In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above Ground Pool Filters or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)

Swimming pool cartridge filter and pool pump from Hayward pool products. X-Stream pool filter system is designed to filter swimming pool water longer than other Hayward pool filters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
27 of 31(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Review 1 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Filter, Truely low maintence,
Date:April 20, 2007
By JanetPA
Pros: Long filter cycle, crystal clear water all season, Pump power
Cons: Have not found any
"I have owned my 18,000 gallon above ground pool for 14 years. Last summer, after years of battles, I got tired of fighting my DE filter over water clarity and water flow pressure. I cleaned my filter bi-weekly and always had problems. Tried reducing DE nothing worked. I bought the Hayward X-Stream in the spring and for the first time ever had a completly trouble free and easy pool maintence season. I did not have to clean the cartridge until pool closing. I cannot recommend this system enough. Definately a purchase you will not regret! And In the swims payment plan made the purchase easy on the wallet as well."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Filter,
Date:May 25, 2008
By rsilva708
from Hickory Hills, IL
from Hickory Hills, IL
Pros: Easy Install
Cons: Hayward should provide 2 ball valves and diverter valve
"The filter was very easy to install. It took no time at all. It took longer to get the sand out of the filter I was replacing than it did to install the new X.stream. Reading other reviews most problems I saw people saying I knew could be fixed easily. First with people with hoses blowing off, a little roughing up of the hose fittings with some sand paper, and two hose clamps on each hose will take care of the problem. I have also seem people complain about no way to vacuum to waste, when you vacuum you just dump it all into the filter. To fix this problem, Hayward makes a diverter valve the replaces the union between the pump and the filter tank. You just turn the valve and it diverts the flow of water directly out of the pump into your backwash hose bypassing the filter tank. Another thing is opening up the tank to clean the filter. Hayward provides one ball valve, you need to get another one. With a valve on the pump inlet and a valve on the tank outlet, you can close both valves and isolate the filter so you can open it up and not loose water.
Do those few things and you will love this filter.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 thumbs up,
Date:August 22, 2007
By NeverForgetSept11
from Long Island, NY
from Long Island, NY
Pros: ease of operation, setup, cost efficient
Cons: motor a bit noisier than usual
"Purchased this for a new 27' round pool. Installation was a breeze even with rigid plumbing. Start-up was quick and effortless. A huge noticable difference in the water quality over the sand filter i used on my old pool. Hasnt happened yet but im sure the Autumn dismantling and storage of this unit will be a snap too. I dont know if its just my unit, but the pump seems a bit louder than usual. Or it could jut be me. Overall, a highly recommended product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Filter We've Ever Used,
Date:September 8, 2007
By Anonymous
Pros: Crystal Clear Water, Easy to set up & use, super low maintainence
Cons: You might want to buy different hoses
"After years of trouble with various Hayward DE filters (sorry Hayward!) I read JanetPA's review (the only one available at the time) and we decided this year to try the X-Stream cartridge version. What a difference!! No bumping, no draining, no trying to figure out what to do with the used algae-ridden DE sludge. In the 14 years we've owned our home, this was the first time pool maintenance was actually a pleasure! The water was always clear, the pressure was always steady (which was NEVER the case with the DE pumps), and I can honestly say we probably used our pool more this summer than the previous 13 combined, just because we knew approaching the pool wasn't going to be a chore!. We had one hose slip, and lost several inches of water (something other people have noticed too), so my only caveat is that you might want to but the shortest hoses you need to do the job with the rubber ends, as opposed to the ones that come with the product, with the circular clamps. For extra security, my husband used the circular clamps AND the rubber-ended hoses, and there's been no problem since. We're going out to close the pool this weekend, so I have no idea what clean-up on the cartridge is going to be like, but overall I think anyone who buys this will be very happy with the product. And Thank You, JanetPA!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hayward Cartridge is Junk,
Date:June 3, 2008
By jagger
from Cloudy Water, WV
from Cloudy Water, WV
Pros: It installed easily
Cons: It won't clean my pool, it's junk
"I bought the Hayward Cartridge Filter last year, hooked it up this year. Can't get the pool clean, can't get rid of the cloudy water. I give up and am installing my old Hayward DE Filter and will end up throwing this $500 piece of garbage in the dump. Dont' buy it, you'll be sorry, I hate it, biggest mistake of the year."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello! This rocks!!,
Date:July 29, 2007
By Anonymous
"I love this thing. The pool water is sparkling clean. Seriously...no cloudy water at all. This product was installed and used as a season opener to remove last years sun blocks, etc. I have an adult child who requires constant supervision, and I installed this in a snap. I raked the major leaves then turned it on and walked away. 12 hours later my pool is picture perfect. I've taken the filter out and cleaned it after the initial clean up, a high jet stream on the hose to get into the fins, and we're back in business. Finally a product that is worth it's purchase price. Cool too about the monthly pymnt."
