In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Solar Pool Covers & Reels for In-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Rockys Reel Systems

"Precision-crafted from sturdy die-cast aluminum, Rocky's Reel Systems come in two sizes, both with long-lasting baked enamel finishes."
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rockys Reel Systems
Review 1 for Rockys Reel Systems
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hopefully the last reel we need to buy,
Date:August 2, 2009
By momsdream
Pros: For a larger pool it really makes it easy to cover and uncover
Cons: it could be a little higher
"we have a 24x48 pool, this reel is perfect. 1 person can manage, but 2 people makes covering and uncovering a breeze. We have had this reel for 2 years now, it has shown no wear. We do put it away in the harsh Pa. winters. Rolls very smoothly, we uncover pool toward steps, then push back out of the way."
Review 2 for Rockys Reel Systems
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase for solar cover reel,
Date:July 20, 2009
By ThePoolGirl
from Saginaw, MI
from Saginaw, MI
Pros: Easy to roll cover on/off, looks nice, locks in place, VERY sturdy!
Cons: wish it had a handle on both sides.
"I purchased this for a friend of mine who is in his late 80's, he is able to pull cover on/off with his neighbor (who is in her late 70's). works great - will probably buy one for myself when i have the extra money!"
Review 3 for Rockys Reel Systems
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
heavy and needed redesign,
Date:July 18, 2009
By fitnessflower
from MI
from MI
Cons: high priced, heavy, needed rework
"We could not use the anchors and therefore had to rerigg it with feet so it wouldn't slide on the cement, without the wheels to move it around it is heavy and awkward. Our original reel was much cheaper and lighter and worked well for years. For the price, it isn't any better than the plastic one."
Review 4 for Rockys Reel Systems
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use,
Date:July 11, 2009
By jay9890
from Independence, NJ
from Independence, NJ
Pros: Overall quality, ease of use
Cons: Need to install in patio
"I just bought this reel this year. At first I tried to use it without drilling into my patio to anchor it, but that didn't work. Once I anchored to the patio it worked like a charm. So easy to roll-up the solar blanket now - even my seven year old daughter does it. We are very happy with this reel!"
Review 5 for Rockys Reel Systems
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful purchase,
Date:November 27, 2008
By babs
from Cincinnati, OH
from Cincinnati, OH
Pros: easy to roll
Cons: tricky to unroll
"This reel system is the best. It is easy for one person to use, especially to roll up the solar cover onto the reel because of the locking mechanism. It does not sag and the wheels make it very easy to roll out of the way. The only tricky part is to unroll the cover by yourself. It requires a little practice."
Review 6 for Rockys Reel Systems
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great product,
Date:August 8, 2008
By swimmerette
from Michigan
from Michigan
Pros: reels in nicely--even odd shaped pool covers
Cons: Difficult to install
"We really like the reel, but it took us over 8 hours on 3 different days to set it up--and we are not complete idiots. (We had all the tools including cement drill bits.) The self-tapping screws are not self tapping. Now that the reel is in operation we swim more frequently."
Review 7 for Rockys Reel Systems
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just about a complete winner,
Date:August 9, 2007
By Louie
Pros: Strong and much more durable than past covers.
Cons: only one side of cover has a seamed edge.
"Works well and provides good heat retention. in order to un- roll from take up reel, you must grab both sides and pull off reel. One side has a seamed edge and the other does not, which could lead to popping and damage to side of cover. Our pool is 16 x 32 and maybe this lack of edge is for this size only."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rockys Reel Systems
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rocky's 3A reel,
Date:May 26, 2007
By antiviking
Pros: durable, easy to install, doesn't sag
"I purchased a cheap plastic reel 3 years ago and my neighbor purchased a Rocky's - I was penny wise and dollar foolish. I recently purchased a Rocky's from In The Swim and I'm very happy with it. It even holds up well outside in our harsh Wisconsin winters."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.