In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Paint and Deck Coatings or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint

"Super poxy shield pool paint is an economical way to paint your swimming pool. Epoxy based swimming pool paint only requires one coat, to save you time and money. Complete pool painting instructions."
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Review 1 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as good as advertised,
Date:June 4, 2013
By mm81gm
from wv
from wv
Pros: directions were spot on. great coverage, looks just like I hoped when it was completed.
Cons: expensive - wish you could get it in smaller amounts
"I have a inground pool with a liner. I do have fiberglass steps at the end. the steps were starting to get a little rough looking. I drained my pool enough that I could get to them.
I repaired and sanded the rougher spots. I Painted the steps with the primer and the paint, as directed. It turned out great.! I am a terrible painter, however, my wife was even happy.
A note to anybody that would apply this to steps. Take precaution to add sand, place a non skid matt, or just just bust you butt as I did. lol. This product makes steps as slick as you can make them.
"
Review 2 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not worth it.,
Date:July 5, 2012
By extremelyunhappy
from central,florida
from central,florida
Pros: looks pretty ,nice blue color ,otherwise none-none-none
Cons: everything..lots of work for it to last a few months
"afterpatching, acid wash,rinse,primer and 2 coats ot paint already getting bubbles and just had a bubblew pop today and see the primer underneath...all that work for nothing.."
Review 3 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good,
Date:October 29, 2011
By DIYBill
from Sacramento, CA
from Sacramento, CA
Pros: Good paint with a durable finish ready to be mixed with hardener supplied.
Cons: None yet. Recommend watching You-Tube videos and reading and following all directions supplied to simplify the work.
"I am very satisfied with my paint job. It has only been 3 months since completion; so, I can not attest to its durability over several years yet. Please be prepared for a lot of work, but, the following tips will make your job easier and more successful.
1. Obtain a plastic 2 gallon flower watering cannister with a spout and a brush or broom for washing the pool sides and bottom.
2. Wash the pool twice with TSP (trisodium phosphate). It's like Tide soap with no fragent smell. I washed the pool twice because I did not use hot water. Rinse
3. Wash the pool with 50% pool acid and 50% water taking care to cover all areas with a flow of the mixture. BE CAREFUL, this wash is dangerous to skin! Work a 5 foot length of wall and let the mixture do the work as it will smoke and etch the pool sides and bottom. Rinse within a minute and keep plenty of water running to dilute the solution accumilating in the bottom of the pool.
4. Drain and acid wash the bottom of the pool. Rinse.
5. Wash the pool again with TSP.
6. Let the pool dry in warm temperatures for at least two days.
7. PAINT THE POOL WITH INTHESWIM PRIMER AND PAINT THE FINAL COAT OF EPOXY PAINT FROM 24 TO 48 HOURS AFTER THE PRIMER. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS ON THE CAN CAREFULLY.
8. When painting the tops of steps or other slippery type areas, use one cup of clean sand mixed in one quart of epoxy final coat to create a "non-slip" type surface.
9. The above advise and tips are from a one-time user of these products and are not intended to be from a professional pool painter with any guarantees. This advise merely comes from the personal experience of a do-it-yourself homeowner. Good luck with your project."
Review 4 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Am testing this coating,
Date:August 11, 2010
By rwetucson
from Tucson AZ
from Tucson AZ
Pros: Attractive...so far
Cons: Labor intensive application
"I have a 25 year old pool...25000 gallons, 1200 sq/ft. of plaster. Replaster estimate was $6K.
Decided to test this pool paint on the steps, benches, and spa. Used 2 gallons each of primer and paint. So far so good after 6 months.
Some suggestions:
Use a belt sander with 30 grit to remove 1/32" of the old surface plaster and create better adhesion.
Plaster patch cracks.
Acid wash and rinse.
Mix only 1/2 a can at a time since the can life is only an hour and I was using a 4" paint brush..
Do use silicone sand on the horizontal surfaces as the paint is super slippery once it has set up.
Lightly pumice stone the silicone sand areas once the paint has set up to reduce abrasion.
In Tucson, my unheated water temp reaches 85d
in the summer and 45d in the winter. If this paint holds up, I will use it on the total pool area after my next change of water.
