In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Winterizing Pool Chemicals or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits

Chlorine-free pool winterizing chemical kit includes pool closing chemicals safe for all chlorine swimming pools and step by step pool closing instructions. Pool closing chemicals from In The Swim.
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(182 Reviews) 178
178 of 182(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Review 1 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never go without again!,
Date:November 18, 2013
By trole
from Lebanon, OR
from Lebanon, OR
Pros: Spring open is easy. Dirctions easy to follow. Kit easy to use.
Cons: Could have add-on kits to help with mild winter weather.
"We used this product with great success for several years. Then one year my husband said that his friend never uses anything in the winter so why do we? So the next spring we opened our swamp up and spent 2 months and about $150.00 getting clear water! We went back to this product that winter and this spring clear as a bell. We do have to add product in early spring to avoid opening before all freezing is past. Here the weather always warms up just long enough to get everything growing and then we get another good freeze! It would be nice to have a kit that does the thinking for us with add-ons to add later when needed. Years past I used chlorine free shock that worked. Last year I forgot to put the float in until March and that seemed to do the trick. Not really sure what I should be doing, but so far it has done the job."
Review 2 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleased for many years,
Date:September 3, 2013
By summergrandma
from Galloway, OH
from Galloway, OH
Pros: Put your pool to bed for the winter & don't worry about it. This is the BEST winterizing kit on the market.
Cons: It is difficult to come up with a con for this item; we love using it!
"I was reading some of the other reviews and someone mentioned when they opened their pool in the spring it was full of algae. Usually in our area we tend to have a super warm spell in late Feb. or early March. I pull the winter cover back & pour 2 gallons of liquid chlorine in to prevent algae growth between that time & opening when it is usually in May. I use as a rule of thumb that when the outdoor temp. reaches 70 degrees or more that the winterizing kit is about gone & the algae starts to grow. Algae loves warm, dark, moist places to grow & that is the pool with a winter cover on it. Anyway, this is my method to prevent algae & it works every year. I highly recommend buying In The Swim Winterizing Kit!"
Review 3 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing I purchased for our pool,
Date:July 24, 2013
By butchus12
from Franklin,Pa
from Franklin,Pa
Pros: Everything hooked up very easy with no problems.like it very well
Cons: None - could'nt find anything bad about it.had no problem with it
"First time I closed a pool for winter an in the spring when I opened it the water was still clear no alge made me happy"
Review 4 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product!,
Date:June 14, 2013
By chitownsouthsubs
from Midlothian, IL
from Midlothian, IL
"Works well, nice combination of more than just one chemical/item. Have used this for at least the last 5 years and keeps the pool looking good for the following spring."
Review 5 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for closing pool for the winter months.,
Date:May 28, 2013
By IBISTHEGOD
from Watertown,WI
from Watertown,WI
Pros: Great spring clean up, chemicals very easy to use.
"I have bought the winterizing kit for many years and I have not had one bad spring clean up yet!!!"
Review 6 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
Date:April 8, 2013
By Anonymous
from Arkansas
from Arkansas
Pros: Everything great product. No problems at all. Easy instructions easy to use.
Cons: None.Everything great product. No problems at all. Could not think of anything bad.
"Pool was crystal clear when I pulled the cover back. i will buy again this next closing season. Thanks guys! Do not listen to any negative reviews on this product. If you fallow directions it will work.."
Review 7 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, Easy to use product,
Date:November 5, 2012
By Anonymous
from Oklahoma
from Oklahoma
Pros: Directions were easy to follow, fast shipping and accurate
Cons: I can't think if any cons. It is what it promises.
"The product shipped quickly. We used it last year and had a very mild winter. Opening would have been a nightmare if we had not used so we were pleased and ordered again this year."
Review 8 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
everything that I need,
Date:September 3, 2012
By happymim
from New York State
from New York State
Pros: complete kit contains everything needed for a quick closing
Cons: none that I can think of which is a good thing in my opinion.
"this is the second time purchasing this kit and I am sure that it is now a yearly standard...fast, easy, complete and talk about quick delivery!!! package was at my door the very next day...I am a happy customer."
Review 9 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great!,
Date:August 28, 2011
By Kelli
from Oklahoma
from Oklahoma
"We have used this winterizing kit for the past two years. We live in a climate that stays warm until October, which is when we start to winterize. The directions are easy to follow. When we pull off the cover the water is always crystal clear with no algae. It's great!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EASY EASY,
Date:August 23, 2011
By Slashe
from Gaffney SC
from Gaffney SC
Pros: This product is easy to use... make sure to follow directions...it made for an easy Spring clean up
Cons: This past Spring it DID leave a stain and LOTS of algae!
"I have used this product for 3 or 4 years with NO problems. This past Spring however I was surprised when opening the pool there was a terrible stain and LOTS of algae!! I was disappointed as I had NEVER had this problem before with this product. The algae cleaned up fine but the stain has taken most of the summer to work on and trying to get rid of... still a slight stain but after ALOT of elbow power it is slowly coming off !!! However I am going to try this product again as I say I never had a problem before with it...so who knows maybe the package I got last year wasn't mixed quite to par !!! I DO recommend it !"
Review 11 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it!,
Date:August 10, 2011
By quirkyladyg
from pa
from pa
Pros: This product is wonderful for first timers and easy to use.
