In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Opening Chemicals or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Stain Free

Find Natural Chemistry's all-natural Stain Free for great value at In the Swim. Stain Free is a powerful yet safe ascorbic acid-based formula that is ideal for removing tough stains from vinyl pools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.787 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
74 of 80(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stain Free
Review 1 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful Product,
Date:August 21, 2012
By poolguy7
"I have a fiberGlass pool and the whole pool turned brown . I purchaced StainFree plus Metal Away and two days later my pool was back too normal all stains gone"
Review 2 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Gotta Have,
Date:June 28, 2012
By JRP123
from Hunterdon County, NJ
from Hunterdon County, NJ
Pros: Our pool was bright and sparkling clean overnight with minimal work!
Cons: No cons for this product. Worked BETTER than expected.
"This product was used in conjuction with Metal Free and followed the directions fully. The next morning our pool looked brand new and not a stain in sight!!!"
Review 3 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overnight Success,
Date:June 15, 2012
By PennaPool
from Eastern PA
from Eastern PA
Pros: Simple, one-shot solution, it works, natural antioxidant
Cons: Need to adjust pool chemistry first for optimum results
"When I opened my pool this spring, I thought I was going to have to replace my 7 year-old liner. I had brown tea colored stains all over the deep end and in the seams. Brushing, vacuuming, shocking did not help. I found this ascorbic acid online and figured I'd give it a try without expecting much. In 24 hours ALL the stains were gone. The liner looked brand new again. Even the waterline stains were gone. Saved me several thousand bucks. I did follow with the MetalFree treatment as reccomended. It prevents scurvy too!"
Review 4 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked for me!!,
Date:June 5, 2012
By Happysofar
from PA
from PA
Pros: Clear water within days of initial use and I mean crystal clear
Cons: Have to reduce chlorine content to nothing for product to work
"Took a couple days but worked excellent for my iron stain. I say stain because the whole pool was brown. Use Metal Free to control the iron from releasing again."
Review 5 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Product,
Date:April 24, 2012
By lawdawgmom
Pros: This product is as good as advertised. Does the job beautifully.
Cons: I really want to say "none," but if I must I'll say that it is not overnight but takes a few days.
"I purchased this product for the first time at the end of last season. My liner was horribly stained and I feared I was going to have to purchase a new liner. I tried this product on a wing and a prayer. What a wonderful surprise! In just a few days my liner looked brand new. At the start of this season my steps got really stained during the startup process, so I tried this product again. My steps are now beautifully white again. I am so pleased with this product. Please give it a try!"
Review 6 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
Date:June 25, 2011
By rnkgrn
from Martinsburg, WV
from Martinsburg, WV
Pros: All stains are gone, easy to use, worked quickly, glad I made this purchase.
Cons: There are none to report. I did not experience any adverse consequences.
"All stains gone from vinyl pool liner (walls and bottom) in less than 24 hours! I am so happy. The stains were an eye sore and now the pool is sparkling clean!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome,
Date:June 7, 2011
By js4426
from Pennsylvania
from Pennsylvania
Pros: Great Product!!!!Cleared all stains. Highly recommended.
Cons: None. Everything worked out better than expected. Highly recommended.
"I decided to go with the product that had the best rating. What a great decision. I let the chlorine burn off and as directed, added the Stain free to the water. I was concerned after only 12 hrs, seeing little results but after 24 hrs, my liner pool looked like it did 7 years prior. I had some type of stains in the center of the pool, possibly from metal in the water. GONE,GONE,GONE!!!!! GREAT PRODUCT!!!"
Review 8 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 Year Old Liner Looks Brand New!,
Date:May 23, 2011
By MSpoolGirl
from Terry, MS
from Terry, MS
Pros: easy application, beautiful results, squeaky clean surfaces
Cons: the results are not immediate. You must be very patient!!!!!!!
"Each summer start up, we have brown and yellow staining on the hard plastic surfaces such as the skimmer and steps and the liner has a dull brownish tint. We used Ascorb-X one year (which was a super product) but isn't as "environmentally safe" as Stain Free and is no longer sold. You must be sure the chlorine is low to apply this product or it will not work. If your water balance is good and chlorine low...the results are amazing. Don't be dissapointed if you don't see a change right away. Ours was significantly stained and after about 12-18 hours looked BRAND NEW! We added clarifier at the end of 24 hours and the pool is beautiful!!!!!"
Review 9 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORKS!!!!,
Date:August 13, 2010
By Ianslove
from California
from California
"This product worked for us in about 36 hours...did not add the metal free...have had no issues. Liner looks like new as well as the ladder and light. I would highly recommend...just follow the directions as best as you can. I could hardly believe my eyes and my liner was a dark deep brown from a shock product my husband purchased. It is now a beautiful bright blue. I love this product!"
Review 10 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked!,
Date:August 10, 2010
By cquins
from Washington, IL
from Washington, IL
Pros: Worked within 12 hours and was able to swim the next day
"I used this product, one 2 lb. container, in my 25,000 gallon pool. I did not use the Metal free as instructed and my pool liner, return lines and skimmer were cleaner than they had been since I can remember (our pool is 29 years old, the liner is 13 years old). I did need to apply a month later and now it needs to be done again. But I will try the Metal free with it the next time. But for only $30.00 I was quite satisfied with the results."