"
Review 5 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A hard candy shell for your pool!,
Date:May 25, 2010
By Backglass
from New York
from New York
Pros: Forms a very hard, think epoxy coating.
Cons: Crazy Expensive!
"My pool is over 25 years old and was an odd duck. Fiberglass walls and an unpainted cement bottom. There were cracks and it leaked like a sieve. The local pool folks wanted over $3000 to fix it up. We did it ourselves for half that cost.
After acid washing, cement repair, prep and priming with In The Swim Gunite Primer, we painted. It took 5 gallons for my 15x30 pool.
We couldn't believe the difference it made...it has been three summer's now and it still looks brand new. We get tons of compliments and haven't had a single problem with chipping, peeling, detachment, etc. Nothing.
Now, there are some steps you MUST take for success. First, the pool surface must be completely dry and I mean bone dry. Cement & plaster are porous and hold moisture inside. You must have several days of dry weather for it to completely dry out. You cant have ANY moisture in the concrete or the paint could bond poorly. Place a sheet of plastic somewhere on your empty pool floor overnight. If in the morning there is moisture under the plastic it isn't dry enough yet.
This is a two-part epoxy paint. You mix the two cans well and then paint...quick! It goes on very thick and dries/hardens in under an hour so you have to work fast.
If you want to see my whole pool re-furb/paint process complete with pictures using this paint, Google "pool paint refurb complete" and you will see my forum post at the top."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chips after first year,
Date:November 29, 2009
By amlehn
from Little Rock, AR
from Little Rock, AR
Pros: Looked beautiful first season
Cons: Slick first season, then began to notice chipping/peeling
"I had prepped my plaster pool perfectly before applying this product. The first season was great, and very easy to maintain chemically. However, it was VERY slick. I had to warn all my guests when walking down the steps and when walking in the shallow end. We barely made it through the first season when it started chipping around the top edges and in the shallow end of the pool. We repainted on the spots that have chipped, but it just continues to get worse and worse. We're now on year 3 of this coating, and it has deteriorated so bad that I'm giving up and going for a re-plaster - once I get all the paint coating off - not an easy feat. All said and done, I'd be better off if I saved my money over the last 3 years for a full re-plaster. The heartache and time just isn't worth the $ saving."
Review 7 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware,
Date:September 6, 2009
By TennDoc
from Sevierville, TN
from Sevierville, TN
Pros: Pretty Color
Cons: Chipping and Peeling
"I painted my pool in September 2007. In the summer of 2008 I began to notice some small areas of chipping or peeling, which exposed the white primer. I found paint chips in my Polaris bag. This summer the peeling has progressed, and now I have multiple areas of exposed primer, some as large as a foot print. Considering the investment of both money and time in painting my pool I would not recommend this product."
Review 8 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Pool Paint,
Date:July 18, 2009
By 53kitten
from Cana, VA
from Cana, VA
Pros: Tough and long lasting
Cons: None
"For forty years we tried almost every pool paint imaginable. Finally, we found Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint at In The Swim. Our search for a dependable, long lasting paint is over. It does not crack or peel. It goes on easier and looks better than any we have used. It has our highest recommendation. We love it."
Review 9 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great paint!,
Date:July 14, 2009
By mnewth1
from Holdrege,NE
from Holdrege,NE
"This was a good paint. The primer took a lot longer to put on. The paint went on fast and seems like it will really hold up. It really improved the looks of our pool. We used the dark blue paint and white on the top trim. It sure is a nice bright color. We hope to have it hold up for years. We just used a roller on the bottom and sides and a brush on top. The before prep work took a lot longer than the painting."
Review 10 for Super Poxy Shield Epoxy Pool Paint
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Paint vs. Plaster Resurfacing,
Date:March 16, 2008
By DrACC
from Fairfax
from Fairfax
Pros: Save thousands of dollars
Cons: A couple of days of low-skill work
"If money is tight and you have been putting off resurfacing you plaster pool, consider this epoxy paint. When done correctly, it will ast as long as many re-plastering jobs. Basically your drain your pool, clean the surface, sand the surface, acid wash the surface, rinse, and then apply the epoxy paint. If you are going over plaster, it may take two coats. Let dry. If you did it correctly, you beat the system and saved thousands of dollars. $500 to resurface your pool and it lasts for 8 years (but starts to get chalky at 6)."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.