In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Automatic Pool Cleaners for Above-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner

"The Aqua Critter pool cleaner by Hayward vacuums all leaves, dirt, grass and bugs from swimming pool bottoms in 2 hours or less. Above ground pool cleaning made easy. Pool cleaners at In The Swim."
Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 76
70 of 79(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Review 21 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aqua bug,
Date:July 11, 2009
By swimmingvol
Pros: fast shipping great price as always great to deal with
Cons: none
"great little bug just hook him up and let him go and he feeds off the bottom"
Review 22 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!!!,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Proudnana
from Crossville, Al.
from Crossville, Al.
Pros: Easy to install, cleans great, affordable
"I love this cleaner. It is easy to use. It cleans the bottom of the pool in about an hour. So far I have had no problems."
Review 23 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little vaccuum!,
Date:July 11, 2009
By jaxgnat
Pros: Keeps bottom of my above ground pool clean automatically
Cons: Wish there were more than one suction area under the vacuum
"This is an awesome little vacuum for the money. Keeps my pool bottom cleaned all summer long. If you have a lot of leaves, just make sure and check it every now and then to clean out."
Review 24 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing I ever did for myself,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Dat47
Pros: No more aching back from vacuuming the pool.
Cons: none so far
"The Critter was reccommended to me by a friend who knows I suffer with lower back pain. She has one and loves it. I have been using it for weeks now and it does a fantastic job. My pool stays crystal clear and I can enjoy it more than ever. It is easy to hook up and remove from the pool. I have a Doughboy pool and it hooks up to its special through the wall vacuum attachment perfectly."
Review 25 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great for flat floors,
Date:July 11, 2009
By KyMom
from KY
from KY
Pros: Works!! Runs of pump
Cons: Does not work great on uneven floors
"Our sand was not real smooth so it does get stuck in a few places....But if you do not have this problem then its perfect!! I still have been pleased with our purchase"
Review 26 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works better than advertised,
Date:June 18, 2009
By DocWyeth
from SE Penna.
from SE Penna.
Pros: It WORKS!!
Cons: None
"I LOVE this product.
It has cut down on the algae problems because it keeps the pool cleaner than if I did it everyday.
I watched my neighbor for years try so many different above ground cleaners and he never did find one that worked. Then last year for Father's Day my wife gave this to me. She saw the disappointed look and promptly told me it was fully returnable but asked me to try it. She did her research. IT WORKED. I spend more time playing with the kids\ grandkids than cleaning now. I toss it in with the morning coffee and let it run till they show up a few hours later. Once I week I get in a do a full scrub because I feel I should, not because I have too. It runs in the rain and I never did that before. This year it helped open the pool which I hate cause the water is so cold. NO PROBLEM. It got the junk off the bottom.
"
Review 27 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works Wonders,
Date:June 17, 2009
By DWyatt
from Illinois
from Illinois
Pros: Easy set up
Cons: No attachment to fit my filter
"This product is wonderful. I bought it last year and didn't use it much because my filter is an older one and the "critter" didn't come with an attachment to fit it's hose in the strainer. This year I'm using it and it's cleaning the pool wonderfully - I don't think I'll have to hand sweep it again! It's taking a little longer than it normally would because I'm using my old hose and I think it's a little too heavy for the critter - but we just put it in when we get home from work and take it out a few hours later with a clean pool!"
Review 28 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like my little bug,
Date:June 11, 2009
By nettie
from Arkansas
from Arkansas
"my pool size is 18x4. The pump that came with my pool was not big enough to move the bug really well. My bigger pump is much better for cleaning my pool and makes my bug move great. It is really fun to watch it clean the pool. I would recommend the Hayward Aqua Critter to anyone.
Nettie
"
Review 29 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a relief!,
Date:June 3, 2009
By Raven31
from Edgemere, MD
from Edgemere, MD
Pros: Never have to vaccuum your pool again
Cons: None
"I have a 15x30' above ground pool. This lady bug (I call her "the Girl") cleans my pool perfectly. I had to go to the local pool supply and get an additional section of hose for $13...but, that is the most I have had to do. I would highly recommend it and I am purchasing it for my sister as a birthday present to save her from having to vaccuum her pool! Enjoy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hasn't cleaned pool yet!,
Date:December 14, 2008
By toby
from Orem, Utah
from Orem, Utah
Pros: Easy set up
Cons: only cleans about five foot circle not the whole pool.
