In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above Ground Pool Closing Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Above-Ground Cover Drain

This easy to use pool cover pump is an economical solution to winter pool cover problems. Pool cover pump siphons water from on top of your above ground pool winter cover. Swimming pool winter covers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.519 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
37 of 54(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Review 1 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Made cleaning the water off the cover very easy!,
Date:May 28, 2013
By IBISTHEGOD
from Watertown,WI
from Watertown,WI
"I bought the cover drain 2 years ago still works great."
Review 2 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Above-Ground Cover Drain,
Date:November 10, 2012
By Grandmapj
from Texas
from Texas
Pros: Reasonable price for use during winter months, works as expected
Cons: Plastic bulb gets hard and cracks during non-use; have to go start the draining process after each rain.
"This drain was very easy to use and did what we wanted. Kept water off our pool cover the entire winter. Just had to go out and start it draining after every rain, but that is what we expected. For he price, definitely worth it. In years past we had problems with water standing and then the leaves that had fallen after the cover was put on weighted down the cover."
Review 3 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money,
Date:October 21, 2012
By Anonymous
Pros: There are no pros about this pump, its a waste of money.
Cons: Read the pros, it flat out doesnt work, you can squeeze until your hearts desire, it won't work.
"Don't buy, waste of money, spend 20 more for an electric pump and be done!!"
Review 4 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cheap, breaks easily,
Date:March 16, 2012
By Saba
from Harrisonville, MO
from Harrisonville, MO
Pros: low cost, quick set up, manual, light weight, easy to handle
Cons: cheap plastic product, bulb never worked, tubing may freeze to base and then break
"I had bought this pump because of the low cost; however, the attached hand-held bulb pump never worked from the start. We ended up starting the siphoning process, by using our mouths at the end of the clear plastic tube. Although this is unsanitary and inconvenient- we were able to drain the water from our pool cover that first year. During the following winter, the tubing was acidentally pulled out from the base as it was partially frozen and it has not worked since. Waste of money - investing now in a motorized "improved quality" coverpump."
Review 5 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doesn't work??????,
Date:September 22, 2011
By hockey98
from cleveland , ohio
from cleveland , ohio
Pros: light weight, looks like the design would work, but we couldn't get it to work?
Cons: put in water, squeezed the bulb and it didn't work.
"just got it today. We put in middle of pool, squeezed the siphon pump and the water only came 1/2 way in 13' hose. the water kept going back and forth and would not come thro the hose over the lip of the pool. Called in the swim and will credit my acct. Back to just using the garden hose. to drain top of pool cover."
Review 6 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price it does what you need it to,
Date:June 5, 2011
By PaulieSTL
from St. Louis, MO
from St. Louis, MO
Pros: It is cheap and will get water off in a day or so.
Cons: It doesn't get all the water off and you need to restart it a couple times
"I have used this the last two sesons to drain the water off the cover. Both times I had to siphon the water through the hose using my mouth because the provided hand pump couldn't pull it all the way. It did drain most of the water off but it didn't sink, it just floated half way down. If you want to get the water off for cheap, this is the way to go, it just takes more time than an electic pump."
Review 7 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great investment,
Date:November 16, 2010
By Jacquie
from Livonia, New York
from Livonia, New York
Pros: Not expensive, sets on top of any leaves already on the cover and they don't plug it up, start it and let it go
Cons: Hand pump didn't work too well, just sucked on it to get it going
"I absolutely think this is the best for my situation. I am bombarded with leaves all season long, not just in the fall. I use a leaf cover but that doesn't help the rain and water issue. This unique drain, sits on top of the leaves and doesn't get plugged with the leaves. It totally drained all the water and I was able to get the leaves off now that they are all down off the trees. I will probably keep using it until we have snow. In the spring once the ice is melted I will use it again until I open the pool. Love it and have told a lot of my friends about it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap and does not work,
Date:November 9, 2010
By MistyBreeze
from NC
from NC
Cons: cheaply made with very thin plastic which won't last
"This pump is not heavy enough to sink unless weighted down with something on top of it. It's hand pump is made of such thin plastic that it will be cracked within a few uses. It does not pull the water the entire way up through the hose. DOES NOT WORK, DO NOT PURCHASE."
Review 9 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 7, 2010
By nothappy
from la.
from la.
Pros: cheap
Cons: you get what you pay for
"bought this product to help get water off my pool cover doesn't work pad doesn't stay submerged in water and when you try to pump water from pool it only pulls it halfway up hose and stopscomplete waste of time and money"
Review 10 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple cover pump,
Date:October 11, 2010
By retamarie
from Tonganoxie, KS
from Tonganoxie, KS
Pros: No electricity needed and it's cheap
Cons: have to start several times
"This is the pump i have bought several times and have not had a problem with it, however the one i bought this year was a tad bit different; the bottom (blue part) seems to be square while the rest of it is somewhat round. It does not stay submerged where the completely round one does. I do not like the new style it is almost worthless unless you have have something on it weighing it down. I would highly recommend the original one but not this new design. The picture shown here is the original but not what i got sent to me this year."
