In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Solar Pool Covers & Reels for In-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel

"Only 12 inches high, this reel can be easily operated by one person and stored out of the way when not in use."
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
7 of 10(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Review 1 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pay Attention to Size of Cover,
Date:April 8, 2012
By lumineaux
from Everett, Wa
from Everett, Wa
Pros: Worked well during first Summer, pretty easy to set up.
Cons: Screws Rusted during first Winter, Bar Sags Extremely after 2nd year.
"Wow, who creates a product for a pool and doesn't provide stainless steel screws? I purchased this product in 2009, it went together pretty easy with only a few stripped holes due to the self tapping sheet metal screws provided.
Important: Our pool is 16 * 34 and the reel began sagging after the 2nd year, today 3 years later, the bar sags so much that the solar blanket drags on the pool deck when 90% reeled with a 16 Mil blanket.
Found a stripped screw after first winter in shallow end of pool rusted and stained gunite 1/16" deep. Checked all screws and every one had rusted. Replaced with stainless steel screws and problem solved.
Almost impossible to reel with one person as opposite end will tip over when reeling. Need another person to step on bottom of triangle.
I will replace this year but all products look as if the aluminum extrusions are made the same. Most likely cause of failure is metal fatigue but, unsure if weather (Very mild Seattle climate) or just age caused weekness."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love This Reel,
Date:October 25, 2011
By happycamper95
from Florida
from Florida
Pros: Easy to roll up solar blanket by just turning the handle
Cons: So far I haven't found any cons dealing with this reel.
"I love how easy this reel makes taking my solar blanket off my pool. Before I got this reel I was pulling my blanket off to the side so I could go swimming. Now I just turn the handle and my 12' x 40' blanket rolls up easily and I have the whole pool to swim in. It is easy for me to unroll also -- I just stay in the pool once done swimming, and then gradually pull it to the opposite end. I am very happy with this reel and would recommend it highly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would NOT Recommend,
Date:September 24, 2010
By Swimmy
from Pickerington, OH
from Pickerington, OH
Pros: Price
Cons: Too lightweight and only one handle
"I am very disappointed in this reel. I put the wheels on mine and it constantly blows over whether the wheels are locked or not. One end has been in the pool 3 times today. I finally had to turn it on its side and put a log in the triangle to weigh it down. I have an 18 X 36 solar cover on it and when it's wound up the bar bows. I'm hoping it will last a few years but have my doubts. Only having the handle on one end also makes it difficult to roll up by one person. Directions were not very clear either."
Review 4 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad...But.,
Date:July 15, 2010
By ScooterWNY
from Western New York
from Western New York
Pros: Easy to assemble and operate
Cons: Cheap straps
"All in all a nice solar reel. Easy to assemble and operate. sturdy enough even at maximun extension. The only drawback is that the straps that attach the cover to the reel rotted away after just one season."
Review 5 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Reel,
Date:June 6, 2010
By Clayswims
Pros: This reel is ultra-smooth, one hand one person operation
Cons: Slightly challenging assembly
"I would buy this reel again in a snap. Super smooth operation that my young daughter can operate. This reel does not flex in the middle, even though I have it extended to the max @ 16feet, with the heaviest 16mil ultra-clear blanket. I think this reel should extend the life of the blanket by 100%. You must align the tubes for the length you want, drill a few holes (they supply the drill bit), use some common sense and follow the instructions. Not difficult. The frame is tubular alluminum so it is just heavy enough not to tip,and strong enough not to break. (Like I suspect a plastic one would) I know everyone will love this reel!"
Review 6 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good reel,
Date:July 25, 2009
By dingo
from New Mexico
from New Mexico
Pros: locking wheels, low and light
Cons: a little flimsy when solor cover is fully rolled up
"all in all this is a good product."
Review 7 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reel,
Date:July 11, 2009
By scotty1
from Michigan
from Michigan
Pros: Light weight and very easy to use, even my grandchildren can do it themselves.
"Great unit, bearings make rolling and unrolling very simple. Very little effort is need to reel in the 38 ft cover"
Review 8 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Helpfull,
Date:December 15, 2008
By unhappyinohio
Pros: Easy to handle alone
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 9 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
went together well, works great!,
Date:December 14, 2008
By Kathleen
from St. Paul, MN
from St. Paul, MN
Pros: Light, moves easily.
Cons: had to drill holes, it would have been easier if they had been pre-drilled.
This customer did not provide a text review.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Low Profile Solar Reel
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as good As I thought,
Date:June 27, 2008
By DonA
from Oakley, CA
from Oakley, CA
Pros: looks good
Cons: Only one handle crank
"It states it can be operated by one person and yes it can, but not very well and it only has ONE crank handle. Most of the other solar reels have 2 cranks or one on each side. If ythe cover bunches or starts to go crooked on the far side, you have to stop, adjust then go back over to the side of the crank instead of being able to crank from that side."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.