good! Not in my experience."
Review 3 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pump,
Date:May 13, 2012
By brian72
from ohio
from ohio
Pros: bad azz pump , # 1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"excellent pump , very reliable , i have the 2 hp and swear by it"
Review 4 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
400 dollars down the drain,
Date:March 28, 2012
By Scott911
from Indiana
from Indiana
Pros: Efficient when operating and quiet, looks good to eye easy to clean filter basket
Cons: Poor construction, unreliable , disappointment with reliability
"This pump is exactly two years old. Replaced one almost 10 years old. Couldn't believe it was locked up and toast this season. Had read a few reviews with a similar issue before but made the mistake buying it anyway. Thought it was probably an exception. I don't feel I can trust In the swim with my order of a new heater and filter since they recommended such a poor product. I'm looking for another source for pool equiptment. Will still buy supplies here. Any suggestions. I will say the people at In the swim are pleasant to work with. I love the pump housing. The motor is junk."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Short life span,
Date:March 16, 2012
By Chapstick
from Charlotte, NC
from Charlotte, NC
Pros: Very quiet, good filter design, easy open basket, all good except for motor
Cons: Last on average 2 seasons, rust inside and locks up pump
"To start off with I have to say that In the swim is great! Super fast next day delivery at a good price. No on to the poor product:
I have had my pool for 5 years and this is my 3rd 3/4 hp Howard super pump. Yes I said my 3rd in 5 years! I thought maybe I just got a bad one the first time, but now my 2 year old new pump failed to start this season so had to order another one. The problem is that they corrode on the inside and get locked up by rust when they sit over the winter. I had a pool before and I changed that pump out one time in 12 years. (it was not a Howard pump) when I take these pumps apart they look like a 15 year old pump with all the rust on the inside after only 2 seasons. They are not sitting in water or anything, it is just a cheap pump, so of you want your $350+ dollar pump to last more then a few seasons then stay away form this one."
Review 6 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
leaking problem on hayward pump,
Date:March 24, 2011
By pappabagg
"bought pump 2 months ago, just installed yesterday. sounded great but water was flowing out between motor and wet end.if you didn't purchase extra warrenty you're on your own.talked to parts said it was probably a cracked seal which i had suspected, but it's new?? offered to send new one if i sent back old. took pump apart, seal looked fine, but did notice that the seal assembly(hourglass shape with spring and rubber seal, in front of ceramic seal) wasn't aligned properly in the notches.reinstalled and no leak. hope this helps those with similar issue. otherwise price was good product is nice and quiet and strainer system is very nice.p.s. impeller will come off if you turn counterclockwise and have 7/16 wrench on the motor end as described in owners manual, but it was a bit tough."
Review 7 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One Great Pump,
Date:June 6, 2010
By TJOkie
from Oklahoma City, Ok
from Oklahoma City, Ok
Pros: durability
"I replaced a previous super pump with this one. The previous super pump lasted 6 years which considering it ran 7 months out of the year in the Oklahoma heat 24 hours a day, I think it has been a superb pump and is why I purchased another one. My transaction with In the Swim was flawless. I ordered on a Thursday evening and recieved the pump Saturday afternoon and pump was cheaper through in the swim, local pool shops didn't even have in stock!"
Review 8 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Puchase,
Date:May 22, 2010
By Dupe
from NY
from NY
Pros: 6 Years running no problems 12hrs a day
Cons: none
"I 'am very please with performance!"
Review 9 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fails just post warranty,
Date:May 7, 2010
By DMCNJ
from New Jersey
from New Jersey
Pros: Okay for two seasons
Cons: Bearings failed beginning of third season
"Pump failed at 2 years 2 months. Too much money for two seasons. Note other review on this site same issue. Take the hint. Appears the AO Smith motors are not holding up."
