In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above Ground Swimming Pools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools

"Our New 24' Round Intex Metal Frame Pool features a 52"" Super Tough™ 3-ply liner, supported by heavy-duty, powder-coated galvanized frames."
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Review 1 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Online Purchase Ever,
Date:July 7, 2011
By arecord
from Texarkana, AR
from Texarkana, AR
Pros: Huge Pool, Comes with Salt Water System, and GREAT IN THE SWIM CUSTOMER SERVICE
Cons: None at the time!! We have had the same kind of pool before!
"I love the pool. Took us about a week to get the ground ready but putting the pool up itself was super easy. We have had intex pools before and love them!
I am writing this review mainly to tell everyone how much we have loved using INTHESWIM.COM! You can't beat the payment plan option. But the customer service is fantastic also!! If you have any doubts about ordering online I want you to know that we have had a fantastic experience using this company!!"
Review 2 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great for the summer fun,
Date:April 2, 2011
By kayleemykel
from Rochester, IN
from Rochester, IN
Pros: Got here quick, easy set-up, payment option, and HUGE!!!!
Cons: water bill high, had to get a bigger filter (sand), had to drain a lot.
"We bought the 24 ft. Great pool. Huge!!. Easy to set up, only took 2 people. Needed a bigger filter (sand). Needed a better cover and stairs were woobly. We live in lots of "winter" months, so every year we would have to drain a certain amount of water out. This last year we didn't drain enough, went through an ice storm, so the pool ripped half around the middle part due to too much ice. It is ruined, it can't be fixed..a waste of money. Remember to drain if you live up north!! Going with a metal pool next."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great pool for the money,
Date:February 22, 2011
By 12345
from Central Illinois
from Central Illinois
Pros: low cost, easy set up.......................................................................
Cons: soft sides, cartridge filter, flimsy cover..................................................
"I bought the 24' round pool two years ago on sale for $650. So far it's provided two summers of trouble free fun for our five kids. This is the first pool I've ever owned so I have nothing to compare it to but I must say that our five kids have gave this pool a workout and it's held up well.
Set up is pretty easy. Just follow the directions. Make sure the ground is level!!! My yard wasn't and this was a labor intensive step for me. Once I had the dirt level, I rented a compactor and compacted the soil to help minimize settling. I added about 3" of sand over the dirt and compacted that smooth as well. Once I had the pool assembled and ready to fill I placed 12" patio pavers under the legs so they wouldn't sink into the ground. I can't remember exactly how much water the 24' pool holds but I seem to think it's around 14,000 gals. I live in the country so filling the pool is not an easy task. Some fire departments will fill pools if you agree to let them use the water if they ever need it. Unfortunatley, my fire dept. doesn't so I paid about $300 for a trucking outfit to fill my pool. With that being said, I've never drained it since. The directions say to drain and stow the pool during the winter months. Mine's been full for two winters and I've not encountered any problems. I figure I'm just as likely to create a leak by taking pool down and putting it back up each year as I am taking my chances and just leaving it up. I'm also faced with a $300 fill up charge each spring so a few years of saving this expense would offset the cost of replacing the pool if it receives irrepairable winter damage. I understand I'm rolling the dice a little but I just wanted to say that I've left my pool full for two winters and I have yet to see a problem. I live in central Illinois and we see plenty of cold weather.
The cartridge filter that comes with it has worked fine on my pool but a sand filter would definitely be an improvement. I figure if the pool is still going strong when the cartridge filter pump wears out I'll upgrade to a sand filter. I keep a cartridge in the filter and another one on the shelf ready to go. I can hose the dirty filters out and re-use them for quite a while.
The steps that come with it are ok but there are much better pool steps out there. I used my steps for the first summer I owned the pool. Five kids climbing in and out is a pretty tall order for the steps. The kids would try to jump off the platform at the top and keeping them from doing that was impossible. Plus they would drag grass and dirt into pool. With the money I saved buying the pool on sale, I built a small deck next to mine and bought a step system that attaches to it. It's a much better way to get in and out of the pool.
You could probably save yourself some time and frustration by placing the cover that it comes with directly in the trash. I used it for the first winter and the wind took no time shredding it. I ended up buying a nicer cover off this website and it's lasted two seasons. I also bought a solar cover and I have to say it's been worth the money. Not only does it keep the water warmer by absorbing the suns heat but also by providing a layer of insulation against the cooler air at night. Another plus is that it helps to keep bugs and other debris out. If anything should happen to collect on top of the solar cover, a broom and dust pan are a lot easier than vacuuming. Also, the solar cover keeps the sunlight out of the pool so the chlorine lasts longer. I made a pole out of three 10' sections of 2" PVC pipe that I use for rolling up the solar cover but there are much better systems for getting a solar cover on and off the pool.
