In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above Ground Swimming Pools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools

Intex Ultra Frame Pools feature a new unique design making them stronger than traditional metal frame pools and even easier to assemble and enjoy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Review 1 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy or hard setup,
Date:April 2, 2012
By scaggdaddy
from peach creek, west virginia
from peach creek, west virginia
Pros: it is a great pool for the price, a very well made pool the delivery is fast!!!
Cons: you must have help,it is labor intensive,alot of work for the average joe
"To start I bought this from in the swim in August 2011, for just over 1200.00 including shipping for a 12'x24'x52" pool not a bad price, since it was already late summer we stored it in the garage till march 30th, 2012, I researched as much as I could about this pool online, reviews,utube,googled ect... I got as much info as needed to feel comfortable about setting this up in the yard, my yard was not level and you MUST HAVE A LEVEL SPOT.so I rented a tiller for 50.00 per day it took about 6 hours to level the yard,remove rocks ,grass, after we marked out the spot with spray paint,we did not use any sand on the yard,I did buy two extra pads the first comes in a roll for landscaping it's a black fabic used to keep weeds out of a flower bed, second I bought a pool pad called a gorilla pad to keep the bottom from punctures 79.00 last the tarp included with the pool,following the directions on the included dvd and the booklet be began,the poles on the long side of the pool were very hard to get in place keep getting stuck it took 4 of us two men & women,if your pole frame is going to be on dirt or grass put a concrete or wood pad under the frame to stay level if you don't the frame can sink from the weight of the water making it unlevel the 4 corner joints will have play so the pool side poles won't bend from the weight so don't worry when you see this,as you fill the pool the side poles will tilt inward this is normal as they will go into position when full the instructions for the pump & filter may seem overwelming at first but it will get simple to you as you go,the cheapest i found salt for the system was walmart,the sand at lowes,I promise the most important part of the whole process is a level pool this took us 2 days to get perfect, I hope this was helpful."
Review 2 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wondering About How To Prep For Winter,
Date:September 5, 2011
By lzuehl
Pros: Love the retangle, Just the right size. Kids love it!
Cons: Skimmer design is not great, and ladder is awfully scary.
"I'm holding off on my excellent review until spring, as we will leave it up in Northern Illinois all winter, in zone 5. I've read other folks do so too in cold climates, but I wondering if anyone prepped thier pool and how. I'm concerned about ice breaking thru the sides, and if anyone put something in their pool to stop this. My in-law suggested I put in a couple of logs. Not to fond of that idea. We got the saltwater chlorine pump, and had to order two, as the first one didn't work, and now they won't take it back. Do not order from Windy Citys Superstore. But the salt water is the way to go. Pool stays clear and clean with little effort and extra chemicals. And its a lot easier on the kids, no more burning eyes and damaged clothes from chlorine."
Review 3 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Pool and Good Quality !!,
Date:June 13, 2011
By georgiagirl2011
from Thomaston Georgia
from Thomaston Georgia
Pros: Easy to keep clean and Huge pool. Great investment.
Cons: Dont get carried away with to much salt in the pool
"I love the 12'x48' Rectangle intex pool we just purchased from "In The Swim". The customer service is just GREAT! All the problems I have incountered with the pool was my fault. First of all I put to much salt in the pool. I was under the impression that the pool had to have 359 pds. of salt in it. I read that info WRONG. Anyway after a little work I have got the salt down to 3300ppm. And just to let anyone know the salt water system has a computer on it and it will NOT RUN if there is to much salt in the water or to little in the water. The salt must be between 2800ppm to 3300ppm in the pool. If you have this problem and the salt is not correct the salt water pump will shut off. I had to run the sand filter pump alone for about a month because of this error. The only problem with that was it does not have a timer on it.(and the timer that is on the salt water system will not operate the sand water filter alone.So I had to manually turn on the pump everyday in order to filter the pool. Now the instruction (booklet) that comes with the salt water system does not give you this info you just have to figure it out yourself. But after mine would not run I did alittle web surfing and found out why. But once I got the salt correct I am good to go now. Also the skimmer is not the best in the world.I still fight with that thing every time I go to clean the pool. But the pool is so big and I am only about 5'2" so I have a rough time getting the hose filled up with water and getting the air out. But overall this is a GREAT investment. The pool looks great and the water circulates really well. I live in the south and we have 100 degree weather daily the pool stays really cool. I am lookinfg forward to the summer and enjoying the INTEX pool with my husband and grandchildren."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this pool!,
Date:June 5, 2011
By Ella2
from Middleton, NH
from Middleton, NH
Pros: Easy set up, salt water system works great, payment plan makes it affordable
"I am so glad we bought this pool. We live in NH and we left up all winter and it was fine! The water stays very nice and the size is great. We got the 9x18 rectangular. We do recommend this to anyone thinking of getting a pool. The payment plan offered by In the Swim was great too! The skimmer and vacuum do need to be emptied often but the package is definitely worth it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it,
Date:March 7, 2011
By jenjen
from Hallstead PA
from Hallstead PA
Pros: I put it up and filled it all in one day. My kids were jumping around holding on the sides and it with stood it great.
