In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Water Test Kits & Testing Supplies or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader

"Take the guesswork out of pool and spa testing with the new, easy to use TruTest™ Digital Test Strip Reader by AquaChek."
Average Customer Rating:
3.55 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Review 1 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AquaChek Digital Test Kit,
Date:November 27, 2012
By Airgunner
from Hollis, Maine
from Hollis, Maine
Pros: Fast an easy to use,durable, and multi-fuctional. Must make this longer per posting rules.
Cons: None that I have witnessed. Now it says this "Con's) is too short.
"I purchased this meter 7 years ago because I am color blind and had problems reading the manual test strips. Store that I purchased hot tub from was 20 miles away. I find this tester very sinple to use and very durable for I have dropped it several times. I use it to check the pool in the summer and Hot tub year round. The chemical levels are a little different for the pool vs. the tub but that is not a problem with this meter. I find it much easier to add the correct amount of chemicals once I collected enough data from this meter. I still take my pool water to the pool store for the first test each year but I maintain the correct levels throughout the summer using the meter."
Review 2 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor,
Date:August 12, 2010
By ruleof90
from Hudson Valley, NY
from Hudson Valley, NY
Pros: Idea is good, results were not.
Cons: Only full readings I got were suspect for accuracy.
"I am not unused to handling test equipment, although I haven't done so in quite a while.
I went through the 25 strips provided and have started on the extra supply I ordered. The only full readings I got were suspect eg pH would show7.8 and color strips yielded about 7.0.
After running tests both ways a couple of weeks ago, I also took a water sample to a local pool supply, and found the color strips results were in line, and the Aqua chek numbers were not.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever!,
Date:July 17, 2009
By kellybuffalo
from Buffalo, NY
from Buffalo, NY
Pros: I hated holding the strips up to the bottle, and guessing
Cons: I'm gonna run out of test strips 'cause I check pool and spa alot
"This is just like going to the pool store and asking them to test your water. It gives you the number (PH is 6.8) and if it is ok or lo. Genious! I havn't been to the pool store for testing in a month. When my husband suggested getting this, I just figured another stupid gadget that he likes to get! Great gadget-NOT STUPID! Best purchase ever!"
Review 4 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
water testing,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Dolphi
Pros: very easy to use. The accurate readouts make keeping water chemistries easy
"Purchasing this monitor for testing pool water chemistry was one of the best investments I made. The procedure is easy and the results have been, no more expensive chemical purchases. I know what I need and do not waste time and money to keep my water sparkling and clear. With less maintenance, we'ver enjoyed the pool more than ever! Isn't that what summer is all about?!"
Review 5 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 11, 2009
By theericssonfour
from Vermillion SD
from Vermillion SD
Pros: easy read out
Cons: takes a bit to get the read out
"works great - easy to read and the kids can check it for me- i like that it has a log of them"
Review 6 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AquaChek Digital Test Strip Reader,
Date:July 11, 2009
By vjespersen
from Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
from Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
Pros: Very easy to use, and accurate.
Cons: None
"Bought this because I got tired of trying to figure out what the color matched on the side of the bottle of test strips. This takes all the guessing out and seems to be very reliable. Love it and very happy I bought it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome product and quick shipment,
Date:May 18, 2009
By ftpolk
from Louisiana
from Louisiana
Pros: pretty accurate and quick
"I bought this product on a friday and got it on a Sunday. Tested water and went to local pool store to see accuracy, and the test was pretty close."
Review 8 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aqua Test reader,
Date:August 2, 2008
By Buckfan
from Columbus,
from Columbus,
Pros: Ease of usage; Accuracy
Cons: I have none.
"This removes the guesswork.I have been able to maintain the levels closer to what is recommended.It is very friendly user and more accurate.I was amazed at the difference between the digital readout and the color strips.I enjoy using it.It does require patience on using it the first time because of time involved."
Review 9 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for Color Blind People,
Date:June 17, 2008
By BJM2008
from LI,NY
from LI,NY
Pros: Easy to read, quick definitive results
"I have been using this tester for two years and love the ease of use. Being color blind it was a pain to chase my wife around to get her to read results. Now I can do it all in one shot. I do agree results vary from dropper testers but if you just rely on this test you will be okay."
