In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Chlorine & Bromine or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner

"Liquid stabilizer has a friendly pH of 8.0, unlike other stabilizer/conditioners which drastically change your pool chemical levels. Instantly dissolves in pool water to protect chlorine from UV loss."
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Review 1 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works when the other things are balanced,
Date:April 19, 2013
By Swim2
from North Georgia
from North Georgia
Pros: Easy to use, does the job, works, and well it was pretty easy to use.
Cons: Seems to take a while to work, wish it cost less, doesn't say anything about need to have pool balanced before use.
"Bought 2 gallons of this to bring up CYA from pretty much zero after winter cleanup. Pool is about 17000 gallons above ground. After adding first gallon nothing waited 24 hours still nothing added second gallon and got a slight reading. I ordered another gallon and while I was waiting went ahead and balanced the other things. PH was in range, but TA was very low. Well water so there's a lot of pool unfriendly content in the water. Threw a few boxes of baking soda in to raise the TA and suddenly the CYA numbers came up. Could have been nothing more than time, but seemed to me this doesn't work well if the TA is low. Once everything else got right the CYA number was there. If you're having problems with this try getting the other things balanced and hopefully you'll be as fortunate as I was."
Review 2 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money,
Date:June 5, 2010
By tnrider
from Tennessee
from Tennessee
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Doesn't work
"Don't waste your money on this stuff. Added 2 gallons to my pool and it didn't bump the stabilizer readings at all. All other chemical tests are within normal range so nothing to keep this stuff from working. As bad as I hate to, I'm going back to the granualr cyanuric acid."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Convenient but pricey,
Date:July 17, 2009
By amjohn
from Texas
from Texas
Pros: Lasts a long time, mixes well, compatible with bleach and vinyl liner
Cons: Pricey, high pH
"I needed to add some stabilizer to my AG pool to hold the chlorine levels after a rainy May had depleted the CYA. However, dry CYA takes a week or more to dissolve, and usually you have to buy many pounds of the stuff. I only needed a little. I thought I would give the liquid a try. The bottle I got was not as "gluey" as other reviewers have said. I shook it really, really good, poured a very fine stream in front of my return. Some still collected on the bottom, but a little brushing stirred it up and it dissolved. It took about a day for it to fully circulate in my pool and for my test levels to be dependable, but I did get my small controlled increase that I wanted. I wish the price was better though- convenience costs. I also had to add some dry acid to bring the pH down. The bottle says it has a "salt friendly" pH- which apparently is higher than the 7.5 neutral pH that I prefer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow- what an improvement,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Forever37
from Lexington, OK
from Lexington, OK
Pros: cleared the pool up in no time
Cons: none
"Our well water is incredibly hard (more than 2000 ppm TDS). I tried several things and finally decided the failure to get a good readings was because the water was simply not absorbing the chemicals. I was a bit anxious but added the 2 gallons of stabilizer/conditioner and the pool has been sparkling ever since."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No sludge here!,
Date:May 29, 2009
By SweetBaboom
Pros: Dissolved easily
Cons: cost
"I just tried this product for the first time. I had read a few other comments saying the product was difficult to pour and left sludge in the containter. Those comments almost kept me from buying this product since convenience was the main point of buying the liquid stabilizer. I used one gallon this morning and it poured easily (about the consistency of a latex house paint). I added some pool water to the empty bottle and the bottle rinsed clean easily. No problems at all with dispensing.
I'll retest the water this evening after circulating for the day to see if I need to add more."
Review 6 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ABSOLUTELY Love this stuff!,
Date:September 19, 2007
By Jeaniebeanie
Pros: Amazing results
Cons: A little hard to get out of the container-keep adding water and mix it up.
"I have owned a pool for 30 years and have never had an easier opening and summer than 2007. I put it in last fall before closing the pool and again upon opening. In the spring, I had the CLEAREST water ever in 30 years. Quickest opening I ever did.
My chlorine use was literally cut in half this year and I used ABSOLUTELY NO ALGAECIDE this year. My friends who did not use this had all kinds of algae problems this year. Me... NONE!!!
I will never be without it again. It is AMAZING stuff.
And I am a hard person to convince of something.
Try it. You will be GRATEFUL you did!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice product,
Date:August 23, 2007
By kevin
"noticeable difference in the softening of the water and it doesn't take much to add to water"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK Product (but a pricey),
Date:August 22, 2007
By blacknblu
Pros: Quicker results than Cyanuric Acid
Cons: Sludge
"Often times, I will use liquid bleach as a sanitizer in my pool, the down side being the lack of Stabilizer in Chlorine Bleach. I've tried supplementing with Cyanuric Acid, but the results were minimal, and it took an extended period of time to dissolve.
The two downsides of this product are as follows:
1. Price
For what I use the product, over the long run it's cheaper to use chlorine with stabilizer infused.
2. Sludge
Be prepared to spend some time extracting the product. I expected a liquid solution that would pour from the container. Instead, the product greatly resembled a 75% dry container of Elmer's Glue. After a while, I gave up, and took the top of the container off with a box cutter, and spooned out the contents into a mixing bucket.
Overall, the product was more effective balancing chemicals, but for me to purchase the product again, the price will have to come down significantly.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Liquid Stabilizer/Pool Water Conditioner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Product,
Date:August 22, 2007
By Jessy
Pros: Works just as stated if not better
"This is a great product that really delivers on it's promise. We have cut down our clorine usage and the pool is crystal clear"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.