In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Solar Pool Heaters or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater

Save money and energy while heating your above ground pool with an Aquaquik solar pool heater.
Average Customer Rating:
1.769 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
6 of 26(23%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Review 1 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good heater, lots of flaws,
Date:August 26, 2010
By leon4canes
Pros: Heats pool and keeps it warm even on cool nights
Cons: leaks
"I have put up with the leaks at the connections and have found that all purpose grease at the gaskets at least once a month stops these leakes. Never had a pool leak until the coil itself sprung a huge hole nearly draining my pool completely. Good thing my pump is wired to GFI breaker. Fortunately my breaker tripped before I lost my pump. I may try one more time hoping these flaws have been addressed, against my better judgement."
Review 2 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bargain!,
Date:June 24, 2010
By slvrdllr
from baltimore md
from baltimore md
Pros: heats pool effectively
"purchased solar heater at start of season for 12x18
pool.......pool water has never exceeded 82 degrees
it is right now at 90 degrees and am considering
ordering the bypass kit as i'm afraid it will get too hot....with the exception of one piece needing some
muscle to install.....a great buy!
"
Review 3 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not,
Date:June 20, 2010
By dokey
Pros: worked for while
Cons: second one broke
"had the first one and blew up on us and now the second just cracked in two places and drained the pool again
Calling them on monday for a refund or try another"
Review 4 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bad experience,
Date:September 1, 2009
By gogreen
from pen argyl, PA
from pen argyl, PA
Pros: small compact
Cons: leaks, leaks leaks
"I purchased two of these heaters as the mfgr recommended this for the size of my pool. The first day of operation one of the hoses leaked, then the dome leaked. I never did get to see if they actually work. Upon calling mfgr, they told me they were having a problem with two or more heaters hooked in sequence and did not recommend this anymore. They told me to call in the swim. In the swim was excellent and refunded my money promptly. Do not let your experience with these heaters affect in the swim, I love the company and just ordered a pool cover from them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so sorry,
Date:August 7, 2009
By losth2o
from CT
from CT
Pros: easy to install, small
Cons: quality is poor
"worked as promised for a while then drained my pool when it started leaking at the connections. Seems to be a trend given the number of other who have no water in the pool. just grateful we saw it happen to save the pump.
Do not purchase unless you are seeking an expensive way to drain your pool."
Review 6 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible product,
Date:August 2, 2009
By Catia
from Michigan
from Michigan
Pros: small and easy to hook up
Cons: terrible customer service from the manufacturer
"We bought a set so the small hose they "discontinued" would have been nice to hook them closer together. Within a week one started to leak pretty bad. When they replaced it within 2 days the seam burst open overnight and drained our pool. The pump has not worked well ever since the dry run over night."
Review 7 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Decision,
Date:August 1, 2009
By Digby
from Ohio
from Ohio
Pros: Raises Temp As Promised!!
Cons: Short Hoses Do Not Allow For Much Movement Of The Heater.
"Overall this is a great product. It does raise temperature of pool by ten degrees. However, the short hoses that connect heater to pool, do not allow for alot of placement choices. I am glad we bought this product as it does not use any energy!!"
Review 8 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never again,
Date:July 27, 2009
By Gecky
from Bucks County, Pa
from Bucks County, Pa
Pros: compact
Cons: poorly constructed
"We previously owned the panel, but it was bulky, so after 4yrs the panel got a hole, we decided to try this, BIG MISTAKE! It is very compact, but poorly constructed. We went away for a weekend and returned to our pool being almost 1/2empty. The seal in the "dome" cracked and drained our pool, luckily our new filter did not burn up, but it did cost us to refill the pool!!!!"
Review 9 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2009
By enough
from Minnesota
from Minnesota
Pros: looks good, doesn't take up much room, easy to hook up
Cons: leaks around base, blew hole so water sprayed all over I'm on my third one within 2 weeks
"You had a good ideal on shape and size but needs something done with the hoses"
Review 10 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great idea, but failure,
Date:July 18, 2009
By jimbab
Pros: Great idea and it appears to work, but.....
Cons: Too many leaks
"Great idea and seemed to heat our pool, but kept springing leaks. We finally had to give up on it and return. Wished it would have worked out."
Review 11 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product is junk,
Date:July 18, 2009
By ColdinWisconsin
from Wisconsin
from Wisconsin
Pros: Looks good in the catalog
Cons: Seal breaks and water sprays everywhere
"We have been working with the manufacturer for 3 months. They finally just gave up on us. The seal is bad and splits when you run water through it. We have installed 2 sets of these already. The 2nd set exploded and drained our pool down below the skimmer and burned out our pump. The manufacturer replaced our pump, but admits they did not test this product properly before putting it out on the market. If it really worked, it would be a great product. Some other company needs to pick this up and work the bugs out. It could really be a hot seller."