Review 10 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easiest test kit to use,
Date:June 3, 2008
By eloscuro
Pros: Clear, easy results
Cons: Instructions for use not completly clear
"I use these type of test strips and meters all the time with diabetes, so I have some experience. Many other reviewers had problems with accuracy.
The best instructions I got were from another reviewer:
Dunk the strip in the water and immediately put in the reader (face down). With that, it produces fast, consistent results. This isn't really mentioned in the instructions.
I have tried the other types of testing kits, and can never really tell if the color I see is out of range or OK. Having the meter is a tremendous benefit.
"
Review 11 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Reader!,
Date:May 20, 2008
By IslaMike
Pros: Automated pool water tester! Takes just seconds, keeps histoy of readings!
"I love the AquaChek! I have owned a pool for 16 years and have used every pool water tester in the book. I am done with the dropps and the mess.
I like how easy the AquaChek is to use, just turn it on, dip a strip and place it on the reader. You get a reading in seconds.
I also like the design of the device, it is built very solid and easy to hold.
Maintaining a pool can be a pain but this product makes it a bit easier.
"
Review 12 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Done right, it is great,
Date:March 13, 2008
By rblax
from Michigan
from Michigan
Pros: Simple, easy and accurate
Cons: You have to read and follow the instructions
"I had trouble with the testing meter until I re-read the instructions. Pressing the start button at the same time I dipped the strip, shaking the water off and then laying the strip in (not sliding it) made a world of difference. I am getting consistent results on the pH and chlorine with good results on the total alkalinity."
Review 13 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AquaCheck TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader,
Date:August 23, 2007
By bmb1022
Pros: Like the Idea And Easy To Handle
Cons: Never Get Agreable Readings With Test Kit And Dealer Test Lab
"When I use the AquaCheck I do not get accurate readings. I test with a reagent kit and get readings, and take water to lab and get same reading as test kit but AquaCheck give a much higher reading in all areas"
Review 14 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
needs more work,
Date:August 23, 2007
By Nikki
Pros: easy
Cons: not accurate
"This is such a great idea for pool water testing but I found it to be not very accurate. I do hope the company will do some tweaking and come up with a more reliable version of this tester."
Review 15 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Inconsistent Results,
Date:August 22, 2007
By feeshingbote
Pros: Digital Readout
Cons: Results Vary
"I used this test 3 times on the same day to compare the results and the results were very different each time. Call me old fashioned, but I prefer the DPD testing kits"
Review 16 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great for quick check,
Date:August 22, 2007
By RScott
Pros: Ease
Cons: Reliability
"Not a bad quick check when you don't have time to spend on the drops. I've never gotten the same results twice when conducting one test immediately after the other. Results are usually close to the drops test."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works for Me!,
Date:July 27, 2007
By sassysauls
Pros: Fast results
Cons: Need to check with other tester occasionally
"I bought this tester to use for a quick daily test. If we have doubts about the results we break out the drop tester and so far the tests have been very close. I am very pleased with the ease and speed of the results. Not having to hassle with the drops is a big plus and getting quick results is just an additional bonus. I would have no problem recommending this tester to anyone."
Review 18 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a great Idea,
Date:July 8, 2007
By Harry51
Pros: nice size read out easy to read
Cons: not acurete almost messed up my pool
"I bought this meter because I thought that a read out would end the guessing on a test strip........
WRONG! this is so out of wack it was showing my Cl at .02 when it really was 3.0 also it never gave me the same reading twice. My advice to you is to stay away from this meter till the Hack Co. perfects it. it really is a 1 on the 10 scale..
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not so fantastic,
Date:June 17, 2007
By bryan
Pros: seems like a great idea
Cons: does not work as advertised
"You can check your water 20 times in a row, and never get the same reading. maybe I just got a bad one, but it seems it was just $60.00 thrown away"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AquaChek TruTest Digital Test Strip Reader
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another great high tech gadget,
Date:June 12, 2007
By Anonymous
Pros: Super easy to use.
Cons: How accurate are the readings???, place test strip in and out of water fast or else readings are high.
"Wow is this thing sweet. Easy to use, just dip in water, and place on meter and press the button and 10 seconds later you have every thing you need to know. No more drops, no test tube things, no more making sure you have the right amount of water in the test tube, and no more color matching, just a small test strip, and meter. Plus another high tech. gadget (witch I love to have)."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.