Cons: I see no cons with this product, I would recomend it to all.
"Last year was our first time with a pool, we were unsure of how to winterize our pool! This came with easy to understand instructions. I could not believe how easy it was to do, I had heard many complicated stories and horrorific end results. We crossed our fingers and hoped for the best, in our inexperiance, as we closed everything up. What a wonderful suprise to find a clear swimming pool in the spring! I am happily buying another kit for this fall with full confidence!"
Review 12 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
True test, how does the pool look in Spring,
Date:April 25, 2011
By Laurie
from Columbia, SC
from Columbia, SC
Pros: Easy to use, great instructions, water looked great in the spring
Cons: still had algae but it cleaned up super easy and fast
"I didnt want to comment on the kit until I removed the pool cover this Spring. I live in a warmer climate so I expect some algae upon opening. I had algae but it was limited to the sides and bottom of the pool and was easily backwashed right out. I've never had the pool clean up so well with just 24hrs of filteration. I give all the kudos to the winter kit. I'm in the process of using the spring kit now and expect great results."
Review 13 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an Amazing Kit!,
Date:April 3, 2011
By MidwestPoolOwner
from Illinois
from Illinois
Pros: Fool-proof, perfect for newbie pool owners, inexpensive, works great
Cons: No cons - this kit is amazing all the way around. Easy to follow directions make it great!
"Fall of 2009 was our first year with our pool. Knowing nothing about pools, we closed it using a local store's expensive closing kit and when we opened the pool in Spring of 2010, it was GREEN. You couldn't see 2 inches down, it smelled and was a mess. It took HUNDREDS of dollars and almost 2 months to treat and clear the water. Fall of 2010, we bought this kit because of the money back guarantee. Today (April 3,) we peeked in the pool and to my complete surprise, the water is so clear you can SEE the bottom of the pool! I can see the design on the liner! No smells, crystal clear water, no algae! I am stunned. What a difference! I will *never* again close my pool without this kit! HIghly recommended, well worth the money!"
Review 14 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent package,
Date:September 20, 2010
By J1mmy
from Bel Air, MD
from Bel Air, MD
Pros: Good instructions, good combo of chemicals
Cons: Too few gallon capacity packages, need one btwn 15k and 35k gallons
"When we bought our house we kept the pro service for a year until the first time I opened the pool and the water was a mess. Since then I have closed our pool (22,000 gal in ground grecian) using the In the Swim closing kits and love them. We live in Mid-Atlantic, close the pool in late Sept and open in late Apr/early May. The water is always crystal clear and the liner clean. We can usually get the water balanced in a day and be swimming, well the kids swim, I don't like 65 degree water."
Review 15 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good!!,
Date:September 13, 2010
By Karen814
from Chicago
from Chicago
Pros: Keeps water clean
Cons: None
"I've been an In The Swim customer for many, many years. I have used this product every year. It has never bleached my liner and I have a darker blue print liner which is going into it's sixth season. It's as crisp as it was when I purchased the pool. The kit is easy to use. Just follow the instruction and all should go well next spring."
Review 16 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ruined My Pool Liner!,
Date:July 7, 2010
By MirWen
from PA
from PA
Pros: none
Cons: bleached and melted my liner
"This was the first time we ever winterized our pool. I am very disappointed and angry that the chemicals basically melted my liner and bleached the design out of it - Our liner was only 3 yrs old this summer !! This product did ok with keeping water clean , we still had green algae. used the correct amounts of everything for our pool size and did everything according to directions. I would not reccommend it to anyone for the fact that is ruined our liner - we spent alot of money repairing our pool and taking care of it and this $20 kit ruined it :("
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUPER PRODUCT!!,
Date:August 16, 2009
By mckc
from Mid-western MO
from Mid-western MO
Pros: So easy to use and such a great result
Cons: none
"We used this product last fall when we closed our pool. Last summer was the first time we have ever owned a pool and we were a little skeptical about opening this spring. To our wonderful surprise, the water was just as clean and clear as when we closed it last fall. You can bet we will use this product again. Thanks In The Swim!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spring opening,
Date:August 12, 2009
By picwis
from Wingdale, NY
from Wingdale, NY
Pros: easy to use
Cons: there aren't any!
"Each spring we lift the pool cover and are happy to see a clean pool. Opening is so easy. I would highly recommend In the Swim products. They are much more affordable than my local pool place."
Review 19 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life is Good!,
Date:August 5, 2009
By Nanook192
from Ontario, Canada
from Ontario, Canada
Pros: Easy, simple to use and it works great!
Cons: Nothing at all!
"For twenty years I tried different combinations to close our pool, but still a mess in the spring. Two years ago I tried IN the Swim's Non-Chlorine Winterizing Kit, and come spring I was pleasantly shocked with a clear, almost perfectly balanced pool. I just picked up my kit in Niagara Falls NY for this winter to have in stock, and will use it every every year. I highly recommend it, it takes the dread out of spring pool openings."
Review 20 for Pool Chemical Winterizing Kits
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value!,
Date:August 1, 2009
By lynn41
from DORR, MICHIGAN
from DORR, MICHIGAN
Pros: Shop from home....
"Makes opening a breeze...
Would highly recommend!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.