Review 7 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hayward x-stream filter,
Date:September 1, 2013
By chipper
from upstate new york
from upstate new york
Pros: works great,no set up problems strong flow quite motor noise
Cons: none,could use second ball valve for filter cleaning
"Delivery time great,2days thank you in the swim. Pool has never been this clear in 10 yrs ,never own a sand filter again ever! This filter took the cloudy water to crystal clear over nite, well worth the money."
Review 8 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good cleaning/Hard to disassemble,
Date:May 25, 2013
By DW15
from IL
from IL
Pros: Cleans water pretty well, easier than sand filter.
Cons: Different to take ring off after a few years. Poor pressure guage design
"I've had this filter for about 4 years. Overall it does a good job of cleaning the water. But after a couple of years the black ring started to get tougher to take off in order to clean the filter. I replaced the o-ring and regreased it but still very difficult to take off. This year I may have to replace as it is nearly impossible to twist the ring without using a hammer and screwdriver (not recommended as this damages the filter housing. It seems as though the housing warps over time. You can't buy just the top half, you have to buy the whole filter.
Also expect the pressure gauge to last about 2 weeks before it becomes completely filled with water, poor deisgn."
Review 9 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best valued unit,
Date:May 6, 2013
By luvmyhoss
from Golden Valley Arizona
from Golden Valley Arizona
Pros: Powerful and cleans pool in no time. Great value for the unit. Trusted name in pool filter systems
Cons: this unit is wonderful. I have no cons at this time
"I bought this unit to replace the filter/ pump that came with my Intex 24ft pool. It may be a little to much for this size of pool but after vacuuming my pool from the winter dirt ( I live in Arizona) there was alot of residual dirt and algae floating in the pool. This Hayward filter cleaned up the water in no time. My old pump never did that. I have purchased Hayward products in the past and have always had good luck with performance. I should have bought a Hayward when I first bought the pool. I highly recommend this unit to anyone with an above ground pool."
Review 10 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product if properly cared for.,
Date:July 17, 2012
By WIDAD
from Oak Creek, WI
from Oak Creek, WI
Pros: Works great. Probably to powerful for my pool but make cleaning a breeze
Cons: A bearing needed to be replaced after 3 summers of use. cost about $100 to repair
"This a good pump and filter, very happy with the purchase. so much easier to use as compared to a sand filter. Will never go back!"
Review 11 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Baby Rocks!!!,
Date:September 10, 2011
By GirlWithWrench
from Manhattan, IL
from Manhattan, IL
Pros: Great filtering, Reduced my pool care time by 90%!!! Reliable.
Cons: Cartridges Expensive, Very strong discharge can mess with auto vacs and fountains
"I've had my pool 10 years and this is the third filter I have had. I've had it two years and I LOVE it. Obviously, I'm hard on filters with lots of kids, and a 24' round pool that is extra deep. Pool maintenance used to be a huge, time-consuming summer affair before I got this filter. I used to have to vacuum at least a couple times a week, clean the filter at least weekly, and watch my chemicals daily like a hawk or my pool would turn green seemingly overnight. This is my second year the Hayward Extreme and I still do next to nothing to my pool and it stays clear and beautiful all summer. The guy complaining about cloudy water clearly is missing something else in his pool care. No filter gets all that stuff out without a clarifier--I would know. had I known what a difference this filter would make in the amount of time I spend on my pool, I would have bought one long before I did. Highly recommend!! It does have a very strong outlet pressure though which pushes the automatic vacuum unless the eyeball is turned to just the right position, and which makes my fountain that attaches to the outlet shoot up so high I lose a lot of water when I use it. I also suspect using the fountain is hard on the pump since it restricts flow so much, so I don't really use it anymore. I'll gladly trade using the fountain for parties a couple times a year for free weekends all summer."
Review 12 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
xtreme disappointment,
Date:July 4, 2011
By robs1313
from candia, NH
from candia, NH
Pros: only easier on pump really no advantage over other systems
Cons: doesnt filter small particles, water has been cloudy since purcgase
"Had a DE filter by Hayward for 12 years. Replaced with the xstream cartridge filter last year and haven't had clear water since. Called Hayward they said no it doesn't filter as well as DE. Said I could put some DE powder in to improve filtering. If i had known that would have bought DE filter. Will get rid of next year. Awful system!!!"