I figure I've got a little over $2000 invested in the pool, fill water, deck, steps, cover, and solar cover. The deck was entirely optional and I built mine myself for about $800. Without the deck my cost so far would be around $1200. The cheapest quote I got on a hard sided pool of the same size was $3500 plus installation costs. And that's without a deck. I figured on about $5000 total investment by the time I built a deck! I figure I'll buy another soft sided pool when this one wears out and STILL be money ahead! If you're wanting a pool in your backyard and you don't want to spend a bunch of money this pool is the way to go. A hard sided pool looks nicer and will probably last longer but it comes with a price tag as well. Mine has held up well to the rigors of five children and two midwestern winters. If you decide to go this route, I'd say buy a decent cover and I strongly recommend a solar cover.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love our pool!,
Date:April 6, 2010
By TLR1977
from Ohio
from Ohio
Pros: easy maintenance
Cons: installation takes a while
"We got our pool within a few days. It took 2 of us 2 days to get it all set up but it is well worth it! Maintenance is about nothing other than cleaning..it's a breeze with a robot!"
Review 5 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best "above ground" pool we've ever owned!,
Date:August 2, 2009
By JonnyD
from Tucson, AZ
from Tucson, AZ
Pros: easy set up, quality components and built to last
Cons: none!
"We have owned Intex pools before and knew their quality was outstanding, but this pool (the 24' round) is a "benchmark" that all other pools of this type should be judged against. It is easy to set up and came with everything needed to maintain it that way! We were so impressed with our new pool that when our nextdoor neighbors asked about the pool, we gave them the email for "In the Swim" and about a week later they were putting their new pool up! Buying from In the Swim and their fast shipping had us swimming in about a week. They also make sure and take great care to protectively wrap the products shipped to ensure their safe and "intact" arrival while keeping the items safe during shipment."
Review 6 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
exactly what we wanted,
Date:July 28, 2009
By whendrix
from Thomasville, GA
from Thomasville, GA
Pros: comes with salt system
Cons: the ladder
"We bought the pool in april and have really enjoyed it. I love the salt system...no more red eyes! and NO chemicals to buy! This pool is very durable. The only complaint I have is the ladder. It is very wobbly and unstable. But for the money and the size of the pool I can live with it until next season."
Review 7 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
quick fix to a pool,
Date:July 18, 2009
By bk220221
from bloomington in.
from bloomington in.
Pros: reasonably easy to install
Cons: filter just cannot keep up
"overall good value for the money and quick fix to a pool but ground must be perfectly level and the included filter just cannot keep the pool clean unless you change filter cartridge every 4 or 5 days..really needs a sand filter"
Review 8 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't be happier!,
Date:July 18, 2009
By StephanieR
from MIlwaukee, WI
from MIlwaukee, WI
Pros: So easy to set up and the equipment is amazing!!!
Cons: Had a leak that self repaired!
"We got this pool in hopes of it "maybe" lasting a season or two but I think this one will be with us or the long haul. It was easy to set up, all the equipment is encluded and easy to operate!!"
Review 9 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Great Buy,
Date:July 13, 2009
By determinedone
from Lindale, Texas
from Lindale, Texas
Pros: Salt water ready upon purchase
Cons: getting this size level the first time/takes more than two to set up
"The size of the pool is perfect for families. I have only had mine this summer and it took a lot of work to get the ground level. We used grass kill fabric under the tarp included. I live in East Texas so I plan to swim until the end of September! My only dislike is the type of ladder the pool comes with. It is very wobbly and you need some one to hold it when going up and down."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchase,
Date:April 4, 2009
By Libi
from Killeen, TX
from Killeen, TX
Pros: Great pool for the price
Cons: Filter system
"I have the pool for 5 seasons. I winterise every year. Never had any problems. I have to say I live in Texas, so here the winters are not so hard. I did purchase Pentair filter system. The little system will not clean the pool after winter. I love it, and when ever my pool give up, I will purchase it again."
Review 11 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Investment,
Date:March 21, 2009
By DMcRorey
from Texas
from Texas
Pros: Lots of fun
Cons: Grass
"We discovered last year that there is no warning on the instructions regarding grass. Protect your investment and purchase something to put under the pool that grass will not grow through. The grass grew through the bottom of our pool so we had to get a new liner this year. We just spent an additional $100 for heavy duty plastic to put under the liner. Hope this is the fix! Happy swimming everyone!"
Review 12 for Intex Metal Frame Swimming Pools
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy,
Date:April 21, 2008
By brandyerie
from Erie, Penn
from Erie, Penn
Pros: easy up and down--large and lots of fun
Cons: ground must be level !!
"We bought this pool 2 years ago and have had hours of fun and very little hassle with it.One thing that allows me to rate this pool higher is that we found it on sale for $650. It takes time, but considering size, set up and down does not take too long...about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. So far we have had no problems with the filtering system. Leveling ground took the longest as our lot is not and pool needs to be level within an inch to prevent stress on poles and liner, but once level we can set up each year on same spot. Cover that came with it was useless as it would sink down into the water and we could not remove it without spilling all the leaves and debre into the pool anyways--we opted to buy a solar cover. A must to take down each year and to store the liner in area the stays over 40 degrees F as I have seen these liners crack when in below freezing temperature.We have not set up yet this year but don't foresee any problems--I will edit after we do."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.