In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Aquabot and Robotic Pool Cleaners or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner

Aquabot automatic pool cleaner offers hassle-free computer-controlled cleaning of your in ground swimming pool. Robotic pool cleaners have built-in filter systems. Robotic pool cleaners.
Average Customer Rating:
3.191 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
12 of 21(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lasted 3 short summers,
Date:February 17, 2013
By leftd66
from Appleton, WI
from Appleton, WI
Pros: worked well the first half dozen times, doesn't use pool filter
Cons: gets stuck, only cleaned well the first couple of times
"Ours lasted only three short (Wisconsin) summers, before the pump burned up. Worked well at first but cleaned progressively worse over the three years. I would count on having to buy new roller covers and belts every season, if the pool was used 9 months of the year."
Review 2 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I could give 1 star I would.,
Date:December 13, 2012
By mikefromtexas
from South Texas
from South Texas
Pros: Excellent for cleaning fine particles from bottom, dead algae.
Cons: Lasts a year only. Expensives to repair. does not work well in fiberglass architect pool.
"This was my second one. Yeah I know why did you buy another if they are so bad. well I figured I had parts for it. You can squeeze 2 years out of them with repairs. I do however live in texas and use them year round. If the warranty was longer I would probably buy another."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!,
Date:June 30, 2012
By memk
from Rochester, NY
from Rochester, NY
Pros: Easy and self sufficient & fun to watch! It's my "pool boy"!
Cons: No cons...yukky filter bag only shows it's working
"I have owned my aquabot for several years (18x36' inground vinyl liner pool) and NEVER had an issue with it! I often tell people it's the best $800.00 I ever spent! No fighting aboout who is going to vacuum the pool...more time to enjoy! We don't remove the ladders or anything...occasionally some dirt was left @ the main drain in the deep end...then we figured out that the "draw" of water in the main drain was stronger than the aquabot, so we turned off the filter for a little while...problem solved! Totally clean pool...BUY IT!"
Review 4 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
no,
Date:March 25, 2012
By timokc
from okc
from okc
"worked twice than pump went out would not reccomend"
Review 5 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not perform as described,
Date:January 28, 2012
By Diane
from Portland, OR
from Portland, OR
Pros: Cleans okay at swim line, doesn't require using your filter
Cons: Does not work as described. Will not clean your pool in 4 hours1
"I paid the high price for this after reading many other reviews and was very disappointed for the following reasons;
- My pool is 16'x32' and even though I keep it covered, start and end the season with a brush down and filtered vacuum, it still does not clean it, maybe 40%.
- It gets stalled so I have to take it out every couple of hours to empty and rinse the bag, which is not an easy process it is gross and hard to get into the cracks and crevices with the bags design.
- It is heavy and awkward to pull out of the water and requires a mat so it does not get scraped on the coping.
- Within 2 years I had to replace the tracks (the tabs break off) and the belt drive, add another $100+ dollars.
- I have rounded edges in my pool and it will get stuck trying to climb them so I have to keep an eye on it.
"
Review 6 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product, Easy to Use,
Date:October 25, 2010
By KMNelson86
from Garner, NC
from Garner, NC
Pros: Easy to use, Less time for cleaning--more time for swimming
Cons: none
"We've had the Aquabot for several years. It's the best pool cleaner we've ever found. Easy to use--put the bag in, plug it in, throw it into the pool, turn it on, and let IT do the work. We found it's best to take the ladder out of the pool to prevent it from getting stuck."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Cleaner!,
Date:November 3, 2009
By SwimFan
from Mobile, AL
from Mobile, AL
Pros: Does Everything!
Cons: Cleaning the bag is kinda nasty
"I love this cleaner, I bought a tigeshark and had nothing but headaches. My friend recommended the Aquabot and it has been great! The bag gets a little yuckie but hey a least I'm not swimming in it!"
Review 8 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy with results,
Date:August 1, 2009
By Reset
from Edison, NJ
from Edison, NJ
Pros: Does a good job of cleaning
Cons: gets stuck at ladders sometimes, tangles in its own cord occasionally, annoying to clean
"Overall I am pretty happy with the Aquabot. It does its job of cleaning the pool pretty well which keeps me from having to vacuum it which I hate doing. Sometimes it gets stuck on the pool ladders which is annoying, you have to go move it or it just stays at the ladder. After a day of cleaning, the cord tangles itself up and may not let it go to the end of the pool. But these are pretty small problems compared to the overall satisfaction of not having to vacuum my pool."
Review 9 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply Awesome!,
Date:July 18, 2009
By jpcerv
from Buffalo, NY
from Buffalo, NY
Pros: Easy to use,cost,easy to clean,
Cons: NONE
"I have been using a Hayward navigator for years and I had nothing but problems. I finally switched to the Aquabot and I have never been happier. Wow, what a difference. My advice is to stay away from Cleaners that work off of pumps. I run my pump less not and my water is cleaner."
Review 10 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this is junk,
Date:June 22, 2009
By reggie42
from nokesville,va
from nokesville,va
Pros: none
Cons: only works for 30 days
"I have had this produck for 30 day and it has stopped working!!!!"