Review 12 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
beware,
Date:July 13, 2009
By Teen
from East Peoria IL
from East Peoria IL
Pros: good concept
Cons: everything else
"First of all I didn't get all the parts in the box. I tried calling the manufacturer, but I could not get them to answer the phone. In the swim was great and got me the piece that I needed. I hooked my first heater up and it lasted a few days. I contacted in the swim and they were very helpful and I traded it in on another one, because I thought the idea of a smaller solar heater was a good idea. Then I got my second heater and it only lasted 24 hours if that. so needless to say I'm getting a refund and not trying it again."
Review 13 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your moncy,
Date:July 13, 2009
By animallover
from Huntington, IN
from Huntington, IN
Pros: Do not take up much space
Cons: Don't heat
"I purchased two of these units. A wonderful concept. They don't take up much space and look nice. BUT they do not heat. I had ordered enough units for our pool. They never heated the pool. I called the manufacturer and they told me these heaters would raise the temperature of the pool about 6 degrees in 15-20 days (barring no rain). This is a very amount of heat and in a very long time. I then purchased the panels for our pool and you could feel the warm water coming into the pool immediately (where the other heaters never had any warm water coming into the pool, regardless how warm the sun was). I really liked the idea of this heater, but unfortunately the idea does not work and will not heat your pool water."
Review 14 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ok purchase,
Date:July 12, 2009
By larz73
from Rochester, Mi
from Rochester, Mi
Pros: Small unit does seem to heat the water very well.
Cons: Could be made a lilltle better
"I had some problems with unit leaking at the bottom connection at the elbow.Then also having problems with it leaking at hose end at pool wall no matter how tight it is."
Review 15 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disappointing product,
Date:July 11, 2009
By crc1
from Ledgewood, NJ
from Ledgewood, NJ
"This product was very disappointing. It looks good in the catalog, but the connectors kept blowing off due to the pressure from the pump. We never had a chance to see if it would actually heat the pool."
Review 16 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Solar Heater,
Date:July 11, 2009
By SandraS
from Illinois
from Illinois
Pros: Ingenious idea
Cons: shoddy construction
"I purchased this solar heater and after 1 week of running it blew a hole in tubing and the seal, my pool drain and I found the pump running dry, I returned the product and received a new one, this time after 1 day of running it once again did the same thing. This did work but the construction is below quality, the pre-molded tubing seems to be the problem, perhaps if it was built using real pool hosing it would last..."
Review 17 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good idea but poorly made,
Date:July 11, 2009
By grma
from Omaha, NE
from Omaha, NE
Pros: it did help to heat the pool up, its a good idea just needs better quality
Cons: It blew a hole in thank goodness we where home or it could have lost the water and burned up the motor
"Dont recommend until they get it perfected."
Review 18 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
solar pool heater,
Date:July 2, 2009
By clclmn3
from Florence, MA
from Florence, MA
Pros: thought (small compact easy storage in the winter)
Cons: blow a hole after two days of operation
"Thought it would be easy to store in the winter, but never got there after only two days of working, it blow a hole in the bottom coil. I will give it another chance."
Review 19 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
a good idea, but with problems,
Date:June 26, 2009
By blw79
from Pomona, KS
from Pomona, KS
Pros: heats water quickly, small size
Cons: leaks at gaskets, hoses supplied are very short
"I recently purchased one of these heaters as an alternative to hooking up a proprane or electric heater. After just a few days, the heater began leaking where the side hose connector joins the unit. Upon inspection, the piece was warped so I contacted the manufacturer to get a replacement part. To my surprise, a whole new unit arrived instead of just the replacement part I had asked for. The second unit lasted about 2 weeks before it began leaking in the same place! It did quickly heat up the pool water, but now I have 2 solar heaters that are of no use to me until I can rig a way to keep them from leaking. Also, using a silicone lubricant like the manufacturer suggests makes it VERY easy for the hoses to pop off of the unit, even with connector clamps tightened all of the way. A good idea, needs better construction or thicker o-rings to stop the problem."
Review 20 for AquaQuik A/G Solar Pool Heater
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Purchase Ever,
Date:June 26, 2009
By mountainman
from Cumberland, MD
from Cumberland, MD
Pros: Small
Cons: Leaks - Poor Construction
"Purchased 2 heaters for my 21' above ground pool. Extremely cheaply made! The first heater lasted about 10 seconds after the initial hook up before the plastic broke at the seams. Lost several hundred gallons of water. The second heater continually leaked around the seals. Both will be returned. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT UNLESS YOU WANT TROUBLE."