In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Solar Pool Covers & Reels for Above-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Solar Pill

Liquid solar blanket Solar Pill keeps swimming pool water warm. A convenient alternative to standard floating pool solar blankets.
Average Customer Rating:
3.553 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
27 of 38(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Pill
Review 1 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works for me,
Date:April 4, 2011
By TheDeepEnd
from Kansas City, MO
from Kansas City, MO
Pros: They do make a difference if the sun is out. They help with heat loss, they do not help the water heat up.
Cons: You have to be realistic about them. They will not replace your heater.
"I have used these (or similar) for years. They make a difference in my pool. I use them to help the pool warm up in the spring and then very rarely need my heater (once the water is up to temp.) You have to be realistic. They won't replace a solar cover, but they do help. I used to have a chlorine pool, now have a salt system, never did notice any film problems. I am a believer."
Review 2 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
did not work as advertised,
Date:September 7, 2010
By hedgehog1974
from Yorktown, IN
from Yorktown, IN
Pros: none
Cons: did not heat pool, produce film on everything
"I was very disappointed in the product. I saw no heating difference in the pool, and the liquid left a film on everything. I had purchased these hoping to avoid the expense of buying a solar cover, but after the amount that you have to spend on these for a season, you are better off to buy a solar cover! If anyone wants to purchase a liquid solar product versus a cover, go with the solar fish. I was happy to see that In The Swim now offers they solar fish. We purchased one from our local pool supply store before they were offered here, and they seem to work well."
Review 3 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love It,
Date:July 15, 2010
By Fungirl
from Kaneville, IL
from Kaneville, IL
Pros: Helps really retain heat!!
Cons: None
"I have used the solar pill for years and it really works. I hardly use my solar cover during season overnight because I'm not losing any heat. Thermometer reads the same or minus 1 degree in the morning. This product works great!"
Review 4 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WORST thing ever,
Date:July 14, 2010
By Lydia
from Michigan
from Michigan
Pros: none
Cons: messy/filmy
"did not notice temp difference - not recommended for salt pools; left film over water, pool floats, and skin"
Review 5 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst Purchase ever,
Date:October 18, 2009
By JoeD
from Philadelphia,Pa
from Philadelphia,Pa
Pros: None
Cons: The pill does not work
"I put 2 pills at one time and when the outside night temp got below 70 the steam still come off the water. I'm going back to a solar cover. The only thing tha works."
Review 6 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Actually works!,
Date:September 3, 2009
By Sanibel7
from WI
from WI
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Didn't work as directions described
"At first I was very disappointed because the liquid did not seem to be coming out and the pill never changed color like the directions said it would. I ended up holding it over the skimmer every so often to allow the liquid to drip into the skimmer and was pretty certain it wouldn't do a thing. However, the pool maintained 80-84 degrees for longer than it ever has in the past which I'm assuming was due to the pill since we had a VERY mild summer. I will definitely buy it again next summer."
Review 7 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed,
Date:August 17, 2009
By rltycheck
from Phoenix, AZ
from Phoenix, AZ
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Didn't seem to work
"Bought two of these to try and hold heat gianed during the day at night, and expected the liek-time temperatures to rise (pool fluxes about 4 degrees AM-PM).
We've got consisntent weather this week. so I gave them a try. Guess what, morning temp before 82.4, morning temp after - 82.2. Evening temp before 86.6, after 86.6.
It was worth a try, but based on my semi-scientific test, I'm thining there was snake oil in that pill..."
Review 8 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Purchase,
Date:July 25, 2009
By ddunn
from Red Hook,NY
from Red Hook,NY
Pros: easy to use
"This product is so easy to use. I dropped it in the skimmer and it has heated my pool quicker than I can ever remember. So much easier than a solar blanket and no mess or storage. We have been able to use our pool more this summer because the water got warmer quicker and has stayed warmer. Have highly recommended this to my friends."
Review 9 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Conflicted,
Date:July 25, 2009
By lge3568
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Have to have already warm water
"Well, it worked when the weather was warm and my solar blanket accelerated the temperature, but with the Ohio weather being so mild lately (cool) the water isn't getting warm enough to even need the pill. Otherwise, the pill seemed to help maintain the temperature the solar blanket raised the top 6-12 inches of water to. I have an above ground pool, no heater. Have already suggested these to several friends with pools."
Review 10 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
big help little effort,
Date:July 25, 2009
By luv2watchMYbabiesSWIM
from Pittsburgh, PA
from Pittsburgh, PA
Pros: easy and works
Cons: I can't seem to get them to drain on their own without my assistance
"I used this product at the end of summer last year to extend our swim time. It seemed to work but it got cold quick last year. This year I put them in as soon as I opened the pool and our temp was in the upper eighties in days. We are using our solar cover in addition to the pills because it is a chilly summer here in pennsylvania. Our pool usually struggles to maintain at 82 and we have swam in 92 degree water several times. Worth every penny."
