In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above-Ground Winter Pool Covers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools

"Fine mesh winter pool covers for above ground swimming pools allow water to flow through, while keeping out leaves and fine debris. Mesh pool covers from In The Swim eliminate messy spring clean ups."
Average Customer Rating:
3.211 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
12 of 19(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Review 1 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do Not Buy This Cover,
Date:November 6, 2011
By NewYork
"This is the worst pool cover. Water accumulates in the center, you cannot get the water off without all the debris falling into the pool. I don't think the mesh lets any water pass through but water does come up. If you take the water off with a pump, it drains the pool. This is a no win situation."
Review 2 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A GREAT COVER!! (W3830),
Date:September 2, 2011
By farmwife994
from Columbus, NJ
from Columbus, NJ
Pros: Catches debris & allows for water (rain/ice/snow) flow through
Cons: Does allow for minimal fine-dirt penetration into poolwater
"Our above-ground pool was installed in 1988--we've used MANY pool covers over the years, and this one has been the BEST!! Purchased our first one in 2006, and it finally needs a replacement--I just ordered a new one. It catches all debris, small to large. We live on a farm, so there is always debris flying 'round here! Twice during the winter, (Nov & Feb) we use our leaf skimmer to remove the debris from the cover to prevent any decomp from entering the water. We add one bag of SUPERSHOCK at the same time, which we have found prevents any algae growth or discoloration of the poolwater. When we open the pool the beginning of March, it's pretty darn clean & is ready for swimmers in less than 48 hours. A great product for less than $100.00!"
Review 3 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Mistake in Purchasing,
Date:May 27, 2010
By GreenWater
from Rising Sun, MD
from Rising Sun, MD
"I purchased a fine mesh cover for my pool last autumn (2009) and installed it properly according to the very little directions that was provided. The cover accumulated leaves, dirt and bird droppings all winter long and sagged into my pool water. I could not get the water off the cover and thus all this accumulated dirt went into the pool when we took the cover off yesterday (May 2010). And to our surprise our water was a medium color green! How could the water turn green if no sunlight was hitting it? Obviously, the sunlight penetrates through the fine mesh and turns the pool water green. So, obviously we can't enjoy our pool this upcoming Memorial Day weekend because we are still struggling in getting our pool water clean. DO NOT BUY!"
Review 4 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cable,
Date:November 7, 2009
By Yankee
from New York, NY
from New York, NY
Pros: None
Cons: All
"Recently purchased fine mesh cover. Cover's fine, the cable is garbage. Company should offer different grades of cable. Cable tangled very easily. Took forever to untangle. I do not reccomend the cheap cable that comes with this product. Need higher grade wire."
Review 5 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great work horse,
Date:August 17, 2009
By Longtimeowner
from New York
from New York
Pros: Very light weight for 15 foot round pool cover
Cons: none
"After only 8 years of great results, it is now showing signs of wear. Either side can go up (it's mesh). Living in the NorthEast with snow, it's best to let it rest on the water. I'ved always used it with a pillow. I may be able to get one or two more years before I get another one."
Review 6 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it's ok,
Date:May 24, 2009
By kjnk
from New Jersey
from New Jersey
Pros: didn't have to drain it during the summer
Cons: needs to be tighter
"This was the first time using the mesh cover. The water drained as it said it would, so I didn't have to drain it during the winter. The problem is that it's not tight enough. This spring we took it off, but the cover sits on the pool water, so there was always some water on top, thus any leaves that fell onto the cover still got wet. It was still a very hard struggle to get the cover off without letting the wet leaves get it the pool. If it was supported a different way so that it didn't touch the pool water, it would work great. The lack of directions didn't help either."
Review 7 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very helpful,
Date:November 27, 2008
By nanook
from Davison MI
from Davison MI
Pros: catches a lot of leaves
Cons: needs to be tighter
"This was our first year using the mesh leaf catcher. It worked great. Wish there was a way to get it tighter so that the leaves wouldnt sink into the water. Other than that, I know our winter cover won't be so hard to clean this spring."
Review 8 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it,
Date:November 27, 2008
By Babbab
from TX
from TX
Pros: Keep my pool free of leaves
"I live in TX and do not use a pol cover. Have a lot of trees and this product works well for me since I do not like to use a pool cover. Onc they are all down, I pull it off. Some dirt on the bottom. I use my automatic pool cleaner and it is clean again."
Review 9 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So Far So Good,
Date:November 27, 2008
By emschu
from Iowa
from Iowa
Pros: Water Goes through, Leaves Stay Out
Cons: Mesh beginning to separate some at corners.
