In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above Ground Pool Closing Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Winter Cover Seal

"Winter Cover Seal helps eliminate wind-whip, which can loosen your winter cover and lead to irreversible cover damage."
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
14 of 22(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Winter Cover Seal
Review 1 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Less than we hoped for!,
Date:October 7, 2013
By CountrySwimmers
from Ohio
from Ohio
Pros: Looked good, easy to install, inexpensive, light weight
Cons: Thin material blows off, tears easy, only sticks to self not all materials, should be wider
"Our yard gets lots of wind and one side blew off the first night it was on. We were so hoping this would be the solution to our windy, cover destroying area. We used the entire roll on a 24' pool, it seemed to seal nicely. It would probably be better if it wasn't as thin."
Review 2 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2012
By 123jasper
from troy, kansas
from troy, kansas
"I am here to buy it again!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!! Saved our cover from tons of wind storms. I had NO problems with this product or installation"
Review 3 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase,
Date:October 9, 2011
By rdh93
from Illinois
from Illinois
"gotta agree with other reviews, IF properly installed it works good!, do wrap tightly and we put a several layers about 12 inches tall when finished, oh I also placed a few clips on before wrapping. Maybe that was the problem with other people using it. Probably wouldn't try wrap by itself.Between clips and wrap we had no flapping of our pool cover."
Review 4 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money,
Date:September 25, 2011
By LisaJ
from Rural IL
from Rural IL
Pros: product is a good idea in theory, no other pros I can think of
Cons: plastic is very cheap and tears easily, lasted only 2 weeks, too thin
"We live in the country and have a tremendous amount of wind, so I thought this looked like a good idea. In theory, it's a great idea. But it doesn't work. The plastic is so thin and cheap that it ripped several times just wrapping the pool. The first wind we had the plastic rolled up and was flapping in the breeze. Tyring to pull it back down into place only resulted in more tearing. We took it off after a couple weeks. It was a complete waste of money! We will talk to a friend who uses plastic shrink wrap on palettes for shipping instead. That plastic will be much thicker and better quality."
Review 5 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!!!,
Date:September 2, 2011
By Goatgirl
from Keyser, WV
from Keyser, WV
"We have used it for the last 3 years and will order a roll this fall also. It works great keeping the air from getting under the winter cover. It requires being stretched really tight when applying to the pool. We have an 18' pool and we use the whole roll. When we wrap our pool, we wrap it in three different levels so it is about 30 inches high all around the pool. It pays to check it a few times during the winter to make sure it hasn't worked itself up during heavy winds. Last year during a windy time in April, ours worked itself off and ended up in the neighbor's yard. If it's installed correctly, it is a GREAT PRODUCT!!"
Review 6 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item,
Date:August 28, 2011
By fairchild
from Northwest Florida
from Northwest Florida
Pros: I love this item, works great on eliminating wind from getting under your cover
Cons: This item can be applied with one person it's just easier with two
"This was the second year I have purchased the pool wrap and will purchase it again this year. We have a lot of wind and this wrap works great! We did have one area that lifted this year and allowed some wind, but not like we normally have without it."
Review 7 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase ever,
Date:November 28, 2010
By Pricey
from Northeast PA
from Northeast PA
"We used this product like explained in the directions, on a beautiful sunny day. It wrapped around our pool 7 times and sealed great (for a week). On the first windy day, it blew off in one large piece. We now have a bundle of plastic wrap. What junk !!! The purpose was to seal the edge of the pool, and save our winter cover. Guess not !!!!"
Review 8 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kept my pool tight as a drum,
Date:September 5, 2010
By AliAli
from Kentucky
from Kentucky
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Little hard to get started.
"If your putting this on by yourself then its a little hard getting it started until your able to start your second time around. But over all its a good product, I used it in 2008, and I'm going to use it again this year. I started at the bottom of my cover and went around the cover and then drop down one and then brought it back up to cover the top again and never had any problem. In fact it was on there so well, it was a little difficult to remove."
Review 9 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST purchase ever,
Date:October 1, 2009
By TABINTN
from TN
from TN
Pros: Eliminates all wind from your cover
Cons: Hard to use for pools with decks
"If you have a pool with no deck this is the best thing ever. I'm using it this year even with a deck around 1/2 the pool. Im simply wrapping the seal under the deck and back up around the pool exposed to the elements.
This is the best money you will spend."
Review 10 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pool wrap,
Date:September 29, 2009
By escape28412
from North Carolina
from North Carolina
Pros: Great product
Cons: None except I got tired of going around the pool
"We used this product for the first time last winter. Previous years we had nothing but trouble with the winter cover lifting and pulling up stakes. After using the wrap, we never touched it again. When we removed the cover in the spring, the water was crystal clear. The wrap had kept everything tight all winter. The application equires many wraps and that was the only part that was tiring--get help if you can for the mulitple trips around your pool."