Review 11 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not recommend,
Date:July 25, 2009
By SuzieQ
from Greensboro, NC
from Greensboro, NC
Pros: None
Cons: None
"I bought this product based on other people's reviews. From what I read, it sounded like it worked Well, it didn't. It did not warm the pool water at all."
Review 12 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solar Pill,
Date:July 21, 2009
By Mamaw07
from Bardstown, Ky
from Bardstown, Ky
Pros: Easy to use.
"I purchased this product because my husband didn't want to have to deal with putting a solar cover on and having to take it off all the time. We live in Kentucky where the weather is not always perfect. The directions are simple and the product did seem to raise the temperature of our pool. We used it early June when it the normal temperature was only around 76 degrees. After about 3-4 days the water temperature was about 3-4 degrees warmer than it normally would have been. If you are looking for something to get the summer going then I would recommend this product. It is simple to use and works pretty good."
Review 13 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money,
Date:July 13, 2009
By waterlogged
from Kansas City
from Kansas City
Pros: Keeps water temp stable & keeps dirt off the bottom
Cons: none
"I was skeptical but must say I am impressed. It helps the water temp from dropping at night. The best part of this product has nothing to do with water temp. It really helps keep the pool clean because the barrier that it creates is just enough to keep insects and light dirt from going to the bottom of the pool. We love it and think it's well worth the money. Our pool holds 20,000 gallons and we put a new one in every 2-3 weeks."
Review 14 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product,
Date:July 13, 2009
By summer09
from Arkansas
from Arkansas
Pros: Really Works
"This product worked really well. It defintiley warmed up the pool 4 to 6 degrees. I would definitely purchase this product again."
Review 15 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No mess is worth it,
Date:July 12, 2009
By Jerry
from Kalamazoo, MI
from Kalamazoo, MI
Pros: Ease of use
Cons: cost
"I live in a fairly wooded area so my pool gets alot of stuff in it when it is windy. Taking a regular solar cover on and off always creates a mess. The solar pills are worth it because my skimmer can continue to run keeping the pool clean and the overall effectiveness is good. They keep the pool from losing heat at night which is what I was looking for. I do wish they cost a bit less."
Review 16 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solar Pills,
Date:July 11, 2009
By AnnLynn
from Vancouver, WA
from Vancouver, WA
Pros: Easy to use and apply
Cons: None
"I used this item once before and it seems to work very well, it's easy to apply to the pool and the directions are simple to understand. The solar pills really work some how......"
Review 17 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This really works!,
Date:May 16, 2009
By nightin65
from Loveland, OH
from Loveland, OH
Pros: Keeps the heat in
Cons: None
"When we first open our pool here in Loveland, OH the water temperature is around 65 degrees. Every day we would gain three to four degrees from the sun, but at night we would lose almost all of that heat. I didn't want to deal with the bubble wrap type solar blanket so I thought I'd give the Solar Pill a try. We use two for our 18' x 32' in-ground pool and we do not lose any of the heat that we gain during the day! That's right, none! The pool is able to heat up so much faster in the spring by maintaining the temperature through the night, that we have put off buying a heater. You can swim and whatever the chemical is in the Solar Pill, it doesn't affect you at all. One of my favorite pool products!"
Review 18 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was amazing !!,
Date:August 31, 2007
By gatekeeper
Pros: Held the heat in 60 degree weather !!!
Cons: none !!
"In Ohio it is hot and cold from one day to the next. I have a 27 in round above ground pool and found solar covers to be a pain trying to get on and off by yourself and had problems with algee when I put one on causing more chemical use..aka cost.. It was in the 90's last week and now dropped to the 50's at night. I was scepticle but put a solar ball in on the hot day and now that it has gotten cooler outside my pool water is still like bathwater !! Truly unbelievable and no mess or hastle. I also use my pool for physical therapy and it saves me even more money not having to pay to use an indoor pool yet. This is truly amazing as there has been no heat evaporation rising up from the pool in the mornings and I don't have to freeze my buns off in the water !!!!!! You HAVE to try this product !!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Its a pill alright,
Date:August 28, 2007
By Gman234567
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: I clorinate throught my skimmer and this doesnt allow that.
"The pill was easy to use but I was not happy with the fact that you cant clorinate in the skimmer with the pill in there also. I also didn't notice much of a difference with the pill and without it. I have one left and will use it for September and be back to let you know if it made a difference with colder nights."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Solar Pill
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
Date:August 24, 2007
By afil
Pros: easy to use
Cons: none
This customer did not provide a text review.