In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above Ground Pool Closing Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

The Winter Ball

"Concentrated, all-natural formula is slowly released into the water by its patented delivery system. Reduce the possibility of winter pool stains."
Average Customer Rating:
4.593 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
25 of 27(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Winter Ball
Review 1 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best yet,
Date:August 23, 2013
By ronn
Pros: so easy and inexpensive, I was very happy with it. I would recommend to everyone
"I have had my pool for 18 yrs. No matter what I used in the pool for winter, I would open it in spring to cloudy, green water. Last fall was the first I tried this. I was somewhat reluctant on how a little ball will allow the pool to be so clear when I open it. But it was clear as can be.I can see every little speck of debris that was left in there when I closed it, not to mention the liner pattern so easily seen. I have suggested to all my pool friends to try this"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The winter ball,
Date:June 24, 2013
By wantgoodproducts
from Tennessee
from Tennessee
Pros: Clean water in spring, Lives up to what it said it will do.
Cons: I don't have any cons for this product. It 's a great product.
"Love this product. Used it two years in a row. It worked great both years. So that is why I'm doing this review.
It does what it said it will do. Clean water both years.
Before using it I had green water every year. Just different shades of it. When used per instructions it will give you clean water in the spring. Great product.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Open in 12 years!,
Date:June 6, 2012
By ROasis
from Mpls, MN
from Mpls, MN
Pros: Simple to use, even on this FIRST try. Easy to remove at end of use
Cons: None that I can think of, wish I tried it 10 years ago!
"After a warm Winter and warmer Spring, expected to find a very murky pool. We judge opens by how many days after opening day it takes to make out the shape of the white drain cover at 8 foot end. Then how long to see the StSteel screws in the drain cover. WOW saw the screws as soon as the cover came off! Best Open ever -looked the same as when I closed it up.... 6 months ago. Found a dead shrew at bottom of stairs, something like this in a normally murky pool- would have taken "days" to digest with chemicals- let alone see it and scoop out. So I know I saved time and money and will buy a winter ball for the coming closing in the fall from now on!"
Review 4 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazed,
Date:May 24, 2011
By sbelles
from Lenexa, KS
from Lenexa, KS
Pros: Easy to use, great results, reasonably priced, handy
Cons: Didn't find any yet, will try this again at closing 2011.
"After 14 years of opening a pool to a swamp, the only change was adding this in the closing of the pool 2010. Opening May of 2011 was amazing clear. Even after having 2 90 degree days(which would normally cook up some algea) before we took off the mesh cover, it was the cleariest it has ever been."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money,
Date:April 3, 2011
By Bananne
from South Carolina
from South Carolina
Pros: Easy to use. Easy to remove when opening pool.These are the only pros I can think of.
Cons: Doesn't work. Doesn't work. Doesn't work. Doesn't work. Doesn't work. Doesn't work.
"My pool always has a serious algae bloom when I open it in the spring. I tried the winter ball when I closed the pool last winter. The algae bloom is worse this year, and the winter ball has a good 1/2" of algae over its entire surface."
Review 6 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of my better purchases for our pool,
Date:September 20, 2010
By Carpet
from Havre de Grace, MD
from Havre de Grace, MD
Pros: Easy to use
"Tried this product last year. Opened our pool in the Spring...water was clear and clean with no stains and no green pea look. Have already recommended the Winter Ball to friends. Great product!!"
Review 7 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's the best,
Date:September 1, 2010
By escape
Pros: Easy to use!!!
Cons: none
"Tried one last year. Spring opening was so simple and ordering another today."
Review 8 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money!,
Date:August 17, 2010
By markmed31
from Southeastern Massachusetts
from Southeastern Massachusetts
Pros: Easy to use and works as advertised
Cons: None
"I added this to a winterizing kit last year to close my above ground 18'X 33' oval pool. The Spring opening was fantastic! Probably the best opening ever since we had the pool installed. Water was clean and clear, no green pea soup!"
Review 9 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best ever,
Date:September 15, 2009
By kat
from e-town, Pa
from e-town, Pa
Pros: easy
Cons: none
"this is the best...just poke holes, throw in pool and cover.. I didnt even add another winterizing kit . When I opened my pool the water was crystal clear!! I would highly recommend this to all my friends..
I am ordering another one this year..thank you in the swim for such a great product.
