In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Steps & Ladders for Above Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Deluxe In-Pool Ladder

"Designed for safety & stability, the Deluxe In-Pool Step Ladder features flow-through, anti-entrapment side frames & tread risers with double extended hand rails for easy climbing."
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Review 1 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor Quality Control,
Date:June 22, 2012
By soyong
from Roanoke, VA
from Roanoke, VA
Pros: Product appearence is attractive and does provide a reasonable entry to the pool.
Cons: Requires fragile handling to avoid breaking weak parts
"Had to file rough edges off some parts. Some needed holes for bolts were only bored about half way. Poor engineering. Steps and risers are one piece and require considerable force to bend and hold in place to attach to stringers. Almost broke a stringer trying to attach step by tapping with rubber mallet. Caution: instructions call for at least 10 lbs of weight in each stringer to hold steps down. I used about 13 lbs in each and the steps "floated" in 48 inch depth. Suggest at least 15 - 20 lbs in each stringer. Adding weight after steps are in pool is impossible. You have to dismantle the steps to add the weight. The housing for the rails that attach to the deck are weak and three cracked when the screws were put in. Not happy with this product."
Review 2 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much nicer than a ladder!,
Date:June 20, 2012
By Jakey
from Pennsylvania
from Pennsylvania
Pros: Sturdy, lightweight, attractive, doesn't take much space in the pool
Cons: A little difficult to assemble, a little expensive
"As other reviewers have mentioned this unit is a little awkward to assemble but it's definitely not the labor-intensive nightmare that some reviewers make it out to be. Just get a second set of hands and you'll have no problem. Once it's together the unit is very sturdy and attractive and you get the sense that it's never coming apart...that's a good thing. Make sure to drill the water fill/drain holes and add some pea gravel to both side supports (there are holes at the top for this) or it won't settle properly in the pool. The instructions say to measure your pool depth and cut the handrails accordingly but I'd recommend letting the unit settle in your pool, position it where you want, then measure and cut. The resin material is easy to cut with a standard hand saw and you don't have to make a perfect cut because it's going to mount into the included deck brackets and you won't see the cut edge anyway. I found the instructions pretty easy to follow and there are lots of pictures.
We've had several pool parties already this summer and this thing has taken a pounding and looks as good as the day I installed it so I'm confident it will hold up for many seasons. Definitely recommend!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good ECONOMICAL choice,
Date:January 29, 2012
By poppy23
from Schwenksville, PA.
from Schwenksville, PA.
Pros: ease of assembly, aesthetically pleasing and does not take up much pool space.
Cons: slightly flimsy hand rails, deck brackets for hand rails broke after 1st big kiddie pool party
"I was pleased OVERALL with product but not very HAPPY with the ease that the deck flanges cracked with MINOR pool action. I would LIKE to see an Aluminum version offered as a solution, or at least a stabilizer to stiffen the handrail play."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellant Steps,
Date:July 1, 2011
By terrym3
from Florida
from Florida
Pros: Good design, sturdy handrails, sound attachment, & great value
Cons: Hard to add balast, somewhat hard to install, & took a few days to settle
"These steps are outstanding! It was hard to install because I had to cut the deck mount rails to fit my deck. A small inconveince. Once they were installed they wanted to float a little but after a few days it settled in. I would recomend adding more than 10 lbs. I used play sand which is too fine some sand came out of the water intake holes. The openings for the balast are small and curved which makes it hard to add balast. Dispite these problems I would recommend these steps they are a good value."
Review 5 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good but....,
Date:June 18, 2011
By regularjane32
from Minneapolis, MN
from Minneapolis, MN
Pros: Sturdy, good quality for the money, compact, supportive
Cons: Putting it together, time required, materials required (not included in directions)
"While the ladder itself is of good quality, the actual assembly of it is time consuming and labor intensive. Do not rely on the directions to make sense as, well, they don't! It took two people more than two hours to put this together!! Again, if you have time, energy and determination, it is a great ladder. It is sturdy and secure, but oh my gosh, be prepared for a serious process to get it together."
Review 6 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sturdy Ladder,
Date:June 6, 2010
By mom2two
from Virginia
from Virginia
Pros: Very strong and no shaking
Cons: Very, Very, Very Hard to put together
"This ladder is wonderful once it is put together. It is very strong and mounts great to our deck to provide a stable entrance/exit from the pool. But beware... it is very very hard to put together. The rise and run on this ladder is one piece and must be folded to snap into the side supports. Since the plastic is so strong, it is VERY difficult to snap into place. Make sure you have another person to help... took me 3 hours alone and I have assembled everything from kitchen cabinets to outdoor playsets and houses. If you can get it together it is an excellent ladder."
Review 7 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality ladder,
Date:July 22, 2009
By Corky
Pros: Like the fact that the steps go up gradually.
Cons: Didn't fill with water like it should have
"We were having a hard time finding a ladder that fit our new pool. There are a lot to fit 4 ft. ladders, but not many for the higher pool 4.5 ft plus the deck.
We have a son who is handicapped so the steps are much easier for him to get in and out of the pool. We did have to drill an extra hole on the upper part so the ladder would fill with water. We are happy with the quality for the price."
Review 8 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great purchase,
Date:July 14, 2009
By buggels
from Michigan
from Michigan
Pros: easy for small kids/older people/disabled people
Cons: rails at top wiggel a little bit
"I bought this ladder for my disabled son to have easier acces in and out of the pool. It has handels on both sides almost all the way down the ladder and the extra tall rails at the top are an added bonus. Everyone thinks this ladder is way eaiser to use. The hand rails at the top wiggel a little bit but still a great ladder. Would diffenately recomend this to all."
Review 9 for Deluxe In-Pool Ladder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its a great ladder,
Date:July 11, 2009
By bilcat
from muncie IN
from muncie IN
Pros: easy to put together
"shipping was fast and the instructions were easy to understand, only a few tools needed to assemble the stairs. easy to install in our pool , being all plastic should last longer than the old aluminum ones we had the chlorine ate them up after a couple of years"