Review 11 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stain Free,
Date:July 21, 2010
By 5swimmers
from WI
from WI
Pros: easy, fast, effective, natural
"I have used this product twice in recent years, with superior results each time. If your stains are the result of inadequate metal sequestering when you shock, this product works flawlessly, quickly and virtually effortlessly-- but follow directions-- be certain your free chlorine is at or below the recommended level, and you will see results in hours to a day, depending on the intensity of the stain. I would not use any other product on our gel fiberglass pool. Great products."
Review 12 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DOES NOT WORK,
Date:June 24, 2010
By SummerIsBest
Pros: None
Cons: Expensive and doesn't work
"After reading the rave reviews of this product, I decided to try it. I was highly sceptical, but I thought with all of the positive reviews it must work. Between this product and the Metal Free that is required, I spent about $110 for the quantity required for my in-ground pool. I followed the directions explicitly. The stains on my vinyl liner remain and did not change in the least.
This product is a complete waste of time and money. DO NOT BUY IT!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Works!,
Date:June 17, 2010
By RonPags7
from Bordentown, New Jersey
from Bordentown, New Jersey
Pros: Used with the Metal free there is little scrubbing.
Cons: Expensive but worth it. All others fail and are harsh.
"My steps, drains, skimmers & wall returns were yellowing badly. I followed the directions on the container of "Stain Free" and added the "Metal Free" after an hour. The key is making sure your PH, alkalinity & Calcium hardness are at proper levels & most important your Chlorine is under 1 PPM. I waited more than 24 hrs before I vaccumed. I could see results in 24 hrs however in 36 hours everything was brilliant white again. I am not sure how long this will last though but I will use it again!"
Review 14 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding results!,
Date:June 2, 2010
By H2OGirl
from NC
from NC
Pros: Immediate results. Safe for family and the environment.
Cons: None that I can thik of.
"For some reason, this year, the white fiberglass areas in my vinyl lined pool turned a dark-yellow tan color that looked terrible. I tried scrubbing with several stain remover products for pools to no avail. I was considering draining most of the water so I could get to the inlets and the bottom side walls of the steps, when I purchased this product after reading all the positive reviews. The results were amazing! The tan steps turned a brilliant white in seconds, and after circulating the product for 24 hours everything is sparkling. I will make sure to keep this product on hand."
Review 15 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely Magic!,
Date:May 31, 2010
By Punzell
from Kentucky Lake, KY
from Kentucky Lake, KY
Pros: Works better than expected!
Cons: None
"Great stuff! Can't say enough postive comments. Inground pool had brown stains, nothing I tried worked. Absolutely Magic! Tried this & stains vanished immediately! WoW!"
Review 16 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works!!!!!!,
Date:May 27, 2010
By Handyman
from Chicago, Illinois
from Chicago, Illinois
Pros: Works fast and gets the job done.
Cons: None.
"I purchase this product after 10 years of using other stain removers. In seconds after adding the product to my vynil lined pool the stains began to disappear before my eyes. I sent the kids in the house to get my wife to watch, but before she could come outside the stains on my steps were gone. My ten year old liner and steps look like new. Within 24 hours the entire pool, skimmers, steps and liner looked like new. If you try this product once, you will never purchase another stain remover.......Mike & Melissa"
Review 17 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth Every Penny!!,
Date:November 8, 2009
By dollmaker
from NW Arkansas
from NW Arkansas
Pros: Works like Magic!
Cons: Not a single one IMHO
"This product is magical. I'd tried other products and nothing really did what it said it would do. My pool was badly stained and I couldn't even scrub it off the water line. I put this product in, honestly not expecting it to work. WRONG!! Within minutes I could see it working and by the next day all stains were mostly gone. Within another 24 hours the stains were gone except for the waterline..I added water to the pool and the waterline stains are now disappearing! I did add Metal Free but I think it probably needed it anyway and it's really not to big a hassel.
Thank you ITS for offering a product that REALLY does what it says it will do! I'm getting more to just keep on hand!
"
Review 18 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product,
Date:August 8, 2009
By JMcAulay
from Cleveland, Ohio
from Cleveland, Ohio
Pros: Works instantly
Cons: A bit expensive, but worth the price.
"Stain free works almost magically. When added to my fiberglass pool I watched as stains disappeared before my eyes. Nothing else I have ever tried works so well."
Review 19 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
Date:August 3, 2009
By jdog
from Wilmington, NC
from Wilmington, NC
Pros: Fast acting, powerful
Cons: none
"This product, combined with metal-free, seems to be the only product that quickly and completely removes iron stains."
Review 20 for Stain Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff,
Date:August 2, 2009
By Fressa
from Somerset, NJ
from Somerset, NJ
Pros: Solves the problem almost immediately
Cons: Needs a follow-up metal free application
"Did the trick, cleared up my problem quickly."