In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Solar Pool Covers & Reels for In-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Poly Tarp

Poly tarp cover for solar blankets on a reel. Cover your solar pool cover when not in use to protect it from damaging weather. Thousands of pool supplies available with free U.S. shipping.
Average Customer Rating:
2.474 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
10 of 19(53%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poly Tarp
Review 1 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
Date:October 24, 2012
By Adam
from Dallas, TX
from Dallas, TX
Pros: Works well, kept my cover in great condition during the Texas summer
Cons: Started fraying on the ends It was too long for my reel.
"I have been ordering solar covers each year because the plastic sheeting supplied had to be tied down. The cover would get damaged at those tie-down spots. This new cover with the velco strip running the length of the reel worked great, easy to put on and take off. When I uncovered my solar cover today, the cover looked brand new, no damage. The cover did fray at the ends but it was easily 2 feet longer than I needed. I only gave it 4 stars because of the fraying otherwise it's a 5."
Review 2 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
warning,
Date:August 10, 2010
By justswimming
from Cincinnati
from Cincinnati
Pros: none
Cons: hard to place on reeleed up 40 ft cover, deteriated by sun to nothing
"After finally getting the cover on the rolled up solar pool cover it wouldn't stay put. Also the pool cover cover did little to protect the solar cover. The solar cover still deteriated in the sun. That was the reason I had purchased it to protect solar cover from the sun. Not worth the time and effort to place on reeled up solar cover."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not exactly what I expected,
Date:May 27, 2010
By G2GUMP
from Cape Cod
from Cape Cod
Pros: Easy to install :-)
Cons: Pretty basic :-(
"This is nothing more than a sheet of white tarp material, cut to size, and you attach the peel 'n stick Velcro. The price for the product was reasonable, but after you add the shipping you'd be better off buying a silver colored tarp, cut it in strips, and add your own Velcro; you'll even get several covers from one tarp if you measure it correctly. This is what I'll do the next time around. On the plus side, the material is white and will reflect the sun. Covering your solar cover is a wise thing to do, unless you have the $$ to buy a new one every year."
Review 4 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poly tarp,
Date:August 6, 2009
By moggie
from springfield illinois
from springfield illinois
Pros: none
Cons: none
"Have ordered this tarp before which had full length of velco closeures. New one only had two single velco closures. New immediatly that would not work on our 20ft wide pool. Would not recommend the new one. Returned tarp ASAP."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
solor tarp,
Date:July 26, 2009
By lynme
Cons: does not fit around cover and 3 velcro strips not enough
"This cover is not big enough to go around the solar cover when it is reeled up. 3 velcro straps are not
enough to secure the cover and keep it from coming
off in the wind.
The old style with the velcro the whole way across
the cover was better.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk, not as described or the old product.,
Date:July 25, 2009
By cleanwater
from Monrovia, MD
from Monrovia, MD
Pros: none
Cons: Not as described
"What happened to the velcro that ran the length of the cover to hold the cover rolled up? 2 12' Pieces of stick on velcro?????Very thin material.
Not even worth returning. just throw away.
I bought this in the past and was very satisfied, thought what I got in the past was what I was getting, This is not as described or what is pictured.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exactly as promised,
Date:July 18, 2009
By Danner
from Prairie du Sac, WI
from Prairie du Sac, WI
Pros: velcro strips were well attached
Cons: I thought a little pricey
"I ordered the 20' tarp for an 18' wide reel because of a previous review and found it to be plenty wide. The velcro strips were well attached.
Expect it to last a number of years.
"
Review 8 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inexpensive Investment Saves Time,
Date:July 13, 2009
By Professor
from Milton, WV
from Milton, WV
Pros: Velcro secures cover; simple to use; neat appearance
Cons: Directions don't specify the need for velcro applied to the middle of cover.
"Instead of buying tarps that typically are too wide or long and look ugly when used, these covers are the correct size. The velcro makes using these covers quick and easy, resulting in a neat appearance."
Review 9 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Used to be better,
Date:July 12, 2009
By trsucci
from Houston, TX
from Houston, TX
Pros: Inexpensive way to protect covers
Cons: velcro attached strips too small
"Was much better when the velcro was already attached on one side, made for a better fit. Now it just has a couple small strips that you have to attach both sides on yourself."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
disappointed with new desighn,
Date:June 5, 2009
By hotweatherNut
from wisconsin
from wisconsin
Pros: protects solar cover well
Cons: velcro strips now, not sewn in
"I have purchased this tarp multiple times in the past. Usually lasts one season. The velcro has always been stitched on the full length of the tarp allowing for secure attachment. This time it came with TWO 12 inch SELF adhesive velcro strips. That's 24 inches to secure an 18 foot tarp? What are they thinking, at least include 6 or 8 strips? What will the chlorine water do to adhesive? I don't understand!! Just another example of a product price increasing but what you get for your money decreases. I am VERY disappointed and will find an alternative in the future."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Solar cover poly tarp,
Date:June 1, 2009
By DavidB
from Tyrone, Ga
from Tyrone, Ga
Pros: Velco easy attatch that does not blow off
Cons: Not very thick material, lasts 2 years max.
