In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop In-Ground Pool Closing Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers

Solar reel and blanket cover protects your pool solar blanket when it is rolled up on a solar blanket reel. Leave the pool solar cover and cover reel outdoors and protected from the elements.
Average Customer Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
7 of 14(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Review 1 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed with longevity,
Date:September 18, 2013
By OHIObuyer
from Amherst, Ohio
from Amherst, Ohio
Pros: Looked great during the first year of use !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: Tarp portion disintegrated after one year of use!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Cover lasted one year. It fell apart in my hands when I went to remove it after one mild winter."
Review 2 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll buy another one,
Date:June 3, 2012
By capnmo
from Northern VA
from Northern VA
Pros: Ships fast and protects year-round .xxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx
Cons: Fragile zipper, expensive for what it is.xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxx
"Have to agree with others when they say this product's weak link is the zipper. I've had one of these for years and it lasted. However, upon pulling out my solar cover from hibernation this year - the zipper finally went - but it was the threading holding it to the tarp part that came off. Overall - it is better than a lot of other products."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing purchase,
Date:June 2, 2011
By 2009fx4
from Albany,NY
from Albany,NY
Pros: Was easy to install, had fast shipping, purchase was easy online
Cons: only made it through one winter, waste of money, cheaply made, needs a heavy duty zipper
"This item looked great and went on real easy. It let me keep my solar cover attached to the reel so I figured this is going to be great I wont have to mess with folding up my 16mil solar cover which I purchased new last year. Now it did keep my cover nice and clean and I didnt see any bugs so that was a plus as well. But that is all the pros. However upon unzipping it the zipper broke and then the metal end where the zipper comes together it was like it was welded together. I had to use pliers to get the zipper end to separate and then that pulled off the metal end so now even if i was to make the zipper work able where the teeth fell off I wouldnt be able to keep the zipper together. The zipper needs to be a heavy duty type zipper and I believe that this item would be perfect. But with this cheap zipper I recommend you stay away."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The zipper is junk,
Date:September 25, 2010
By yorkph
Pros: You get a nice size strip of tarp
Cons: The rest of it is junk
"The zipper broke after just a couple of uses. It no longer meshes together even if it's lined up correctly. I noticed that the teeth on the zipper were really fine so I was careful with it and zipped/unzipped it slowly, but that didn't help.
Basically you get a piece of tarp with draw strings at either end. You'll need to find some straps (the ones provided aren't long enough) to hold it closed."
Review 5 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Purchase Ever,
Date:October 5, 2009
By momoftwo
from Philadelphia, PA
from Philadelphia, PA
Pros: Shipped Fast
Cons: Poor Quality
"I have never left a review for a product before in my life, but I really felt the need to do it for this. I received the cover and really didn't have trouble getting it to fit around our solar blanket at all. When I tried to zip it, first I could not get it to line up right to zip correctly, then when it did finally zip, as I moved along the cover, the zipper part behind me started to open. It is not because the cover was too tight around my blanket either, I had plenty of extra room. When I tried to pull back on the zipper to correct the problem, the pull tab on the zipper broke off the zipper itself. I am VERY disappointed in this item and would never recommend it to anyone or buy it again. I am usually very happy with my purchases from In The Swim, but not this one. Even the straps that came with it did not fit around the blanket and cover. What a waste of money."
Review 6 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mis understanding,
Date:July 18, 2009
By Taz32
from Anderson CA
from Anderson CA
Cons: They say winter reel and cover but all you recieve is a cover
"When I cam across this I did not want to go with something I needed for years. I was looking for temporary for maybe a couple of years as I will be putting in a new pool. The title of this is winter solar reel and blanket cover. I took this as there was a reel for my cover and a blanket to put over the cover. All I received is a blanket. This item is not labeled well for what they are really selling here. Like I said I did not want to go with an expensive reel as I am changing my pool."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it all year long,
Date:April 25, 2009
By koolinthepool
from Liberal, Kansas
from Liberal, Kansas
Pros: long lasting, easy to put on
Cons: none
"During the summer I use as a daily cover to keep sun off of solar cover while rolled up. Works great. I have a 45' long pool by 20' pool and cover fits just fine. I place the zipper on the bottom of the cover to keep it out of direct sunlight. During the winter it protects from snow. rain and ice. I have used mine for 3 years now and it is holding up great."
Review 8 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
extremely durable,
Date:December 14, 2008
By bunky
from princeton, new jersey
from princeton, new jersey
Pros: protects your solar cover all winter without having to put it away.Withstands rain, snow and ice for many seasons
Cons: tough to put on
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 9 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
Date:November 26, 2008
By mitty
from NY NY
from NY NY
Pros: Better than using those can liners to wrap
Cons: Would be a little wider than the 16'
"The manufactures should make the cover 6 or so inches longer to accomodate a less than even rolling of the cover. This would provide the extra material to span the length of the solar blanket simplifying securing the cover to the reel.
It is just what I needed to keep the animals from chewing at it.
"
Review 10 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Useful,
Date:October 13, 2008
By Gyro
from NorthWest Detroit Area
from NorthWest Detroit Area
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Width
"I purchased this a few years (4-5) ago along with my current solar blanket. My previous solar blankets lasted no more that 3 years and I credit this winter cover to extending the life of my current blanket. My one quibble is unless I really wrap the blanket really tight around the reel, the cover is a tight fit.
Some tips if you're going to purchase this product:
* Go up one size if you can (I have the 20' for my 18' wide pool) unless you're really good at reeling up your blanket straight.
* Even though this cover has drawstrings to help close off the ends, water will still accumulate inside unless you place the zipper at the bottom of the reel.
* To prevent your reel from developing an arch (there is no "sagless" reel), add some support to the middle of the reel.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid Quality and Easy,
Date:October 5, 2008
By Douglas
from Connecticut
from Connecticut
Pros: Goes on the solar reel simply and tightly. No more storage problems or bulky heavy lifting to a storage area.
Cons: The solar blanket must be rolled very evenly to fit within the cover
"The zipper worker very well and rip stop stitching should provide longer life. The straps given to secure the cover were too short to go around the heavy duty blanket girth so I improvised with bungee cords. The draw strings easly secured the cover to the reel. The manufactures should make the cover 6 or so inches longer to accomodate a less than even rolling of the cover. This would provide the extra material to span the length of the solar blanket simplifying securing the cover to the reel.
Overall I love the idea, it is just what I needed and have already recommended it to my friends.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tore Immediately,
Date:October 21, 2007
By mom2maddie
Pros: None
Cons: Many
"It tore right away. Zipper broke. Useless!"
Review 13 for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not as good as it sounds!,
Date:August 9, 2007
By PoolMan
Pros: Might work well if made bigger and more room to spare.
Cons: Cover comes to small, Not made well!
"Cover is VERY hard to put over solar cover. Did not fit the first time over existing solar cover. Had to reroll several times to get small enough to fit. After all that Zipper broke and straps that go around cover broke. Straps not long enough ."
Ratings-Only Reviews for Winter Solar Reel and Blanket Covers
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1