Review 13 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
Date:September 5, 2010
By deepok
from Virginia Beach, VA
from Virginia Beach, VA
Pros: keeps water clean and clear, dont have to use so many chemicals, no algae, maintenance time (cleaning pool) decreased
Cons: cant think of any
"I have a 15X30 above ground ova pool for 15 years. I have used the XTreme filter (100 Sq ft) for 3 years now. Previously i used similar but much smaller and it did ok. Now that i have been using the Xtreme I no longer waste money on Algacide and clearifier. This past summer with the heat did not create any algae at all in my pool at all. My neighbor asked me how come i have crystal clear water all summer and his pool is green with algae. I told him he needs to purchase an Xtreme. So far so good with the Xtreme. I recommend it."
Review 14 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Darn Filter Ever,
Date:July 21, 2010
By momto8
from Upstate NY
from Upstate NY
Pros: Easy maintenance,powerful, clean and clear water!!
Cons: May have to make some adjustments when using vac
"Spent the extra and bought the Hayward Cartridge after owning an old keg DE filter and more recently a ball sand filter (will never use a sand filter again). We can't say enough good things about the Hayward. We've NEVER had water as clean and clear as we have with this model. The large capacity, easy maintenance and powerful pump are all a plus. Well worth spending the extra, you can't go wrong with the easy pay either.A++++"
Review 15 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
Date:June 1, 2010
By Jazz
from Temple Hills, MD
from Temple Hills, MD
Pros: Great system
Cons: Nothing
"After ordering, received item with 3 business days. The product was very easy to install and working like a charm. Very impressive."
Review 16 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great choice!!,
Date:March 27, 2010
By MartyM
from Georgia
from Georgia
Pros: Easy to set up and operate.
Cons: None
"The best investment I have made for the pool. I replaced a 2-1/2 HP sand filter and this system blows the sand filter away! I did get an extra valve and hard plumbed it with pvc and put an outlet to bypass to waste. I didnt cover my pool last winter so it was a mess. I vacuumed the worst to waste and then turned the filter on. Within a day's time the water was sparking clear without any chemicals added. I did have a problem getting my automatic vacuum to work because it had too much suction. I had to install a valve between the skimmer and hose to let water in so it wouldn't stick to the bottom and not move. It moves much better than it ever did with the sand filer and the pump moves about twice the amount of water as my old filter.
I will never have another sand filter! Oh yea, I ordered it late on a Monday night and recieved it Wed., good job In The Swim!
"
Review 17 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
E3020 Xtreme Filter System,
Date:August 19, 2009
By melmanstlfan
from Tonica, IL
from Tonica, IL
Pros: NO MORE BACKWASH OR SAND!!!!!!!
Cons: Having Beautiful Sparkling Water like I have never seen!!!!!
"I have been fighting clarity in my water since I purchased my pool 6 years ago. I do not know why it took me sooooooo..... long but I have converted from a sand filter to the E3020 Xtreme Cartridge Filter System and shaaaazammmmm, I have water that is so clean and beautiful, I still can not believe it. All I can say is, no more worries about what I might see when I wake up and go to take a dip. It is well worth the investment."
Review 18 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievable,
Date:August 3, 2009
By Jonsey
from Long Island, NY
from Long Island, NY
Pros: Everything, It works great
Cons: The pressure valve is reset and water can sit around cover
"Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
In fact I have. Over the years I've had several other types of filters. And by far this filter is the best. My pool water is sparkling clear. And vacuuming the pool is a snap. The filter has so much power that everything is just sucked into the head of the vacuum. And I have only have had to clean the cartridge about once in a season. Plus it looks great real sleek, and when it's running it's so quiet. We have the filter set on the other side of the pool, and when its on we can hardly hear it. Bottom line is that I love this filter. Sounds crazy, but when you find something that works great and makes your life easier. it's a wonderful thing
"
Review 19 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant Purchase Decision,
Date:July 19, 2009
By SBobby
from Canton, TX
from Canton, TX
Pros: Does a superb job,quiet,easy to clean,attractive in pool area,light weight and again DOES A SUPERB JOB !!!!
Cons: None
"I was not sure what kind of new filter/pump I was going to purchase when I called In The Swim for information. It turned out to be the best call I could have made. The filter and pump are the best and the people and service at In The Swim are wonderful."
Review 20 for Hayward X-Stream Pool Cartridge Filter System (above ground pools)
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
Date:July 11, 2009
By rb494
from Oregon
from Oregon
Pros: easy to poerate
Cons: none
"I had a sand filter before. This filter works 100 times better. No backwashing."