Cons: The skimmer could be better but does work vacuum could be better
"I love this pool. I bought a 9x18 rectangular pool and it takes 2 people to put up and take down. I put it up and filled it all in one day. I only had it one summer and it worked great. My kids were jumping around holding on the sides and it with stood it great. I would buy it again and I recommend it to all my friends. The skimmer could be better but does work vacuum could be better because it fills the bucket fast and you have to empty it a lot but still worth it. I love it I buy it again."
Review 6 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for,
Date:September 21, 2010
By Billys
from Santa Cruz, CA
from Santa Cruz, CA
Pros: it was cheap
Cons: quality control at factory was non existent
"I bought this for the value and convenience and the reviews were pretty good.
after we started filling it it became apparent that the glue job what pretty poor. Most of the seams did not line up and it looks like a bad sewing job.
The skimmer keeps coming off and eventually stopped working due to too much buoyancy it did not stay below the water level.
Intex customer service said, "tough luck, they are mass produced". We'll send you another one but it will likely be the same", and "no one ever complained about the seams not lining up"
If they were smart they would not use a pattern like tiles that they can not glue together."
Review 7 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Pool!,
Date:September 7, 2010
By Weezer
from Delray Beach, Florida
from Delray Beach, Florida
Pros: Clear water, great salt water pump/combo system, easy to set up, never have to add chemicals
Cons: Vacuum / strainer basket needs improvement
"I was skeptical about the size of this pool and how much time it was going to take away from my weekend to keep it clean but I went with my gut based on reviews and I must say that I'm super happy with this 16'x32' pool. Me and my friend assembled the pool in 90 minutes and another 15 for the pump. Watch the video a few times it's very helpful. Make sure you put the pad supports under each U shaped member. I used 15"x15"x 1-1/4"(d) marine grade plywood with water treatment applied to it. The U shaped supports will sink in to the ground due to the weight. Also "Don't get scared because both sides of your pool are sagging inwards after it's set, this is normal and it will staighten out when the pool water just about hits the white line when filled". I havent had to do ANYTHING to my water and it's the most clear refreshing water I've swam in. Clean your filter and run your pump the recommended hrs and you will have an easy road. Only downfall is getting the vacuum to work and this is usually the case with ones that hook up to the pump. I've got it down to about 5 minutes of turning pump on and off, wiggling hoses, disconnect and reconnect, releasing air from valves....but once I get it working it's a 30 minute job. Skimmer should come with skimmer socks because down here in florida a lot of ants and bugs get in you pool and they go right through the skimmer basket. Overall my family loves this pool and for the money you can't beat it. I would never go back to a chlorine pool, you don't ever have to add chemical to this pool and that alone is a huge savings. Hope this helps."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best bang for you buck,
Date:July 6, 2010
By Daddy
from N.C.
from N.C.
Pros: everything included
Cons: ladder could be better
"Bought the 18 x 52 ultra frame great pool. The saltwater system is great had it up 3 weeks now have not had to add anything else to keep it sparkling clear. Only complaint is the ladder is cheap but it will do till we get another."
Review 9 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing ever,
Date:March 21, 2010
By Lydia
Pros: easy to assemble
Cons: plastic connectors
"I have the 16x32 - easy to put up - 1 Saturday - I live in Michigan and do not take down for the winter - has been up for 3 winters and holding up as if it was just installed. Easy to maintain; did invest in a set of pool stairs - ladder on the cheap side."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Pool Great Purchase,
Date:July 18, 2009
By RayT
from Philadelphia, PA
from Philadelphia, PA
Pros: the size is awsome the materials are durable and easy to put together
Cons: no bad reivews
"I purchase my new home this past year and with the intensions to putting in an inground pool had many quotes I stumbled across your websit and started measuring and planning. After all was said and done I purhcased the pool and it work out better than puttin gin the inground pool. the durability and the easy maintenance is what I was looking for and I GOT IT ! the payment plan and the coordination of deliver was the best. Thankyou"
Review 11 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intex Ultra Round 18' - Great Buy,
Date:July 18, 2009
By Pappy711
from Pennsylvania
from Pennsylvania
Pros: Easy Set Up, Saltwater Chlorination, Pump Driven Vacum For Cleaning
Cons: None
"This Is By far The Best Intex Soft Sided Round Pool. We Have Owned 2 Other Ones In The Past. This Model Is Stronger And Easy To Maintain.