Review 11 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wouldn't own pool without it!,
Date:May 30, 2009
By Teleman
from Illinois
from Illinois
Pros: Keeps pool very clean. Durable Unit. Good quality.
Cons: None
"I've had my Aquabot for over 6 years now, still going strong. Does excellent job cleaning pool. I use it once a week for 6 -7 hours per cleaning. 20 x 40 vinyl inground pool. I remove my ladder before cleaning so the aquabot doesn't get hung up. Common sense, people! Can get tangled in cord occasionally, but not much of a problem. Best pool purchase I've made. Love this unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
super nice,
Date:September 9, 2007
By danthepoolman
Pros: havent had to vacum since i bought , the unit cleans in a flash , cut way back on backwashing ,
Cons: if you dont straighten out the cord it will tangle , the filter bag gets hung inside sometimes
"i have a 20 x 40 liner pool the autobot takes about 5 or 6 hours to get every nook and cranny and like some of the other reviews i have read , it finds stuff in your pool that you didnt even know were in it . i love the autobot the only thing i would change about my purchase is i would get the one with the remote control to cut down on the cleaning time"
Review 13 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed,
Date:August 29, 2007
By cmbmorris
Pros: Cleans water line really well; picks up small debris
Cons: Gets stuck; tangles in cord; doesn't clean bottom well
"For the price of this vacuum I expected more. It does clean the water line really well; climbs well. But the bottom doesn't get covered (I can see why the more expensive model has a remote control!). It gets stuck on ladders, pool drain, steps, corners - anything that isn't flat. Does not get the angles, where the pool bottom meets the incline to the wall. The filter bag is clumbsy to remove and re-install, but cleans well in the gentle cycle of the washing machine. It has kept our pool very clean this summer, but does require supervision; I have a couple of nicks in the cord where it has gotten wrapped up in the machine. I would highly recommend not leaving this machine alone to do it's job."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great product,
Date:August 22, 2007
By Patricia
Pros: easy to use
Cons: cleaning out the product
"I love it! Simple to use and does a good job."
Review 15 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not reliable,
Date:August 22, 2007
By footdrftl
Pros: price size doesn't require pump to operate
Cons: reliability problem my unit less than 6 months old in for warranty service secound time
"in the swim is a great vendor. my experience thus far with the aquabot has not been good. Unit has required multile visitsto warranty sercie center. I had a kreppy before that lasted five years. I cannot recommend this poduct."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aquabot pool cleaner,
Date:August 22, 2007
By modelman
from Ocean Springs, Mississippi
from Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Pros: Cleans the pool of debris as advertised
Cons: Gets hung up on ladders and steps, gets tangled in electric cord
"The Aquabot cleans the pool of all debris as advertised but has a problem negotiating steps and ladders if left alone to clean pool will get hung up in electric cord."
Review 17 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just OK,
Date:August 17, 2007
By Chap
from Smithfield, NC
from Smithfield, NC
Pros: Does a fair job of cleaning pool floor and walls.
Cons: The rubber tracks do not hold up. Gets stuck a lot.
"This is just an ok pool cleaner. It does not hold up very long. The rubber tracks wear out within a year. The bag is very difficult to remove and then replace. It gets stuck on the ladders and the botton drain. I have had two and that is enough. Sorry I couldn't be more positive."
Review 18 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aquabot rating,
Date:August 10, 2007
By Johnnyboy
Pros: This unit does everything it promises!
Cons: Nothing worth mentioning
"This unit does a great job and delivers the promise. I just put it in my inground 20 x 40 concrete pool thats 40 yeras old. Turn it on, walk away and let it do its job. I use it maybe 2 or 3 times a week. When the filter bag get dirty just rinse it clean. Well worth the money I spent on it. Very pleased."
Review 19 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money,
Date:July 27, 2007
By Medic
from Plymouth, Michigan
from Plymouth, Michigan
Pros: Very easy to use, Does a terrific job. Haven't had to manually vacuum since starting to use it.
"Since we received the Aquabot I haven't had to manually vacuum the pool. I have a 20 X 40 pool & all I have to do is put it in the pool and watch it go. Climbs the walls with no problems & does a good job along the water line. The directions & DVD that come with it are easy to follow. Cleaning the filter bag is easy & only takes a couple of minutes. It picks up stuff you can't even see & I haven't had to back wash my filter as often."
Review 20 for Aquabot Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Read Carefully "1 year Warranty",
Date:June 19, 2007
By BBSI
Pros: Does an excellent Job cleaning the pool, Climbs walls well
Cons: Very expensive to repair, Limited Warranty, doesn't climb walls in cold water
"I purchased my aquabot 2 years ago and it worked perfectly until last week when the motor died. I maintained it properly, rinsing it after every use & cleaning the filter bag. The cost to replace the motor was $400. This product has only a 1 year warranty. Unforunately there are too many stories like this with this same product on the web... Cleaning the pool isn't fun and a quick fix is nice, but this isn't it....."