In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Automatic Pool Cleaners for In-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner

Polaris 380 automatic pool cleaner for in-ground swimming pools outperforms most automatic pool cleaners on the market. This pool vacuum quickly cleans the walls and floor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleans Pool Quickly,
Date:August 2, 2009
By Kevinj
from Chesapeake, VA
from Chesapeake, VA
Pros: Fast, doesn't tangle & easy to use
Cons: Cost and dedicated pump
"Have had this for 1 season in an inground vinyl liner pool and it does the job. Cleans walls and inclines with ease. Only problem was we had to buy 2 and return one as first was defective but was not an issue overall.
As long as your pool is setup for one it's just a matter of unboxing and being sure you have the correct flow guage attached ( comes with 2 ). The instructions are included to properly choose the correct one. Connect to the dedicated Pool cleaner exhaust port on the pool, besure the MAIN pump is on, turn on the Polaris pump and your good to go. When done, turn off the Polaris pump and then if needed the main pump.
One tip: If your Polaris does a wheelie, rotate the float on the neck so it adheres to the pool bottom.
I recommend this as of 1 season of use so far."
Review 2 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never Clean Your Pool Again!,
Date:July 18, 2009
By SteveNAtlanta
from Atlanta, GA
from Atlanta, GA
Pros: Daily cleans 30,000 gal pool in 3 hrs/day.
Cons: Runs best during filter cycle so you have to dodge it while swimming
"I have had my new Polaris for 3 seasons now. It is a marked improvement over the older units. The separate pump did the trick to keeping the pool clean. I have a lot of trees around my pool and the Polaris keeps the pool clean and clear of leaves and pine straw.
Before I intalled this unit, which is simple to install, I had to manually clean my pool each month, now I enjoy my crstal clear pool with no manual cleaning.
Steve
"
Review 3 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NOT an UPgrade from Polaris 280,
Date:July 16, 2009
By Evelyn
from Albany, Georgia
from Albany, Georgia
Pros: cleans the pool
Cons: belt breaks easily (sticks, toys get stuck in wheels)
"I had one of these installed when I built my pool in 1999. Struggled with breaking belts and constantly replacing the pressure relief valve on the side of pool for years. Finally decided to buy another 380 to see if maybe if would work better... When I went to pool store I said " I want another 380 " and the owner said " NO, you don't, and reccommended the Polaris 280...gear drive with no belts to break, said they had gone back to reccommending them." I was thrilled, I was familiar with the older model but had just assummed they weren't made anymore. I've had the Polaris 280 for 2 years now and only wish I had known they were still made years ago.....My sister had a gear drive Polaris for over 20 years and never had a problem....she sold that house so I don't know what the current owner is using of course...."
Review 4 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
Date:July 11, 2009
By grandma64
from Alabama
from Alabama
Pros: Cleans whole pool even sides and is very fast
"The 380 is a great product. It cleans my pool in half the time of my old cleaner. I can turn it on and the pool is clean in 1 - 2 hours. It does get caught on the ladders but that does not happen often. This is a very useful cleaner and saves a lot of time and energy to keep the pool sparkling clean."
Review 5 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good pool maintenance,
Date:August 24, 2007
By dinger
Pros: simple and thorough system
"This my third Polaris (in 25 yrs ) It is efficient and easy to maintain. occasional hang-up on the ladder is not a problem. I have not used it, but there is a diversion device that will prevent the hang-up.The Polaris keeps the pool clean even following wind storms and in the fall. It is a product worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the $,
Date:August 24, 2007
By ponykit
Pros: Climbs the walls/Doesn't Clog
Cons: None
"If you're debating between the 360 and the 380, the 380 is worth the extra $. We have a 46,000 gallon pool and live with a lot of trees and this one does the job."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Necessary,
Date:August 23, 2007
By melly
Pros: Affordable, durable, fast, efficient
Cons: None
"This pool cleaner removes all debris from the steps and the bottom of the pool. It does it so fast you will not notice that it was even there in a matter of minutes. It has excellent pick up."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Half way job,
Date:August 22, 2007
By Mommie
Pros: Easy to connect
Cons: It isn't thorough
"This Polaris isn't as good as I thought it would be. It gets hung up on the steps everytime I use it. It doesn't go over the whole pool bottom. It seems to follow it's own path which doesn't cover the whole area. For the price, I thought it do a more thorough cleaning. It also doesn't have the power I've seen other models run with. Maybe I need to adjust something."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Polaris 380 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SECOND ONE,
Date:August 22, 2007
By 4BSDAD
Pros: DOES A GREAT JOB, EASY TO INSTALL AND USE,
"JUST UPGRADED TO THE 380 FROM THE 360, THIS IS MY SECOND POLARIS, THEY DO A GREAT JOB, EASY TO USE, AND HANDLE. IT WILL CLEAN THE WHOLE POOL- SIDES, STEPS, AND BOTTOM.
THE ONLY WAY IT COULD BE ANY BETTER IS IF IT WOULD CRAWL OUT OF THE POOL AND CLEAN THE DECK.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.