The Salt Water Chlorination System Works Awesome. No Chlorine Chemicals To Add. We Had The Pool Filled With Pond Water From The Local Fire Company And It Was Crystal Clear In About A Week And A Half. It Has Been Crystal Clear Ever Since.
Overall A Great Product At The Best Price I Could Find Anywhere."
Review 12 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE IT,
Date:July 11, 2009
By trahow
from Pennsylvania
from Pennsylvania
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: We have a hard time hooking up the vacuum hose to the filter to clean the pool
"We love this pool . It is 18x52 round and it is just the same as the expensive ones from the pool stores without all of the red tape hassel of building codes. In fact it is deeper than the one we were looking at from the professional pool installers. The only problem that we have is that it is hard to hook up the vacuum hose to the filter to clean the bottom of the pool. Sometimes, it takes a while to get the filter to work again once you have the vacuum hose hooked up."
Review 13 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the pool,
Date:July 11, 2009
By turtle55
from Jacksonville, NC
from Jacksonville, NC
Pros: roomy just the right depth easy to care for
Cons: tool more than 45 minutes to set up, but was worth it also wish we had ordered the bigger one
"This is the second INTEX pool we have had. When we got a bigger house we needed a bigger pool, so we ordered the 12x24 from in the swim. Service was wonderful and it arrived right on time with a very courtous driver. We have the pool up and have built a deck around it. What a marvelous addition to our back yard. Two grandsons were here for two weeks and were in it every day, had a ball. The salt water system makes pool care a breeze freeing lots of time for swimming. Thank you for a wonderful product."
Review 14 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are having fun!,
Date:July 11, 2009
By KDTAK
from Outside of Philly
from Outside of Philly
Pros: Easy to assemble and lots of room. Great price and payment plan. Free shipping.
Cons: Nothing that we thought of yet but stairs could be a little more sturdy.
"Best investment we made. We couldn't go on vacation this year so we decided to get a pool."
Review 15 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2009
By peaceocake
from tx
from tx
Pros: everything included, quality, easy instructions, salt system
Cons: takes time to level ground, ladder small and wobbly
"We love our pool, it is big enough to excercise in. 12x24. We spent a considerable amount of time leveling our area for the pool, we also placed used carpeting under the pool with a load of sand on top so as not to have any rocks etc poke through. There has still been some settling to the pool, and even though it is not perfectly straight, it is still sturdy. Setting it up is a 2 person job at least, just to get the top rails in place. A note to first timers: read the instructions for the salt system, you have to unlock the keypad before it will work. The salt dissolved easily and we used a 3 month algea treatment, so far very clean in 100 weather for weeks! The salt does not burn your eyes, you can see under water no problem! The vaccum is a two person job, as the small filter attachment fills up easily, but works fine. The ladder needs to be wider for the grandparents to get up and down without worry. The filter cartridge is easy to rinse, we just put it on a broom handle and it keeps the spray from getting you all wet. Everyone is very impressed! We plan to build a deck entry to the pool. The box mentioned it is 80% stronger than a above ground aluminum pool. Nice bonus. We had a much smaller intex pool at our other house, an it was fine. Be careful not to weedwhip your pool! If you do, you can use the patches under water and on the outside of the pool.
Enjoy!!!
"
Review 16 for Intex Ultra Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Ultimate Pool,
Date:April 25, 2008
By SouthernPoolGuy
Pros: Value for the size. Great Quality
Cons: None that are worth complaining about. Very minor
"I ordered the Intex pool on a recommendation from a friend and was very impressed. This pool is huge! Great value for the money! If you were to put a similiar sized pool in-ground it would cost a fortune. This pool enables the average family to have a huge pool. It took a few people to put together but it was easy and only took 2 hours. Filling with water can take awhile since the pool is so big. Great Pool. Highly recommended."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.