In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Solar Pool Covers & Reels for In-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Solar Sun Rings

"In the Swim offers innovative solar sun rings for excellent value. Solar pool sun rings will provide your pool with 21,000 BTUs of heat per solar ring per day with no heating costs involved."
Average Customer Rating:
2.792 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
23 of 48(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Sun Rings
Review 1 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great New Product,
Date:July 10, 2007
By warmwaters
Pros: Light weight for handling
Cons: Can be expensive if you need a lot
"THis is a fantastic new product. Easy for one person to handle, not like solar blankets that are very heavy and need 2 people.. Great for keeping the water warm when not using the pool, thus saves money on the heating bill. We originally ordered 15 rings thinking we would have one extra. We needed to order 5 more, thus 80% of the pool is now covered. Easy storage when not in use. Place on a plastic tarp and cover them.
.
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BUY MORE than they advise,
Date:June 2, 2013
By BananaBlossom
from Southern Wisconsin
from Southern Wisconsin
"My only comment at this point is that the # of rings needed to cover your pool size is considerably less than is actually required to cover 80% of the pool. We have a 16x32 and bought the 10 needed but they didn't even cover the perimeter of the pool, much less any of the center. We decided to order 8 more but I'm very disappointed to have to spend so much more than we anticipated."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Rings Around,
Date:February 26, 2013
By Rhino2
from Tucson, AZ
from Tucson, AZ
Pros: Easy to work with, Sturdy and heavy duty plastic, wind resistant.
Cons: A little hard to clean, but no oter problems. Don't know what else to say.
"I feel these are the best rings yet that I've gotten from you. They are a much heavier grade plastic, and much easier to work with. The old ones I had troubles with the wind picking them up and blowing them around. Not with these. Partly I believe due to the heavier construction and partly due to the larger outer ring. They work great."
Review 4 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Failed,
Date:November 13, 2012
By Damain
from Hawaii
from Hawaii
"While I had previously read the reviews and was fully aware that the ratings were mixed, I now have to join the ranks of those that were disappointed. I purchased nearly $500 worth of those rings, and simply put, they do not heat up the pool. There may be factors related specifically to my pool - that the shade creeps over my pool early - the concept seemed sound enough to be effective. They aren't. They're now just rubber rings that are in the way."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stay away from solar rings,
Date:July 11, 2012
By Captain
Pros: when in flated does help heat the pool what more do you want
Cons: The outer rings do not stay inflated/ it keeps asking me for longer Cons text and I do not know what more to say
"Purchase 10 of the rings 4 of..the outer rings would not stay inflated. I contacted the solar ring company directly and just got the run around. Finally sending the 4 leaking ones back for a refund. Seems 6 did stay inflated. ALSO to get my refund the return shipping cost is up to me to pay. Idea is good but the quality control from solar rings is poor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Go for the Blanket,
Date:August 5, 2011
By AlGarcia
from NY
from NY
Pros: The solar rings have nice designs on them and look nice in a pool
Cons: The solar rings are not durable, they puncture easily and are not easy to repair.
"I tried the rings and found that they are very fragile and puncture easily. The air chambers are all interconected, when one chamber is punctured, the others fail."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not that good,
Date:July 3, 2011
By tightwad
from Mid Missouri
from Mid Missouri
Pros: Look pretty, easy to remove for 1 person, store for winter a plus
Cons: over priced, takes more than recommended, inflation problem
"Had used solar cover. Have now used these 1 year. Difficult to inflate to correct amount of pressure. Curl up if over inflated. Recommend number no way near correct. Way over priced. Easier to purchase regular solar cover and cut up into 5 foot circles and a whole lot cheaper. Does just as good of a job. These rings look pretty and that is about it. Definite advantage is one person can install and remove. They are a whole lot easier to take off and stack when not in use than a solar cover."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better than blanket,
Date:September 14, 2010
By Juanthepoolboy
from Bucks Co Pennsylvania
from Bucks Co Pennsylvania
Pros: looks better than blanket , wife likes them better
Cons: In moderate wind they blow around and double over.
"This is my third season with the solar rings and i like them more than the blanket. They last longer. Wife like that you can see the beautiful pool. I've only replaced one in three years. Sometimes a bird will peck a hole in the outer tube and its easy to repair like a bike tire. Very easy to store in winter in my shed. You do have to cover most of the pool to get heat gain. Very easy to remove expecially with two people, one feeding the other the rings."
Review 9 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Solar Sun Rings,
Date:June 1, 2010
By lexus93
from Columbia SC
from Columbia SC
Pros: easy to remove
Cons: may not work
"After two weeks the best I can say is, it the air temperature goes up the water temp follows. If it goes down the water temp follows. I find no gain in these devices"
Review 10 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother with these rings !,
Date:April 20, 2010
By SGreene
from Indiana
from Indiana
Pros: None
Cons: Way too costly for results
"These look good in the picture, but are a pain to maintain on the water and off, and not that efficient. I purchased 15, thinking my grandkids could easily install and remove them. We could not tell any difference in the pool temperature. Spend less money on a regular style cover and take a vacation with your savings."