Review 11 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the Price this is Great!,
Date:October 3, 2010
By jena
from westchester, new yok
from westchester, new yok
Pros: It Does the Job for less money than an electric pump
Cons: pumper bulb wears out after a while
"I have a 24 X 15 oval above ground pool and have 2 of these, one at each side of my pool. After or during a rain I go outside pump a few time and walk away, the pump drains the water from the cover. I don't want to use an electric pump, so this is a Great Solution for removing water from the top of you pool cover."
Review 12 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Usless product,
Date:September 29, 2010
By MANT
"This product is usless. The pump doesn't work and when you do manage to get the water flowing it stops after a very short time. It is definately NOT a good buy at $20.00 and I would NOT advise purchasing this product."
Review 13 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommend,
Date:May 3, 2010
By Brandynana
from Louisiana
from Louisiana
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Slow draining
"For the money, this is a great item. Mine finally wore out after four winters and I'm going to buy another. Easy to use. It does take a little time to drain, but I just leave it on the cover all winter, after it rains, just pump the hand pump to get it started and walk away. In Louisiana, it rains A LOT. I definitely got my money's worth."
Review 14 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Pool Idea Ever!!!,
Date:October 18, 2009
By scooterdude
from PA
from PA
Pros: This thing does not miss a beat, best idea ever!
Cons: None Whatsoever!
"This pump is the best thing since sliced bread. It just got done raining for three days straight. I have an above ground pool that puddles in two places. Having only one pump, I had to move from one place to the other. This was not a problem since sliding the pump into the middle of the puddle, squeezing the bulb two or three times, and walking back into the house only took about a minute.
This is a very simple siphon device, and works as such, The people having trouble operating this pump might try shortening the hose, you only need enough to reach from the pump to the ground beside the pool, I cut about four feet off. I will be purchasing another one next year to make draining the water off my cover even easier
PS. It even drains while sucking air, most siphons will stop. This pump brought a 4' x 10' puddle down to a 14" puddle in less than two hours, the time it takes to watch a movie in your dry home I used a snow shovel to remove the little that was left, and in a few hours, I had a completely dry cover."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product,
Date:September 9, 2009
By NJPoolStud
from NJ
from NJ
Pros: No electicity needed, does good in the cold and snow
Cons: a little slow so I got two
"I bought two of these two winters ago for my above-ground pool cover and plan on using them again this winter. Not sure why people say they are having a tough time getting them started. As long as it is lower than the pool cover when I pump it I can get it started with a few pumps.
It does go a little slow but since it doesn't use any electricity you get it started and walk away so it doesn't matter how long it takes. I bought two and of course it goes twice as fast with two.
I do suggest getting a leaf net cover for above your regular cover. I put this pump in between the two and it works great. This way there is never leaves underneath it.
I have left them outside in freezing and snowy weather for 2 winters and they still work perfectly.
I also suggest if you use a pool pillow that you buy two so that you can have one on each side. This way you don't have to keep moving it around.
Nice to see a good product that is not two expensive."
Review 16 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Pool Tool,
Date:July 11, 2009
By anaree
from Braintree, MA
from Braintree, MA
Pros: The Above-Ground Cover Drain Worked very well removing water from the pool cover!
Cons: One thing about the Above-Ground Cover Drain that I didn't like was that the hand pump did not work at all.
"We ordered the Above-Ground Cover Drain to remove the standing water from our pool cover. It worked very well removing the water. It ran continuously until the water level was below the rim of the pool.
The one thing wrong was that we had to suck on the tube/hose to get the water removal started. The little hand pump that came with the product did not work at all.
Otherwise a very good and easy to use product. I would recommend it to a friend.
"
Review 17 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a good purchase,
Date:March 24, 2009
By Jeannie
from Middletown, NY
from Middletown, NY
Pros: none
Cons: very slow, tube came in kinked, not worth the money
"I had a similar one to this several years ago that worked fairly well. This one is very slow, hard to get started and overall just not worth the aggravation to get it going. I am strongly considering an electric one in the future.
This is just a waste of money and time. Not worth purchasing... seek other options.
"
Review 18 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Piece of Junk,
Date:March 14, 2009
By CantonKid
Pros: None
Cons: Doesn't work
"Very hard to get to work when it does finally start it does what its suppose to but very slow because of small hose. Sure wouldn't buy another one"
Review 19 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like this product,
Date:January 2, 2009
By Aletta
from West Virginia
from West Virginia
Pros: easy to use and it works
Cons: It doesn't last forever, but what does
"I've used this cover drain for years and years, even after the bulb stopped working years ago. Now the tubing is inflexible, so I am ordering a new one. I wouldn't want to be without it."
Review 20 for Above-Ground Cover Drain
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth every penny!!,
Date:December 14, 2008
By ChefMomof4
from Mechanicsville, VA
from Mechanicsville, VA
Pros: Easy to use
"This is the easiest, best way to get the water off the pool cover!!!"