In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Opening Chemicals or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Stain Free

Find Natural Chemistry's all-natural Stain Free for great value at In the Swim. Stain Free is a powerful yet safe ascorbic acid-based formula that is ideal for removing tough stains from vinyl pools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.787 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
74 of 80(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stain Free
Review 1 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Stain Removal Product On The Market,
Date:November 27, 2008
By jukeboxrick
from Southern Illinois
from Southern Illinois
Pros: No work necessary just pour the product in the Pool
Cons: None
"I've used different products to get rid of stains in our fiberglass pool and none of them worked until I found Stain Free. I use it a little different than the instructions say and it worked great for me. I used a small cup and just went around our pool at the water line tapping out a little of the Stain Free against the side all around the pool. Then I used a garden hose and sprayed around the pool to make sure all the Stain Free was washed down the side's. Then I watched in amazement as the stains started streaking down the sides. I then sprinkled the rest of the Stain Free in the deep end of our pool and on the steps in the shallow end. It didn't take anytime at all and all of the stains were gone in our pool and believe me I didn't think anything would get the stains out. This product is great but be sure to use a metal product to keep the stain from coming back."
Review 2 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever,
Date:June 7, 2009
By gapoolgirl
from Cordele, GA
from Cordele, GA
Pros: Works like magic
"Bought this product the first time last year when the steps and everything in our 18x36 vinyl liner pool turned brown.Spent hundreds of dollars at local pool store but nothing worked. Poured Stain Free into the pool and before our eyes the steps turned white. We had been told we would have to drop the water level below the steps and use a very strong chemical to remove the stain. What a shock to see the stain gone before our eyes. We had a few tablespoons left over this year. When I forgot to add the metal treatment before shocking the stain returned. I thought I would pour that little bit in and order more. I was amazed that a less than half cup of the stuff turned the steps white again. Next morning all stains were gone. Apparently it does not take much on fresh stains. An amazing product."
Review 3 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally Something that works!,
Date:June 17, 2009
By MinnesotaDan
from Minneapolis
from Minneapolis
Pros: It actually removed most of the stain
Cons: Like most stain removers you must lower chlorine to very low levels
"I have tried other stuff before, including E-Z Stain Remover from In the Swim with limited success. Most stuff would just remove the stain where the concentrate hit the sides of the pool, but not do much for the rest of the sides and bottom. When I dumped in the Stain Free (followed by Metal Free an hour later), the initial results looked the same. After 24 hours there was not much improvement. But, after 48 hours almost all staining was removed. My liner is over 10 years old and my city's water comes from wells. Even though they filter it it is high in iron. As a result, our liner was a dingy brown all over with some areas showing heavier staining. I'd say this eliminated about 90% of the problem. I hope a second dose when we open up next year will be even better."
Review 4 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Chalk another one up to it not working,
Date:July 14, 2009
By Poolontheglen
from MN
from MN
Pros: Easy to apply
Cons: Didn't really do much, no statement of money-back guarantee
"Most reviewers were positive about the product, and we have some pretty major stains on the bottom of our pool, so I thought I would give this product a try. Was careful to let the chlorine level drop to recommended range (<1ppm) and got the pH to 7.6 (supposed to be 7.4-7.6). Added product, an hour later added "Metal Free", and left it for the night. Unlike others, came out next morning to see that product had made no improvement and I am out 50 bucks.
Most likely our staining is due to tannins from leaves. We do have very hard water (18 gpg) here, so I assumed it was metal stains. But in hindsight, I would advise users to try vitamin C tablets in a sock if they can before investing in this product to see if it is the right chemical for their stain."
Review 5 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a charm!,
Date:April 11, 2009
By BQTampa
from Tampa, FL
from Tampa, FL
Pros: does what it says
Cons: none that I have found
"Last year I had the worst brownish-orange stains all over the sides and bottom of my pool. I researched the heck out of it on the internet and found some website that said if a crushed vitamin C tablet rubbed on the stain makes it come out, then it is a mineral stain. But then it gave some crazy instructions for treating the whole pool. After some more research, I came upon Stain Free, which is "Vitamin C for your pool". It works FAST and effectively and completely ridded my pool of the stain (that had been there for several weeks) within a few hours. It has worked just as well at removing leaf stains (from when leaves sit at the bottom of the pool too long). I love this stuff, just wish it came in a bigger container. I would love to buy it in bulk!"
Review 6 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thoroughly impressed,
Date:July 14, 2008
By Charlie001
from Westville, NY
from Westville, NY
Pros: Did what it said it would
Cons: Wish I would have ordered another bottle
"I was reading the reviews regarding this product and decided to try it out. I have some serious stains in the bottom of my inground pool (16x32). These stains have been in my pool for the last 3 years and each year they seem to multiply. I've tried everything and even went underwater holding my breath as long as possible to try and scrub these stains out. I was getting pretty upset that nothing seemed to work. A few hours after using this product I noticed that 95 % of the stains in the deep end were gone. I still have a little bit of a stain in one of the corners and am wondering if that would come out with another bottle or the metal remover. Anyway, I'd definitely recommend this product to others."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth Every Penny!!,
Date:November 8, 2009
By dollmaker
from NW Arkansas
from NW Arkansas
Pros: Works like Magic!