Review 11 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't Waste your Cash,
Date:March 6, 2010
By KathyH
Pros: Simple to use
Cons: Doesn't work!
"I bought six rings and covered 85% of my small pool (12x26 5ft deep). My pool was so cold I hardly used it last year. I am going back to what worked, a solar cover."
Review 12 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wouldn't waste my money again,
Date:January 8, 2010
By Lorie
from Manhattan Beach, CA
from Manhattan Beach, CA
Pros: East to take off and put on....
Cons: Doesn't heat up the pool as much as advertised
"Purchased these a few years ago and wasn't happy with the way they heated the pool. Going back to conventional cover this year."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
worth the money,
Date:August 4, 2009
By matilda
from lincoln nebraska
from lincoln nebraska
Pros: it's easier to remove out of pool
"we had a solar blanket for 4 years, we went to these this year, love them. they heated the pool alot faster than the blanket."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sufficient for the Job,
Date:July 18, 2009
By bondie96
from Warsaw, In.
from Warsaw, In.
Pros: easy to take in & out of pool ( 33x33 ) , dual purpose offers both heating & cooling
Cons: does not covering full surface area & can easily be blown over each other ( not out ) & much more costly
"Purchased 25 of these solor sun rings ( was not cheap ) but, I have a huge 33x33 round above ground pool . The solar cover on a pool this size was extremely heavy to take in & out . The solar rings appealed to us because of the ease to take in & out & the weight involved . These do not cover the entire pool though .
reccomendations : get away from the round shape & change the inflation system ( has to be blown up ) overall I would say that this are Sufficient for the job . A lot easier to handle but, these ran me $300.00 more then a solar cover would have for a pool my size . I am happier with this then a regular solar cover & I find it better user friendly.
"
Review 15 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good, but not for long,
Date:July 18, 2009
By ddot
from Ohio
from Ohio
Pros: Easy to put in and remove, rather than a full cover
Cons: They never lay flat and stay inflated.
"These are great to have, especially if you want the kids to deal with the cover instead of yourself. The price is too high though for how long they last. One by one, they begin to fail within 1-2 years. So, you always need a few on hand to replace them as they fail. They also never lay nice and flat like in the picture, especially after the first year. And finally, they do not heat the pool any better than a full cover. They do allow it to heat some, and they do keep evaporation down at night, but no better than a full cover."
Review 16 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not sure they're worth the price paid,
Date:July 11, 2009
By nan64
Pros: Easy to put on and take off
Cons: Too easily affected by wind, trouble getting them to lie flat
"The wind blows them all to one side of the pool. Even with a minimal amount of air in the outside ring, we still can't get them to lie flat."
Review 17 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Just Okay,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Dewman1017
from Northwest Ohio
from Northwest Ohio
Pros: They are more attractive than a solar blanket
Cons: For the price, they are just okay
"A little cumbersome to put on and take off. Blow around alot with the wind. Blankets keep more heat in at night. Not worth the price."
Review 18 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money!,
Date:June 17, 2009
By nittfan
from Bloomsburg, PA
from Bloomsburg, PA
Pros: Easy to use/remove; does seem to generate heat
Cons: Are not durable; false claim of BTU gains!
"I purchased 16 of these used from a co-worker after he had used them for one season. They are now in the beginning of their 3rd year of use. They are easy to use and do definitely raise the water temperature a modest degree; problem is they are VERY expensive and are not holding up well. The outer ring on most of them is curling and the plugs do not stay closed. If you are o.k. with spending a fortune and only getting 2-3 years usage then maybe they will work for you. My advice is to buy a very heavy mil solar cover and cut it into pieces; it would accomplish pretty much the same thing. The solar rings make an outrageous claim of BTU gains per ring that is just not substantiated. The rings appear to be made of one sheet of 12 mil or so solar blanket sandwiched to a clear, bubbled plastic that you put a few puffs of air into to help them float. My guess is that they actually cause little more solar/thermal gain than a high mil solar cover and for far less expense. And, all solar cover material floats!"
Review 19 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not as good as I expected,
Date:June 2, 2009
By joanpogo
from New York
from New York
Pros: heats pool minimally
Cons: time consuming to remove, costly, can't return
"I bought several of these 2 years ago. Some are no longer usable. It does heat my pool somewhat and I still use them, but for the price it really didn't work as well as I expected. I rarely have problems with them blowing away, but it is a pain to remove them and put them back in and keep them inflated."
Review 20 for Solar Sun Rings
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Job & Easy Use,
Date:February 24, 2009
By BeachBoy
from Central Florida
from Central Florida
Pros: Easy On - Easy Off - Raise Temp over 5 degrees
Cons: A little toouchy to inflate properly
"I used these at the beginning & end of 2008 swim season. Raised pool temp enough to extend season 2 weeks or better at each end.
I have had no trouble with them blowing off.
Found easy to move a couple of them for using part of the pool then a big solar cover.
When done, I deflate and fold and put in plastic storage box in the garage.
I am very happy.
Hope they are as good in 2009.
"