In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Automatic Pool Cleaners for In-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner

This efficient cleaning technology allows for quick clean-ups between standard cycles or three to six hours while cleaning your pool bottom from end to end.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very pleased,
Date:June 7, 2011
By Anonymous
from New Jersey
from New Jersey
Pros: Cleans very well, easy to clean cartridge filter, do not have to run main filter as much saving money. i watch it work
Cons: None yet, price is up there, but has a 3 yr warr, and i was able to split the payments
"I am pleased so far, it cleans very well. The cartridge filter is easy to clean. I borrowed my friends Dolphin prior to buying my own. The bag in the dolphin was much harder to clean then The Dirt Devil. The unit does not come with a cart, but I was able to get one on line for the Dolphin and it fits just fine. I recommend this unit to anyone who does not thave time to clean the pool, I really enjoy watching the machine do all the work."
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it,
Date:June 1, 2011
By courtneey
from Michigan
from Michigan
Pros: Ease of using machine, just toss it in and forget about it.
Cons: It is very heavy to lift in and out of water, gets stuck on bottom drain and filters are expensive to replace
"I love this machine! It keeps the pool sparkling. The only thing I do not like is that it is indeed very heavy to lift in and out of the water. It does tend to get stuck on the bottom drain a lot. The filters do not wear well and are expensive $99, to replace. Otherwise, I love this thing, it has made my life a lot easier. i would not spend the extra to get the remote though as I did because it does not really work well. It is difficult to get it to navigate to the area you want, so save yourself the extra $300 or hatever it was."
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb product,
Date:July 25, 2009
By roxy
from Southern Maine
from Southern Maine
Pros: keeps the pool spotless and water crystal clear
Cons: gets stuck on ladder--minor concern
"After reviewing all units available, I selected the Dirt Devil. All of the customer reviews appeared to be correct. I love the unit and would recommend to others. The developers in Florida are friendly and knowledgeable and will assist with explaining proper methods of using the devil for best results. Their number is in the owners manual. Superb !"
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most expensive lesson ever incl. two divorces,
Date:June 16, 2009
By VVICE
from Butler, Alabama
from Butler, Alabama
Pros: fairly well built & durable
Cons: By design, CANNOT perform as advertised (& doesn't)
"This product is advertised to clean any size pool within 3 or 4 hours. It won't ever CLEAN any pool in 3 or 4 years if it never contacts the dirty areas - the BOTTOM! During every cycle, it spends the majority of the time half in & half out of the water. On the rare occasions that it is on the bottom, it cleans what it touches pretty well, but seems to stay in one end or the other. For the price, it is relatively the most expesive lesson I have ever bought. A POLARIS @ 1/3 the price will outperform this thing by at least 20X!!"
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
somewhat misleading,
Date:June 9, 2009
By falconsfan007
from derby,ks
from derby,ks
Pros: easy clean up
Cons: coverage of the machine
"I have only use this machine a few times and I find that it doesnt cover the entire bottom, climb walls that well, and gets stuck on the drain frequently. Some of these issues may be common to these types of machines however, I had hoped that it would do a much better job than it has at this point. A good piece of advise make sure that your pool is for the most part clean and clear before using the cartridge filters, they plug up rather easily and cost $60 to replace the set from the manufacturer. will post again after a few more uses to update performance if site will allow"
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cleans With a Mind of Its Own,
Date:May 4, 2009
By Cooper
from Florida
from Florida
Pros: Filter Cartridge
Cons: Cleaning Effectiveness
"Setup and use is easy. Unfortunately, the cleaner does not cover all areas of my rectangular pool (it likes to go back and forth in the mid-section mostly). Only rarely does the cleaner move to the shallow or deep ends. So I've had to brush both ends of the pool for a complete cleaning. Tech support at AquaVac Systems (which makes the Rampage) blames this on backpressure due to very small particles in the filter. Have also had to install a washer to restrict the outlet on top of the unit per AquaVac. Don't expect complete cleaning with this unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It made my Summer more relaxing,
Date:August 25, 2008
By AverageJoe
from St. Louis, MO
from St. Louis, MO
Pros: Performed exactly as described with a 3yr warranty too
Cons: occationally got hung up on drain just as they warned it could.
"My kids immediately nicknamed it wally. They were so excited when they first saw it climp the pool walls. I purhased this at the beginning of the swimming season this year and purposefully waited to closing to leave a review. I wanted to make sure of my purchase and my recommendations. Prior to this purchase I cleaned my pool the old fashion way which always wore me out and I just could not keep the pool as clean as I liked. I decided that this year I was going to either hire someone or buy a robotic cleaner. I check both options and it only made since to try the robotic cleaner from a price point. It was the warranty that got me to make this purchase in the beginning but it was the excellent performance that has made me proud to say it was more than worth it."
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tremendous time saver,
Date:May 26, 2008
By jiffyjet
from California, Maryland
from California, Maryland
Pros: Well designed, Well built, filter is a snap to clean, does an excellent job cleaning.
Cons: A little cumbersome to remove from the pool, especially for us older folks.
"When I first tried this gadget I was skeptical. I was looking for any flaw. At first it didn't seem to live up to the advertising. First cleaning left something to be desired, but with each subsequent cleaning, it seemed to get better and better. The on board logic had to figure out my pool. Now, I drop it in and away it goes,seeking every nook and cranny. It saves me hours upon hours. No more brushing twice a day. I have a DE filter and it stays clean. The robot seems to be able to find anything that doesn't belong there. The robots filter is easy to clean after each session and I find less and less dirt in it with each cleaning. At first, I was sorry that I did not buy the model with the remote control, but now I have changed my mind. My pool is larger than most domestic pools, (55,000 gals) and the robot keeps it pristine. I have been maintaining this pool for 30 years and have put in many hours of hard work to keep it looking like new. I only wish I could have had this gadget years ago. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
The only part of this review that is missing is how well the robot holds up. Mine is new and I try to take good care of it. Don't leave it out in the sun because it is made of plastic and the ultra violet rays will eventually desroy it. Time will tell on how well it holds up. So far, I am very satisfied.
"
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
Date:September 5, 2007
By Snead
Pros: It is extremely easy to use...
Cons: None so far
"It is very easy to use....it got spots on the bottom of the pool that I was unable to get with my hand held vacuum. It is an amazing machine. While I just got it and have only used it once thus I have no history of its repair or parts needs, etc. It was fun to watch and it was very easy to clean after use.
I do at this point recommend it highly.
"
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Rampage Robotic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2007
By jeeps4fun
"Our pool had been a real mess, due to all the rain etc, but this cleaner does a great job!! Just drop it in and it goes right to work cleaning . We have had no problems at all and are very happy with this cleaner. Wish I had purchased it years ago!!"