"This year I took the poly tarp out and it is pretty bad shape. It was folded and stored over winter, but very week and not usable. I will buy another because I have not found another tarp 28' wide unless I make my own."
Review 12 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
OK but could be better,
Date:May 4, 2009
By Brunhilda
from PA
from PA
Pros: Easey to put on, eliminates tie-up ropes
Cons: Frays on the ends, lasts only one season, too short
"I've had several of these over the last several years. The 16 ft one is only 15-1/2 feet long, so buy the next bigger size than you need. After a couple of months, the unfinished ends fray with long streamers getting tangled in the reel. A sewn finished end would probably have stopped that. The material itself is thin and limp by the end of the season, with slight separations reducing the protection of the solar cover. Plan on one season of use."
Review 13 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good product gone bad?,
Date:October 13, 2008
By Gyro
from NorthWest Detroit Area
from NorthWest Detroit Area
Pros: Was handy way to protect solar blanket
Cons: Not wide enough
"To start, my overall rating is a blend of the cover that I purchased a few years ago plus my opinion on what I understand is its current design.
My current cover has finally worn out. It's thin and torn in a few areas but the biggest issue is that the ends are severely frayed. This not unexpected after summers of exposure to the sun. What I liked about this cover was the velcro stitched along the length of the cover that made it really handy to secure it over the solar blanket. What I didn't like was that it just barely wide enough to go around my blanket (hence the tears while trying to pull the ends together). A couple of inches added to the width, plus hemming the ends (the fraying started this summer), would have been useful and probably would have added a couple of years to its life.
The pros outweigh the cons and if they still offered the exact same product I probably would buy it (My overall rating would have been 4 stars). However, given the comments from other reviewers that the velcro is no longer sewn on the entire length of this cover negates the the primary pro of the cover that I had. Let's hope that In the Swim sends our feedback to their supplier so this product becomes more useful.
For next summer what I'll do is to cut a length of white polyethelyne banquet tablecover and secure it to my solar blanket with bungee cords.
"
Review 14 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The old style was better,
Date:July 22, 2008
By boogiedog
from Tennessee
from Tennessee
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: No fasteners
"I agree with the other review, the old tarp with the velcro the entire length was so much better. The velcro that came with this product did not last and created holes in the tarp where it came off. I bought more velcro but it too would not secure the tarp. I ended up using multiple bungy cords."
Review 15 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
don't waste your money,
Date:June 23, 2008
By 4real
from Pennsylvania
from Pennsylvania
Pros: it is a white tarp
Cons: twelve inches of velcro to hold an eighteen foot tarp
"The old style tarp had Velcro the entire length, which was sewn onto the tarp. The new style has twelve inches of Velcro with self adhesive to attach to the tarp. The first time the wind blew, it was gone. I rated this one star, it should be 0 stars."
Review 16 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2008
By jellybean
from Indiana
from Indiana
"Only lastest two seasons. But it was easy for one person to handle and velco made it easy to secure."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a great idea,
Date:September 27, 2007
By prima
"We've enjoyed this product very much - doesn't try to blow away as the big plastic sheet did, even tho I secured IT with boards!
IMPORTANT: I strongly urge you to order the next size up so that your poly-tarp will actually cover all of your cover. We are SO glad we have the 18' for our 16' wide pool."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice product - velcro needs fastened better,
Date:August 22, 2007
By MStiely
Pros: Easy to use
"This is a nice convenient product, however, it would be nice if the velcro where secured more firmly. Whenever you remove the cover, it pulls on the velcro which is now coming loose at the ends."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Poly Tarp
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase ever,
Date:May 29, 2007
By sadboy
Pros: None to speak of.
Cons: No means of fastening onto cover will blow away.
"I boutght a solar tarp a few years back and it was a much thicker woven type poly tarp with a velcro attachment along the complete length, which was an improvement from the previous poly tary which only had intermitent velcro pads. But now you went to a thin poly sheet that is thinner than most packaging is these days, and no fastening means at all. What a back hill slide."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.