Cons: Not a single one IMHO
"This product is magical. I'd tried other products and nothing really did what it said it would do. My pool was badly stained and I couldn't even scrub it off the water line. I put this product in, honestly not expecting it to work. WRONG!! Within minutes I could see it working and by the next day all stains were mostly gone. Within another 24 hours the stains were gone except for the waterline..I added water to the pool and the waterline stains are now disappearing! I did add Metal Free but I think it probably needed it anyway and it's really not to big a hassel.
Thank you ITS for offering a product that REALLY does what it says it will do! I'm getting more to just keep on hand!
"
Review 8 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchase Ever,
Date:July 17, 2009
By Joanie
from West Chester,PA
from West Chester,PA
Pros: Did what is was suppossed to
Cons: NONE
"My drains and my jets and steps started to turn yellow. My local pool company told me to take a vitamin c tablet, and run it over the stain. If it removes it, use a product to remove it. So I bought your stain free and metal out, and used as directed. So here is how you use it to get results fast! Take a water sample to your pool store. Get the chlorine level to 1 and the PH and the alk in check. Then you are ready to use the Stain -Free. I am telling you that after I waited the hour, and with pump running the whole time and put in the metal free, all yellowing disappeared!! Then we backwashed after 24 hours. So I hope the stain stays away for the rest of the summer."
Review 9 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magic stain removal,
Date:July 6, 2009
By WestchesterAl
from Somers, NY
from Somers, NY
Pros: Removes "permanent" stains
Cons: adjustments required to pH, alkalinity and chlorine
"Last year my in-ground vinyl liner had large areas of dark underwater stains. After a summer of coddling, about half of the stained area cleared up. This Spring, the stains were back, covering most of the liner (below the water line). They were so imbedded that I figured I'd have to live with them until I replaced the liner. I decided to try Stain Free, I followed the instructions. At first, nothing seemed to be happening. By the next day, the liner was about 75% clear. I left the chlorinator off and after three days the stains were virtually gone. Brushing was never effective during this time. The stains got dissolved, not softened. This product is fantastic."
Review 10 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after two years something worked,
Date:August 31, 2007
By stainsiniowa
Pros: easy to use and effective
Cons: none
"After two years of searching and four pool companies selling various stain removal products I stumbled onto this product through this web site. I took a vitamin "C" pill and tested it on the stains and it did work. So I purchased it and took a gamble. $30.00 isn't cheap. To my surprise it worked virtually over night to get rid of my yellow-brown stains and it looks like a new liner now. Just follow the instructions closely and I did do as one person suggested and shut off my pump over night to let it settle. I think that may actually help more then circulating it all night. Anyway, great product and I still have half the container for next time....Mike"
Review 11 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Year Old Liner Looks Brand New!,
Date:May 23, 2011
By MSpoolGirl
from Terry, MS
from Terry, MS
Pros: easy application, beautiful results, squeaky clean surfaces
Cons: the results are not immediate. You must be very patient!!!!!!!
"Each summer start up, we have brown and yellow staining on the hard plastic surfaces such as the skimmer and steps and the liner has a dull brownish tint. We used Ascorb-X one year (which was a super product) but isn't as "environmentally safe" as Stain Free and is no longer sold. You must be sure the chlorine is low to apply this product or it will not work. If your water balance is good and chlorine low...the results are amazing. Don't be dissapointed if you don't see a change right away. Ours was significantly stained and after about 12-18 hours looked BRAND NEW! We added clarifier at the end of 24 hours and the pool is beautiful!!!!!"
Review 12 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding results!,
Date:June 2, 2010
By H2OGirl
from NC
from NC
Pros: Immediate results. Safe for family and the environment.
Cons: None that I can thik of.
"For some reason, this year, the white fiberglass areas in my vinyl lined pool turned a dark-yellow tan color that looked terrible. I tried scrubbing with several stain remover products for pools to no avail. I was considering draining most of the water so I could get to the inlets and the bottom side walls of the steps, when I purchased this product after reading all the positive reviews. The results were amazing! The tan steps turned a brilliant white in seconds, and after circulating the product for 24 hours everything is sparkling. I will make sure to keep this product on hand."
Review 13 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Stuff Works !!!,
Date:June 22, 2009
By woodduc12
from East Texas
from East Texas
Pros: Ease of Application
Cons: None
"I had conceded to the fact that I was going to have to purchase a new pool liner due to severe staining caused by the combination of a cheap algecide and well water. In a final last ditch effort I decided to try this product. I poured one container of Stain Free and one hour later I added a bottle of Metal Free. I was skeptical at first but when I went out the next morning (8 hours later) there was a noticeable difference. After 24 hours all signs of staining were gone from the skimmer, steps, and the liner. This product saved me $600. I am a believer in this stuff!!!"