Review 10 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not so good,
Date:August 24, 2009
By sray52
from Norfolk, VA
from Norfolk, VA
Pros: very quiet, ran excellent for two years
Cons: 2 yrs, 2 months and bearings shot
"installed easily and ran great for two years and two months. Quietest pump I've had or heard on numerous pools. Bearings started to grind and overheated in one afternoon. Had to replace shortly after warranty expired.
In process of repairing to see if I can determine cause of failure.
Overall, pretty expensive for only two years of use. Previous pump I had ran for 10 years; same manufacturer."
Review 11 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hayward Super Pump,
Date:July 31, 2009
By MissT
from Vacaville, CA.
from Vacaville, CA.
Pros: Easy to install, very quiet, easy access to basket
Cons: none
"I saved so much money by going to In the Swim.com. I saved about 50% by going to this site. The Hayward Super pump is excellent. I was able to install it myself no problem. The instructions were very clear. I was surprised at how quiet the pump is. Also, I love how easy it is to open the top. You just have to unscrew the handles and take the basket out for cleaning. I am 100% satisfied with this pump and would purchase another one in the future."
Review 12 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
Date:July 25, 2009
By lilrocco1
from Hendersonville NC
from Hendersonville NC
Pros: quiet and efficient
Cons: can't think of any
"A good, durable pump that is efficient and very quiet. The electrician said it was a very simple installation."
Review 13 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wonderful purchase,
Date:July 25, 2009
By roho1998
from cleveland tennessee
from cleveland tennessee
Pros: easy to install
Cons: none
"installed and running ever since"
Review 14 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Online Purchase,
Date:July 25, 2009
By Bluestratoman
from Pennsylvania
from Pennsylvania
Pros: Product arrived on time, quick and easy installation
Cons: None
"This company offered the absolute lowest price anywhere by almost 50%. The product was shipped to my front door less than 24 hours after the online order was made. Exactly as promised! I would not purchase a product like this from a local company in the future as prices are prohibitive. With their extended no questions asked warranty, this is the only way to go."
Review 15 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Affordable Pump,
Date:July 24, 2009
By petem
from Northern New York
from Northern New York
Pros: Quiet, Easy hookup, Easy basket access
Cons: none
"I replaced a pinnacle pump with this hayward pump. This was the best move I could have made. The basket access alone makes it worth it. It runs quiet and moves a lot of water."
Review 16 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easiest purchase,
Date:July 20, 2009
By lovinfrogs
from Lawrenceburg, Tn
from Lawrenceburg, Tn
Pros: quick and easy to order
"I had went to pool place to get the pump I needed and they didn't have in stock was going to be about 4 days before I would have it. I ordered online talked to customer service they help me find the one I was looking for and we had it in 2 days. The pump was easy to install and the pool is looking good."
Review 17 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
Date:July 20, 2009
By Dunnie04
from Boston, MA
from Boston, MA
Pros: Easy to install and manual easy to navigate
Cons: Little room for wires
"This product was shipped quickly and I was able to install this myself. The manual was extremely easy to naviagate and the website to registar the warranty was just as easy to navigate. Very satisfied with the overall experience of buying, installing and warranty registration."
Review 18 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product Overall,
Date:July 12, 2009
By Shelly2j
from Blue Mountain, MS
from Blue Mountain, MS
Pros: Water in pool is more aerated
"Better water circulation helps with algae growth."
Review 19 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quiet, efficient pump,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Glenn
from Laurel, MD
from Laurel, MD
Pros: Quiet
"This pump was simple to install and a quiet running pump. I was replacing a 1.5hp Super Pump that I thought had failed (was just a wiring problem). The new one is a 1hp pump. I didn't need the additional hp since I no longer had a solar heater, so I reduced the hp to save some energy."
Review 20 for Hayward Super Pump (in ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Pump,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Tinabelle
from Arkansas City, Kansas
from Arkansas City, Kansas
"We purchased this pump last year, so we've had ample time to use it before writing this review. The pump is a great purchase for the price. It is very forceful. The lid is easy to get off making emptying the basket quite simple. My husband installed it and he didn't have any problems with the installation. I love In the Swim products and will continue to use them."