In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above-Ground Winter Pool Covers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted

Winter pool covers for above ground swimming pools with extra material around the edge. Skirted winter pool covers with tie down clips to fit snugly on a swimming pool. Winter swimming pool covers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.7 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Review 1 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good with add ons,
Date:June 6, 2010
By bigray
Pros: fits
Cons: wind
"in the country this cover really blows up. I solved this by creaying 2x4 cross members. nail together to form an angle for strength, and then secure to GROUND on ea. side. Put pad under where contact is made with rail. Opposing members are optional."
Review 2 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this cover,
Date:May 17, 2009
By WindyinWI
Pros: Cover stays on
Cons: None with proper usage
"We love this cover! Our home came with the pool, the previous owner had a cover of this type that we used for many years. When it finally needed to be replaced we couldn't find another skirted cover and purchased one of the flat round covers. We were very unhappy with that cover. However a hail storm punched a bunch of holes in it, so we were on the search for a new one.
We discovered that In The Swim had the skirted covers. We purchased and have had it for 3 years now. We still love this style. We get a lot of north wind that blows under the flat covers and turns them into a sail & end up in your pool. The skirt on this cover helps keep in on.
I will tell you that if you drop your water level too low, you can end up with the straps pulling out and the cover falling in. We had that experience with our original. But have since learned the proper way to use it. We go about 4" below the eyeball with the water level. Also part of the original set up that our pool had is metal clips attached to the support rails. The wire from the cover gets tighened somewhat, then you pull the wire to put it under the clip on the support. Then you tighten further. It works great. We also have the old school inner tube in the middle. Only because it too came with the house. We also recommend pumping off the excess water. It just makes sense to remove some of the weight of the water. A little work and some common sense go a long way to make a good experience.
When we need to replace this one, we will definitely be looking for another skirted cover."
Review 3 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy pool cover,
Date:December 19, 2008
By MomSolo
from South Carolina
from South Carolina
Pros: It is made of thick plastic
Cons: None
"The pool cover is very sturdy and VERY lightweight. It is easy to put on with 2 people."
Review 4 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product,
Date:November 27, 2008
By sittinbypool
Pros: skerted fit
Cons: material seems thinner than previous purchase
"this is the second cover i have purchased, one for our pool when we lived in a residential area which lasted 11yrs.kept pool as clean as when we closed it up. second cover for new pool in country living, leaves much more of a challenge as the wind makes it into a parachute.criss-crossed ropes as a tiedown which helps but don't see plastic eyelets lasting very long, but still keeps pool clean with minimum start up work. have always had excellent service from in the swim!!!!!!!"
Review 5 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winter cover,
Date:November 26, 2008
By flipper2
from Machesney Park, IL.
from Machesney Park, IL.
Pros: very easy to install and is a great product
"We have had winter covers in the past...but I must say this is the easiest and the best we have had!!!"
Review 6 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unhappy With Product,
Date:October 20, 2008
By cb716
from Maryland
from Maryland
Pros: 15 Year Warranty
Cons: Doesn't fit my 24' pool as pictured
"I bought this product because the picture showed it had a better fit than the standard cover. I was wrong. It's too big for my pool, the fitted "skirt" hangs well over the edge. The tabs can't be placed evenly on either side of the posts so the cover can't be tightened sufficiently, even by trying to overlap and pleat it in sections. I expect the tabs to be torn off before winter is over because tightening the cable puts extreme stress on them where they are positioned. So it's back to clips and bags. I wish I'd read the other reviews before purchasing this product. It wasn't cheap and I feel like I've wasted my money."
Review 7 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Needs better strapping to handle wind,
Date:October 9, 2008
By Loggyb72
from Hutchinson, KS
from Hutchinson, KS
Pros: Fitted cover, appearance, tie downs
Cons: Nylon strapping needs to be stronger
"I purchased this cover thinking the design would help keep the cover on when the north wind picks up in the winter. Worked great until the nylon straps all started to pull out. I tried using all my extra clips from my last cover to help hold the cover in place and by early spring all the straps had finally come off and the pool cover was in the pool. Until this problem is fixed, I would not spend any extra money purchasing this cover over a standard cover. Buy and use the standard cover and get some extra clips with the money you save."
Review 8 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will buy another one when this one quits,
Date:June 6, 2008
By Aletta
from West Virginia
from West Virginia
Pros: The skirt allows enough overlap of pool that wind and the weight of water are not problems.
Cons: None
"I do not use the clips. I just tighten the cable as one would do with a regular cover. I really like the skirt because there are no gaps to let wind, debri, and rain under the cover."
Review 9 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was excited, but...,
Date:April 7, 2008
By Frustrated
from Geneva, Ohio
from Geneva, Ohio
Pros: Light Weight, Appearance, Easy Installation
Cons: Plastic Hooks, Weak Nylon Cable Straps
"After 5 years of having my first pool cover blow off every winter, I was excited at the prospect of having a clean pool in the Spring. After installing this cover, with an extra cable from the first cover, I came home from work April 1, 2008 to see this new cover IN my pool. This was the first year of use. At least 15 of the cable straps had torn off of the cover. The straps were not sturdy enough to withstand Ohio winds, I suppose. Back to the drawing board."
Review 10 for Above-Ground Pool Cover -Skirted
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2007
By dissappointed
from AR
from AR
Pros: has clips that hold cover down
Cons: clips are thin plastic and looks they will break
"This cover is better than regular covers because it has clips that screw to pool to hold cover down so it doesn't flap as much with the wind. Since you are screwing these to your pool they should be made of metal instead of cheap plastic."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.