This customer did not provide a text review.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent pool cleaner,
Date:December 14, 2008
By Frenchie
from Greenville, South Carolina
from Greenville, South Carolina
Pros: cleans pool while you sleep
Cons: none really no brainer easy to hook up
"I had one for 13 years and this the first time I had to replace it and only because it was a GREAT PRICE with in the swim. I still have the old one and will give it away."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it !,
Date:December 14, 2008
By DWeaz
from West Virginia
from West Virginia
Pros: easy, fast and almost hands free
"I was a bit "iffy" when I bought this product. I got it hooked up and let it go. WOW, it cleans great and virtually hands free. I put it in the pool over night and the pool is clean the next day. Its a little hard to get the area where the floor meets the walls but I recomend this product to anyone who has a busy life and not much time to vaccum themselves."
Review 33 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
Date:November 29, 2008
By BoilerFan
from Crystal Lake, IL
from Crystal Lake, IL
Pros: Cute and fun for the kids to watch
Cons: Cleans just ok, get the leaf canister for best resullts!
"For what I wanted to accomplish, this cleaner does the job at a decent price. If I put it in the pool an hour or so before swimming, when I take it out, I have very little left to vacuum. For best results, buy the leaf canister, it will save cleaning of your filter basket!"
Review 34 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
should purchased this a long time ago!!,
Date:November 27, 2008
By oldsgirl
from poughkeepsie ny
from poughkeepsie ny
Pros: just hook it up and forget it
"I am so happy with the critter, it cleans the pool great"
Review 35 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT - LOVE IT - LOVE IT,
Date:November 27, 2008
By Anonymous
from Woodleaf, NC
from Woodleaf, NC
Pros: So Easy - it was almost too easy !
Cons: Be Patient the 1st day - it does work !
"I purchased a home with a pool - and knew absolutely ZERO about maintaining it - - - I was lucky and the water cleared up quickly (from green sludge) but I could never get the floor vacuumed very clean. A friend suggested a pool vacuum critter - so I purchased this one and WOW!!!! I wish I had done it the day we opened the pool! Now my pool is as clean as any I have ever seen! Crystal Clear - Sparkling Blue ! And all I have to do is plug the hose into the bottom of the skimmer ! How simple is that! MUCH MUCH EASIER than talking my kids into vacuuming!"
Review 36 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned the Aqua Critter,
Date:November 26, 2008
By Skogo
from Missouri
from Missouri
Pros: It's cute
Cons: It didn't work
"We bought the Aqua Critter to replace our old Polaris. The Aqua Critter was worthless. Though the description says it works on pools with a deep end, it never did. The Critter wouldn't or couldn't go into the deep end of our pool, and if we placed it down there manually, it still wouldn't go up the sides to get out. We tried many different adjustments, but none helped. Very poor performance. We returned the Critter and ordered another Polaris 65."
Review 37 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed,
Date:September 20, 2008
By lilmama
from mo
from mo
Pros: cleans well
Cons: wouldn't climb slopes
"The ad says it works in dished out pool bottoms, which is why I purchased it, but it did not work in mine. It wouldn't climb the slope around the edge or the one from the deep end to the shallow end. It just stayed in the deeper end of the pool."
Review 38 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent pool cleaner,
Date:June 27, 2008
By ccrider
Pros: can't beat it for the price
Cons: none
"I have two diffrent pool cleaners the Aqua critter is the best . I have a suggestion when you store your hoses make sure you keep them as straight as possible .I made a stand for my hoses out of red wood 2x4's and pvc pipe have had them since 1998. The other cleaner I have is a pool rover jr. and it is alot more expensive and does not clean as well. When my Aqua Critter ever quits I will definitely purchase outher one . they have many parts for this unit so it may be a long time"
Review 39 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy,
Date:May 28, 2008
By cw4manning
from Bristol, VA
from Bristol, VA
Pros: Easy to use
"For the money this product works great!!!! I had no problem with it. When I store it away I had bought a tote that hold everything because the box broke down. it is easy to put together. And fun to sit and watch. I find it easier to clean before I cover my pool at night(due to my neighbors trees) that way it is ready for the next day."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hayward Aqua Critter Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth the time,
Date:April 21, 2008
By Ford
from Pa
from Pa
Pros: Hooks up easy, looks good
Cons: Doesn't clean
"This thing isn't worth the time or money. It will not clean enough to even notice."