"
Review 10 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A "must have" for closing pool,
Date:September 2, 2009
By summerforever
from Kentucky
from Kentucky
Pros: Easy to Use - Unbelievable Results
Cons: NONE
"When we purchased the ball last fall, I was little doubtful as to how well it would actually work. It was smaller than I was expecting and didn't look like much.
HOWEVER..........when we opened the pool this spring the water was clear and I was amazed!! I'm getting ready to order our Winter Ball for this year's closing and I just hope In The Swim has this product as long as we have a pool!!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work for us :(,
Date:May 9, 2009
By tjayk
from Benton, Arkansas
from Benton, Arkansas
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Pool no better off
"We have a salt pool. We covered with mesh safety cover in the fall and added this ball. Opened in the spring to a swampy mess. Didn't notice any different in opening this year after using the ball than what we saw in the previous spring opening when we did not use the ball. Unfortunately, it didn't work for us!!"
Review 12 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE GREATEST!!,
Date:April 29, 2009
By summerlover
from Wisconsin
from Wisconsin
Pros: easy
"I have had this above-ground pool since 1987 and this is the BEST product ever. I used it the winter of 2007-2008 and the pool was clean when I opened it. I thought it may have been because we had 100+" of snow. I used it again last winter and the pool was also clear this spring. I have not been using any other chemicals when I close the pool for several year because I never found that they work.
THIS DOES WORK!!!
"
Review 13 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product.,
Date:December 14, 2008
By Ferretmom
from Chilhowie, VA.
from Chilhowie, VA.
Pros: Easy to use. No mess.
Cons: None.
"This product is so easy to use it's unbeleiveale.
Even when I put it in my pool and the weather got warm again it took care of the water. I checked it from time to time and it still is doing it's job keeping my pool clean over the winter.
I will be getting another one next winter.
"
Review 14 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase,
Date:December 10, 2008
By luvanimals
from Brownsville, PA
from Brownsville, PA
Pros: Works Really Well
"The Winter Ball seems to work really well. It was a great purchase for such a low cost."
Review 15 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Product,
Date:November 27, 2008
By LarryL
from Minneapolis, MN
from Minneapolis, MN
Pros: Simple to use and very effective
Cons: Absolutely none
"This product significantly reduces the winter build up and makes the spring opening a breeze. We are on our second year with this product. I close the pool out with the "Winter Ball" and open with the "Ultimate Start-up kit" for amazing and quick results."
Review 16 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Opening Ever,
Date:July 5, 2008
By Doc1
from Chapmanville, WV
from Chapmanville, WV
Pros: Easy to use, very affordable, and highly effective
Cons: None noted
"The year before last we had a "professional" close our pool and opening it last spring was a nightmare.
It cost a fortune and when we opened the pool, it was like a neglected pond, complete with frogs and tadpoles. Last year, we purchased a winterizing kit and the winter ball from In the Swim....WOW! This year when we took off our cover, the water was clear. There was a little algae on the sides and bottom, but it was easily brushed and filtered out. I've lived with a pool for 36 years and I've never seen a pool in such great shape in the spring. Thank you In the Swim! I've already ordered my winterizing kit and winter ball for closing this year and it's only early July!
"
Review 17 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome!!,
Date:April 30, 2008
By dolphin61
from Pickens, SC
from Pickens, SC
Pros: Works great!
"Last year was our first time trying this product and I was amazed when we removed the cover from the pool this year. The water was crystal clear we will definitely be using it every year. The Winter Ball really works."
Review 18 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture is deceiving,
Date:November 8, 2007
By Jappy
from Ft. Mitchell, KY
from Ft. Mitchell, KY
Pros: It is small and easy to use, just poke holes in the ball using the pin that is included.
Cons: Skeptical that this small ball will do what the description states, will update this review in Spring '08
"When one looks at the picture of this product it would leave us to believe that it is in the shape and size of a dinner plate, with a ball in the middle; when in reality it is the shape and size of a softball. This is our first time purchasing this product and we will have to wait until the spring, when we reopen the pool, to see if it really works as others have commented."
Review 19 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,
Date:August 25, 2007
By cloudyeeyore
from Delta, Pa
from Delta, Pa
"This ball really works. I bought one last year and I am buying one this year. My pool water was very clean when we took the cover off."
Review 20 for The Winter Ball
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
Date:August 24, 2007
By angie0523
Pros: Price & ease of use
"Simple to use & the price is right."