In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Solar Pool Covers & Reels for Above-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit

Solar reel attachment kit connects a solar pool blanket cover to a solar cover reel. Available for in-ground and above ground swimming pools.
Average Customer Rating:
3.476 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
15 of 21(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Review 1 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for all solar covers,
Date:June 19, 2012
By Aseries
from St. Paul, MN
from St. Paul, MN
Pros: Durable straps and plastic parts. Lasted as long as the cover
Cons: Velcro tabs tend to come unglued. I use stainless screws.
"The "Above Ground" kit for my AG pool was useless. The ropes rotted in one year and the plastic disintegrated. The "In Ground" kit works much better. Forget about attaching the straps directly to the cover. Here is what I do: get a 1/2 inch vinyl water pipe the approximate width of the cover. Glue end caps on so it will float. Pass the straps top to underneath the cover and around the pipe and back up through the buckles. The pipe floats just under the cover and when it is pulled up the cover stays nice and flat and does not bunch so much. When the cover is unrolled the ends tend to curl under the surface. I attach another 18 inch length of capped pipe to each end of the cover. The pipes pull the ends down and help float the ends out the right way."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straps have a short life,
Date:May 29, 2011
By SunnySideUp
from Pa.
from Pa.
Pros: Easy to attach the straps to the solor cover and solar reel
Cons: All the straps broke in less than 2 years they are made of poor quality material
"The straps are not thick or very wide. All of the straps broke in less than 2 years. I would by thicker/wider straps. I would not buy these again."
Review 3 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad description in catalog,
Date:September 17, 2009
By degers
Pros: It fits any reel
Cons: Hard to install with eyelets
"You show in your catalog one item with straps and Velcro and send another with cords and wood thread eyelets to install on a metal Reel"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother.,
Date:August 4, 2009
By Sparky
from Grand Rapids, MI
from Grand Rapids, MI
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Weak adhesive
"The adhesive-backed velcro pieces stayed attached to my reel for almost a week! Needs more/stronger adhesive."
Review 5 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect replacement,
Date:July 13, 2009
By Chewelah
from Washington
from Washington
Pros: Everything
Cons: none
"Exact replacement that we got from the dealer when we bought our pool. We use this on our Above Ground pool even though it says it's for In Ground pools. Much better to attach velcro to the pool reel than screw into the metal. Our first velcro set lasted 5 years before the velcro adhesive started wearing off, so we hope that is the case with this set. Great value!"
Review 6 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JUNK!,
Date:June 17, 2009
By BurnedinNY
from Hagaman,NY
from Hagaman,NY
Pros: none
Cons: How do you put a wood thread into a aluminum tube
"I got my info from the catalogue. The description is lacking to say the least. Try to return it (at your expense) plus pay the difference to the inground one now what is your cost once the smoke clears? I see I'm not the only one to get burned by this product. Buyer Beware!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk,
Date:January 15, 2009
By RicF
from Carrollton, Va.
from Carrollton, Va.
Pros: None
Cons: Junk
"Do not order this item. They show no picture of it, and I see why. The kit is nothing but small rope and tiny eye hooks"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Well,
Date:November 27, 2008
By Howdy
from Miami, FL
from Miami, FL
Pros: Easy to Attach
"This strap and clip replacement set fit easily onto our reel and works well. It's nice to have extra straps/clips on hand because the plastic clips get brittle and break after many months (years) in the sun."
Review 9 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the price,
Date:June 6, 2008
By sarge
from Charlotte, NC
from Charlotte, NC
Pros: Ease of installation
Cons: none
"I have just installed my second set and like the easy way the product was installed. It works well and the last set lasted over 4 summers. Thanks for fast delivery (just 3 days}."
Review 10 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2nd set,
Date:October 4, 2007
By OldGuy
Pros: 1st set worked well
Cons: Attachment clips different
"This is the 2nd set I have purchased. The attachment clips are different than the 1st set. The problem with the 1st set was that one of the clips broke. I also noted that the straps would not always wind on the reel smoothly to keep the cover flat. However, using the straps with the reel makes it easy to store the cover when not needed."
Review 11 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy Installation,
Date:September 3, 2007
By TRYGG
Pros: Easy to install and the straps have not come off so far
Cons: Would like one more strap included to make it easier to space the velcro straps (easier with an odd number)
"This is only the 2nd set of straps we have used on our solar cover.
This set was faster and easier to install.
The 1st set (not the same brand) started to fray and come apart in the 2nd season - so we will see how long this set lasts. Hopefully more than 2 seasons.
"
Review 12 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install and use,
Date:August 30, 2007
By Maxthecat
Pros: Straps are all precut; easy to install durable plastic tabs
Cons: Velco doesn't hold under heavy winds
"This is my second set and find the tabs easy to install. The straps are precut and directions are clear. I wish the velco pieces were longer. I added purchased velco strips to increase the length and it works better."
Review 13 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Kit I've Seen,
Date:August 23, 2007
By Snow
Pros: Simple to install. Nice long straps. Works very well.
Cons: Velcro sometimes comes off reel, but it usually will stick back on.
"This kit is moderately priced and installs easily. I am on my second kit now. The first kit held up for many years. It outlasted at least two solar covers. I replaced it since it was beginning to look pretty weathered from the sun."
Review 14 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2007
By loulabell
Pros: Easy to use and install
Cons: Velcro strips do not hold well
"Great item to have with solar cover reel. Wished velcro worked better. Didn't even last one season."
Review 15 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality,
Date:August 23, 2007
By Dobby
Pros: Clear directions, fast shipping
Cons: none
"These straps hold up the best! We've tried others and they started to disintegrate from sun and chlorine. Because our pool is kidney shaped the directions were helpful to measure and set up the straps for the solar cover to roll up properly."
Review 16 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cover straps,
Date:August 22, 2007
By Rhinobuck
Pros: Easy to attach
Cons: Weak in winds
"Upon the first big wind storm, it ripped the velcro strips off the reel. Had to go out and purchase some commercial grade velcro to reattach."
Review 17 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent vaule,
Date:August 22, 2007
By sandi
Pros: Fairly easy to install
Cons: Takes a little time
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 18 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't live without it,
Date:August 22, 2007
By coco
Pros: makes it easy to remove cover off pool
Cons: 1st time I used this kit it was very confusing but what isn't
"Definitely a must if you have a cover...."
Review 19 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
Date:August 9, 2007
By bandit
Pros: Easy to install - easily adjustible- works as advertised
Cons: velcro strips were a little weak
"I would buy this product again when I need it. This is a super simple attachment kit - can't believe I waited so long to order it!"
Review 20 for Complete Solar Reel Attachment Kit
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to replace,
Date:August 9, 2007
By Missy
Pros: Again, Easy to replace
Cons: The straps could last a little longer before falling apart
"It's nice to be able to get the replacement kit. Sure makes life easy with the solar reel."