Review 14 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magic,
Date:June 26, 2008
By AMAZED
from ROME, NY
from ROME, NY
Pros: Easy and fast acting
Cons: none
"MY POOL LINER AND STEPS TURNED A BROWNISH COLOR AFTER A WEEK OF 90DEG. HEAT AND NOT REMOVING THE SOLAR COVER LOCAL POOL STORES SOLD ME HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS OF SUPPLIES TO NO AVAIL. AS SOON AS THIS STUFF HIT THE WATER IT WAS LIKE MAGIC THE STEPS TURNED FROM BROWN TO BRIGHT WHITE JUST LIKE MAGIC. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS I DIDNT PURCHASE ENOUGH. I WENT BACK TO MY POOL STORE AND NO ONE SELLS THIS STUFF. I SPENT UPWARDS OF 140 DOLLARS ON 2 DIFFERENT STAIN REMOVERS AFTER THIS TO ACHIVE WHAT THIS STUFF DOES IN SECONDS TO THE OTHERS DO IN DAYS."
Review 15 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievable,
Date:May 31, 2008
By Crypticq
from Bridgeton, NJ
from Bridgeton, NJ
Pros: Simple to use
Cons: Expensive but worth every penny
"Installed fiberglass pool last year. Opened it up this year and everything was ok with nothing unusual. Installed solar cover and had it on for a week. My wife uncovered it and the entire pool had a brown stain that we could not scrub out. We have well water with an apparent iron high content. Read you reviews, bought the product and as noted left the pump off. All I did was pour the product on the surface of the water and watched the stain disappear before my eyes. Absolutely no scrubbing and the pool looks better than new."
Review 16 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome stain remover,
Date:June 27, 2007
By crazycar
Pros: Gets out tough fiber glass stains
Cons: such a clean pool it hurts your eyes
"I've asked many pool experts how to deal with my stain in my fiberglass pool. I had a ugly brown stain that could not be scrubbed off. I used this and could not believe my eyes, it is incredible, how the stains just melt off the fiberglass. I have recommeded this to my friend who for 2 years just lived with a brown pool ..all her chemicals where in order, so she just lived with it. She to this day can't thank me enough for turning her on to this product. You would be a fool not to use this if you are having this problem."
Review 17 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overnight Success,
Date:June 15, 2012
By PennaPool
from Eastern PA
from Eastern PA
Pros: Simple, one-shot solution, it works, natural antioxidant
Cons: Need to adjust pool chemistry first for optimum results
"When I opened my pool this spring, I thought I was going to have to replace my 7 year-old liner. I had brown tea colored stains all over the deep end and in the seams. Brushing, vacuuming, shocking did not help. I found this ascorbic acid online and figured I'd give it a try without expecting much. In 24 hours ALL the stains were gone. The liner looked brand new again. Even the waterline stains were gone. Saved me several thousand bucks. I did follow with the MetalFree treatment as reccomended. It prevents scurvy too!"
Review 18 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works quickly!,
Date:July 25, 2009
By Carolinamom
from Hampstead, NC
from Hampstead, NC
Pros: Easy to use, works right away
Cons: Price
"I've used this product several times....and it works! I had a pool care shop "mis-instruct" me on a Calcium amount, to find out the only way to stop the brown calcium staining from re-occuring was to empty the pool. I want to wait until the summer is over to empty the pool, but the stain keeps re-occuring (warning: make sure your pool store is reputable). I have used this product every couple of weeks to clear the brown stain...and it starts to work right away! I tried other products, but feel this one works the best!"
Review 19 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works!!!!!!,
Date:May 27, 2010
By Handyman
from Chicago, Illinois
from Chicago, Illinois
Pros: Works fast and gets the job done.
Cons: None.
"I purchase this product after 10 years of using other stain removers. In seconds after adding the product to my vynil lined pool the stains began to disappear before my eyes. I sent the kids in the house to get my wife to watch, but before she could come outside the stains on my steps were gone. My ten year old liner and steps look like new. Within 24 hours the entire pool, skimmers, steps and liner looked like new. If you try this product once, you will never purchase another stain remover.......Mike & Melissa"
Review 20 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product truly works,
Date:September 29, 2007
By sheilak
Pros: A miracle!
"I have a large concrete pool with a connecting spa. My spa and pool steps always turned a disgusting brown in the hottest parts of summer even if the chemicals were good. A kid at our local pool store sold me this (for $56!!!) and it worked instantly. I subsequently have bought it from In The Swim because of the more reasonable price. It does work best if you turn off your pool pump for a little while and let it settle. I usually get out my brush and brush it around, then turn the pump back on."