In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Clarifiers & Pool Cleaning Chemicals or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Fix A Leak

Fix A Leak finds and fixes leaks fast! This concentrated formula will permanently seal leaks and holes up to 1/8 inch in diameter in most any material including plumbing!
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
6 of 10(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fix A Leak
Review 1 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific product,
Date:August 12, 2013
By Casey1696
from Lima, OH
from Lima, OH
"I was losing over 3/8 inch of water a day in a 16 X 32 vinyl liner in ground pool with deep end. I don't know how this stuff works, but it did. Twenty-four hours later, leak stopped. Followed directions exactly and am extremely pleased with the results. Had a leak several years ago and it cost me over $200 to find. Didn't have to look this time.
Have used other of your products for 17 years and have been very satisfied with delivery, service and quality of products.
"
Review 2 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked like a charm,
Date:July 15, 2013
By hurteye
from North Carolina
from North Carolina
"I have a Hot Springs spa that started leaking. The water level would drop about 6 inches in a week. Due to my installation there is no good access to the underside of the spa.I used 8 ounces of this product, which is almost 3 times the suggested amount for a 385 gal. spa.I followed the website instructions . After circulating the product for 4-6 hours , I drained the spa and let it " cure " as suggested for 5 days. I then refilled the spa. It has been 3 months without any further leak. Saved me a tremendous amount of time, aggravation , and expense! May not always work as others have suggested, but I am very happy with this product."
Review 3 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked for suction line leak,
Date:June 3, 2013
By mbsMA
from Massachusetts
from Massachusetts
Pros: Inexpensive solution to a potentially costly problem
Cons: You need to be patient -- takes a minimum of 48hrs to cure
"I had a suction line leak under the concrete decking near my skimmer. Figured it would be worth trying Fix-a-Leak before jackhammering the concrete. Replumbed to reverse flow to pressurize the line to the skimmer, and piped a return from the skimmer to pool with a pressure gauge to keep the water in the suction line at recommended pressure. I connected the vacuum hose to the pump inlet. I used about 8 oz of Fix-a-Leak (I have a small inground pool) and circulated for about 6 hours (probably not long enough, as it would turn out) and then let cure for 48hrs. Didn't work.
2nd try: used shop-vac on blower setting to push the water out of the skimmer suction line (kept water from entering skimmer by pipe screwed into skimmer). Then I poured another 4 ounces of fix-a-leak directly into the now-dry line (improvising a bit at this point). Capped one end while pressurizing with air from the shop vac. Did this for a minute or so and then let cure for 48 hours. That worked! Hopefully the repair will hold"
Review 4 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked for me,
Date:June 27, 2012
By LesMc
from Tulsa, OK
from Tulsa, OK
Pros: Much cheaper than digging up 30 year old piping. The product worked great as indicated on the label.
Cons: A lot to work to divert the water to keep it out of the pool to avoid getting it into the filter system
"This product seems to have worked for my leaky pipes. My suction line was leaking badly after 30 years. I diverted the return lines, one into the skimmer to cover the suction line, then the pipe coming from the ground into a trash can, where I put a pool vacuum to cycle the product back into the system. My pool has much better pressure, and I am not getting the air in the system that I used to get all the time.
BEWARE - do not run this thru your filter, it clearly states not to get this into your filter. My filter is so old the gasket inside the 7way filter valve was torn and so some of this product made it into my sand and is making my sand useless. So I am out $39 for 300 lb of sand from the hardware store, $20 for the product along with a few fittings, hose re-routes and some time to connect it all together.
Overall a success, much cheaper than digging up concrete and replacing old pipes."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
avoid for pools,
Date:April 20, 2012
By queeg
from Sarasota Fl
from Sarasota Fl
Pros: none to speak of, very disappointing result . Too good to be true.
Cons: expensive and does not work. Even thought it was my problem and bought more to try again
"Hopes were up but after trying twice (two purchases - to be sure it wasn't me), product didn't help a bit. I have a 20 x10x 5 lap pool so even thogh advertising says it works for pool and spa leaks - it may really be designed for spas (smaller) or to plug obvious leaks in pools. Of course if you KNOW where the leak is, you'd be better off just using a two-part hand mixed epoxy putty available at all home depots and lowe stores for 20% (80%) savings. Buyer beware and don't get your hopes up. Sorry."
Review 6 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff actually works,
Date:April 17, 2012
By patnpat
from N.Pittsburgh
from N.Pittsburgh
Pros: Stopped the hot tub leak and was easy to use.I would buy it again.
Cons: Pricey .Came without detailed instructions and what was on container was not very clear.
"Product cheaper then a service call but still pricey.Had to go to manufacture`s site to get detailed instructions on hot tub application and curing but to my surprise the dam stuff worked.The whole process takes about three days."
Review 7 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fix a leak,
Date:August 30, 2011
By atom55
from Michigan
from Michigan
Pros: fixed my leak with out draing my pool or leak detection.
Cons: took a little longer than advertized but effective
"I was skeptical of using Fix a Leak, but found it to be very effective. It took about a day longer than the directions stated but it was worth the wait. Did not have to drain the pool to fix the leak nor spend hundreds for leak detection."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work,
Date:July 22, 2010
By Hillvette
Pros: None
Cons: Did Nothing
"This was a waste of time and money. I thought it sounded to good to be true and it is. This product did not work. I followed the directions exact. After 4 days of circulation it did nothing to stop my leak. I do not review items very often but this product is so bad I thought I might be able to keep someone else from wasting there money. I tried it on a 21 foot pool 4 feet deep."
Review 9 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010
By nana58
"This does not work do not waste your time or money. Knew it sounded to good to be true but tried it anyway. I did exactly what the instructions said and I still have leakes."
Review 10 for Fix A Leak
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stuff is JUNK,
Date:June 9, 2010
By cupdoggy
from Evansville, IN
from Evansville, IN
Pros: NONE
Cons: Cloudy water, excessive backwahing of filter to clear water, DOES NOT WORK!!
"I created my own small leak at the valve head on a threaded fitting loosened a tad to make a very VERY small leak ( a drip every 5 to 6 seconds) along with the main leak and reason I bought this product. It seemed to work at first but after 30 hours of running the pump I woke to my pump cavitating due to low water level. You guessed it, the small "test" leak I created was leaking again. It took the entire bottle ( per directions ) and still could not per directions fix even a tiny leak( it is touted to fix leaks up to 1/8 " in diameter---yeah right whatever!). Worse is that is makes your water cloudy as ever, coats the ENTIRE pool liner with a scum like layer, clogs your filter when you try to get it out of your pool ( it took 8 yes 8 backwashes and that equals over 2,000 gallons of wasted water to get all of it out!!). DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PRODUCT!!!! It is not In the Swim's fault either and they have listened to my complaint and worked with me on a resolution."