"So far, it is working great. We'll see in spring."
Review 10 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't Beat the Mesh,
Date:November 26, 2008
By Bulldogs
from Middletown, NJ
from Middletown, NJ
Pros: Very light weight and easy to handle.
Cons: none
"Living in a community with many trees through out the summer you can assure yourself of leafs in your pool. Once I decided to purchase a mesh leaf catcher, it has been great investment and has made weekend pool maintance an easier chore and saves time. The mesh is light weight and very easy to remove and replace without the need of an additional person to help."
Review 11 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mesh cover,
Date:October 5, 2008
By hhrchick
from New Windsor MD
from New Windsor MD
Pros: Easy installation
Cons: ordering was confusing, didn't quite get the whole 15/18 thing.
"This cover was so much easier to put on than the heavy cover I used last year. My daughter had to get in the ucky water and push the water filled cover out. Let's hope I have better luck with this one."
Review 12 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not as expected,
Date:April 14, 2008
By mawk
Pros: Good Price/
Cons: Water Did Not Drain Thru...
"Have been using this company for about 2 yrs-Not one complaint !!!!! Chemicals/Liners/Ladders all great...
This product however is not as described- water does not drain thru !!!! Sorry"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Cover,
Date:January 4, 2008
By Janice
from Rock Hill, SC
from Rock Hill, SC
Pros: "No More Nasty Standing Water and Leaves"
Cons: None
"After several years of dealing with the hassles of using a regular cover, I finally decided to try the Fine Mesh Cover. My experience has been wonderful. All the headaches associated with pumping nasty water and removing slimy leaves has been eliminated. I had no problems with the installation once my husband realized this was not a regular cover. Just remember, the success of this cover starts during installation…Make sure your cover is installed ABOVE THE WATER and not installed LYING ON THE WATER. You can be assured if installed this way water will pass through and any leaves or debris will simply blow away. Thank you “In the Swim” for selling a cover that does so much and is reasonably priced. I look forward to opening my pool this spring!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not good,
Date:December 21, 2007
By Anonymous
from Central Georgia
from Central Georgia
Pros: works as a cover
Cons: water still stands on the cover
"I can't tell any difference between this cover and a regular winter cover. We've had the driest season in the southeast and I still have standing water. Had I known water would still be standing I would have gotten the center pillow as well to at least make it easier to get the standing water out."
Review 15 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work for me,
Date:October 31, 2007
By LAMan
from Satsuma, AL
from Satsuma, AL
Pros: Keeps debris out of pool
Cons: Rainwater does not seep through!
"In my experience, this mesh cover does not prevent rainwater from pooling! I have a huge pool of water that has been sitting on my cover for the past several days! I tried to pump it off, but the pump started sucking water through the mesh cover out of my pool! Like another reviewer, I have tried the cover both sides down with the same results!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not Happy,
Date:October 27, 2007
By Tutawl
from Central IL
from Central IL
Pros: Covers Pool
Cons: Water does not drain down thru but does come up thru cover
"Might as well bought a regular cover then I would only have to pump water off once. Instead have to had to pump off twice in 10 days. Will not recommend to anyone. Also I have installed with both sides down and still have the Cons so it was not that I had wrong side down!!!!!!!!!"
Review 17 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely the best purchase ever!,
Date:August 23, 2007
By Marti
Pros: Held up great through the winter months and will be able to use this winter as well.
Cons: none
"I purchased this mesh winter cover for my above ground pool last fall. I placed the winter chemicals, closed the pool and did not have any standing water on it at all when I opened the pool, nor did I have leaves. The water from snow, ice and rain slowly drains through the cover and without the standing water the leaves would dry and blow off. A wonderful investment for my pool. Thank you "In The Swim" for selling such a great product."
Review 18 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
satisfactory purchase,
Date:July 10, 2007
By Murray
Pros: did the job as far as keeping pool covered
Cons: did not work any different as far as keeping leaves off and was not sure which way it goes on pool
"I don't think I would purchase again as far as keeping the leaves off of the pool but it worked fine as far as keeping the pool covered for the winter. I may as well of just purchased a regular pool cover."
Review 19 for Fine Mesh Winter Pool Covers for above ground pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mesh winter pool cover,
Date:May 9, 2007
By Anonymous
Pros: Its great not real heavy to lift
Cons: none
"Its great opened the pool easy to remove no leaves or junk in the pool. I am so glad I bought this cover. Its great. I will never go with out one again.. thanks"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.