Review 11 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product!,
Date:September 17, 2009
By beachbummingit
from Vale, NC
from Vale, NC
Pros: Held tight for most of winter months
Cons: Just like any plastic wrap, eventually it will lose it's bond
"My above ground pool is out in the open, with high winds up to 40 - 50 mph at times, and I constantly had rips in my covers and ripped out grommets from the high winds, before using this product. Winter 2008, was the first time using, and held up for most of the time. After about 6 months in the high wind and harsh winter weather, began moving and came up on the windiest side of the pool. But when taking off cover this summer, did not have any rips or ripped out grommets in the cover like ALL other seasons.
This product saved me a lot of $$$ in not having to replace a wind damaged cover, and for the price, you can't beat it. Getting ready to purchase again for this winter 'windy' season!!! Highly recommend if your pool is in a windy area to save your cover from wind damage!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not hold,
Date:March 8, 2009
By Alison
from Western New York
from Western New York
"We are in a colder climate and about a month after putting this on we had a wind storm and it was very cold out, and this just came right off. It was like once it got cold it didn't really hold tight anymore. I would not buy this again it was the biggest waste of money."
Review 13 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
Date:December 2, 2008
By cjbiss
from michigan
from michigan
Pros: seems to be working well.
"we have had started our winter and the its been windy so far , its holding."
Review 14 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great idea,
Date:November 27, 2008
By johnpoolguy
"We live in the country and we always end up with cover in pool every year. So far this has worked great. It is very windy here and it is holding great"
Review 15 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WRAP,
Date:November 27, 2008
By nan3995
from Mancelona,MI
from Mancelona,MI
Pros: ALOT ON THE ROLE
Cons: OUTSIDE POOL RAILS.
"KEEPS OUT ALOT OF THE WIND BUT NOT ALL BECAUSE THE OUTSIDE RAILS HOLD IT OUT SOME WHERE THE WIND CAN STILL GET UNDER IT SOME. IT WAS EASY TO PUT ON AND PLENTY ON THE ROLE."
Review 16 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KINDA WORKS,
Date:November 26, 2008
By DCREEL
from hopewell va
from hopewell va
Pros: KEEPS THE EDGES FROM BLOWING UP
Cons: DOESNT KEEP THE MIDDLE FROM BLOWING UP
"THIS WILL KEEP THE EDGES FROM BLOWING AROUND AND RIPPING, BUT IF THE WIND IS STRONG THE AIR STILL GETS UNDER IT AND MAKES THE PARACHUTE EFFECT UNDER THE COVER.."
Review 17 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great idea but product needs improvement,
Date:November 16, 2008
By Hopeful
from Pittsville, Wi
from Pittsville, Wi
Pros: It's a great Idea and I was so hopeful.Keeping that cover on all season is next to impossible
Cons: It would not kling to it self at all and soon was lying in the pool.
"I was so excited to find this product. I was so hopeful that this would work and really keep the wind from ballooning the tarp, and eliminate those tacky jugs hanging around the pool to weigh everything down.We went around the pool at least 5 times and we also duct taped it and each upright.After a week we had to replace it again and it's off again and now the jugs are hanging as usual. I really really hope next years product is much improved. I'm game to try it again because I know they are on the right track! Please,Please make it work!!"
Review 18 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Has This Product Been "Improved"?,
Date:November 11, 2008
By Bubba
from New Jersey shore
from New Jersey shore
Pros: Keeps wind from lifting the cover edges; looks neat
Cons: Does not form itself to contours like last year's model
"Basically, this product is an extra long, extra wide and extra tough roll of the plastic cling used to wrap food. Last year, the product was clear in color and did a really great job of sealing the edges of the cover on our A/G pool. The seal lasted (and looked good) until the pool was opened this past spring. It worked so well and looked so great we pledged to use it every year. This year, the product was a transparent blue. Why the change in color? I have no idea. But, it quickly became obvious, while applying the product, that it wasn't forming itself to the contours of the pool and cover edges. Now, after a few weeks of exposure to weather, the product has shifted in several places and is failing to hold the edges. It needs replacing. It seemed that this product had undergone the same process as so many other good products . . . "If it works, fix it . . . make it better." In hopes of obtaining the same results as last year, we have decided to remove the failing material and try just one more application. Even though we adhered to the instructions in applying this year's product--and had great results after applying it last year--we will be supercritical of how the product is applied during this next attempt. We will see. At this point, we cannot recommend this product to a friend or anyone else."
Review 19 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cleaner spring opening,
Date:October 7, 2008
By trauber
from Independence MO
from Independence MO
Pros: Kept the pool from leaves and debris over the winter.
"upon opening in the spring - no leaves or dirt."
Review 20 for Winter Cover Seal
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Idea,
Date:August 29, 2008
By mazee1945
from southern Illinois
from southern Illinois
Pros: Works GREAT!
Cons: ZERO
"This is the first year I used this. We live just out of town,farms all around,very windy!! If you check my orders with in the swim,you will find that we bought (3) covers last year,YES! (3) That's how windy it get's here. When we saw that wrap for above ground covers in your catolog,I told the wife,YES this will work for sure. We have a 24' pool,and the wrap goes arond the pool 5 1/2 times. Thank's in the swim for a GREAT idea."