In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Solar Pool Covers & Reels for Above-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder

"The east economical way to store your above ground solar pool cover! One-person operation and one-simple-step make this holder so easy to use, you'll wonder what you did without it!"
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
18 of 22(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Review 1 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disapointed,
Date:June 11, 2012
By muzz
from WI
from WI
Pros: I can't think of anything nice to say about this product.
Cons: This product is pretty flimsy and not what I expected.
"The 'saddles' pivot and move a lot. There are two sets of bolts and only 10 nuts so you better not drop one in the grass while you are bending under the top rail to put this together. Just PVC and because they are only secured on the top they move. Had I not made holes in the pools top rail I would have returned this product. Over priced."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WORKS GREAT but EXPENSIVE,
Date:July 17, 2009
By Mellow
from Grand Island, N.Y.
from Grand Island, N.Y.
Pros: works great, no more grass on cover
Cons: very expensive for plastic hooks
"I was pleased after installed, not crazy about permanent holes in my new pool rails should hooks brake or crack during winter months, however so far its holding cover rather well. My pool is 24' round I would advise putting end hooks a couple inches closer together, cover does sometimes fall on either end if not placed on just so. $100.00 is a crazy amount for 5 plastic hooks but I do love them so far."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Cherilynn
from Curtice, Ohio
from Curtice, Ohio
Pros: Holds solar cover well.
Cons: A little hard to get back in pool from hooks.
"We do really like the solar hooks we do not have a roller and this is an easy way to keep our cover protected while we are swimming. We have a 30 foot round pool and so we are going to order a second set to make it even nicer to hold our cover. We would definately recommend the cover holder it keeps cover safe and out of the way.
Cheryl Flack"
Review 4 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BUYER BEWARE,
Date:June 26, 2009
By Murphy
Pros: Great Concept
Cons: Not for round rails
"No where in the product specs did it state the saddle was ONLY suitable for "flat pool rails"! My round intex pool has 2" round metal rails. No way to attach the saddle without compromising the integrity of the pool structure. Had to return the product. Would be interested if there was a saddle made for round pool rails."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great product,
Date:June 17, 2009
By Aussie
from Spokane, Wa
from Spokane, Wa
Pros: good
"You have to drill threw the top rail if yours has big rails was not in instructions called mfg. I have a broken hand on and off piece of cake now love it."
Review 6 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted!,
Date:December 15, 2008
By duncan
Pros: Makes removing cover a Snap! More room on Deck!
Cons: None
"Very easy to use and install, made life much easier and added a lot more room on the deck. Solar cover was no longer a safety hazard lying on the deck!"
Review 7 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great idea but flimsy brackets,
Date:December 14, 2008
By Steeger
from Rockford Il.
from Rockford Il.
Pros: cover removal and install is simple and truly a 1 person application
Cons: Brackets that hold saddles to pool are made of plastic
"The saddle does indeed make removal and installation of the solar cover a simple and speedy 1 person operation. However the brackets that attach the saddles, or hooks, to the top of the pool edge are made of plastic and break extremely easily. I just re-attached to the pool edge using electrical ties, and it works great, and a bonus is that when the cover is on, you can fold the hooks to the side of the pool out of the way. Someone creative could fabricate brackets out of metal.
The product is a bit over priced for what you get, but I would spend the money again for the ease and time saved in 1 person cover removal and install.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap, Weak PVC,
Date:September 20, 2008
By ShawnM
from Johnstown, PA
from Johnstown, PA
Pros: Installs easy
Cons: Made Cheap
"The idea that I payed that amount of money for these poorly constructed curved plastic pipes makes me feel pretty stupid. The pins that hold them up snap in half. I have a 24 foot pool. Save yourself some money in the end and just buy a good reel."
Review 9 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes USE of solar cover EASIER!!!,
Date:September 2, 2008
By Maxxsdad
from Rockland, NY
from Rockland, NY
Pros: Great PVC material...wide hooks for any size cover
Cons: exact # of screws...plastic holding pins...made for flat caps
"The saddle itself does the job intended...It is now very easy to pull the cover off or back on by ONE person!!!...Just don't drop & lose any hardware as you get the exact amount. Also the pins used to hold the hooks in place are plastic, too easy to slide in or OUT...for end hooks had to use Dremel tool as this is better suited for AG caps that have no criss-cross support under them...But definitely made USING the solar cover a lot easier!!!"
Review 10 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not pretty but it works,
Date:August 26, 2008
By bigdave
from Holden, MA
from Holden, MA
Pros: Easy to use,
Cons: Had to buy longer screws to install on my pool, Clear plastic pins to hold hooks come out to easy
"I have a 24 ft round pool. I ordered the solar saddle to keep my solar cover off the lawn and so I could put the cover back on with out getting out of the pool. It does work. It was not difficult to install, but I did need to buy longer screws the very short screws provided didn't go thruough the thick sides of a Hayward pool. The pins to hold the hooks on the bracket are smooth clear plastic and slide out to easy, a flared end on one side would help, once on the ground they are difficult to spot. The pins don't look strong enough to hold the weight but so far no issue on that front. Overall I'm happy so far, I just hope it holds up to long term use. It seems a little expensive for what you get just PVC pipe"
Review 11 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
Date:August 5, 2008
By md1024
from Central NY
from Central NY
"I have a 15' x 30' pool. I first purchased one set of the solar saddles, several years ago, and was very pleased with its ease in installing and the ease in use with the solar cover. Last fall I purchased a second set to add to the overall coverage of the solar cover. Some of the parts were missing. After notifying company I was personally contacted and quickly sent the misses pieces. I strongly recommend this product for those that do not want to mess around with a reel."
Review 12 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but a little pricy,
Date:August 1, 2008
By Swimmer2008
from South Central PA
from South Central PA
Pros: Econonical
Cons: Spacing suggestions
"This product works as advertised. My problem was the spacing for the hooks. I had to move the outside hooks in towards the center because my 24 foot pool solar cover would not fold properly and stay on. After doing that it worked fine, making it simple to remove the cover and pull it back on."
Review 13 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Solution,
Date:July 7, 2008
By Jim911
from Chicago, IL
from Chicago, IL
"We've got a 24' round pool and this works great. We used to roll up the cover and lay it in the grass or drap it over our fence. The fence would tear it and we got all kinds of dirt and grass back in the pool.
This attached quite easily and makes covering and uncovering much better. I can uncover it from outside the pool and pull it back on from inside the pool by myself. My son can pull it back on with a little help. No more grass all over the cover!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2007
By Hazeleyedgal
Pros: ?
Cons: Did not work with our 2007 model
"We have a 2007 18x33 above ground from Watson's. The hanging brackets would not work with our rails because they have a raised criss cross pattern underneath. The brackets were too large to fit into the spaces. Rails need to be flat underneath or this product will not work. If there is an alternative hanging method, or a way to deal with this issue, it was not listed in the installation directions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a perfect saver, in so many ways!,
Date:September 13, 2007
By Siesta
Pros: Very easy to install
"Our old solar cover had a lot of wear -and- tear from constantly taking it on and off of our pool. So, we purchased a new solar cover from In The Swim. In the process of putting it on our pool we realized that it weighed much more than our old cover did and would be more difficult to remove.
This solar cover holder is the answer to our problem. It not only saves wear-and-tear on our new cover but it saves us a lot of energy and time.
"
Review 16 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
saved the solar cover,
Date:August 28, 2007
By lajenglishteacher
Pros: one person can use it, inexpensive, useful
Cons: takes a little practice to use
"Before the solar saddle, we were bunching up our cover on the tiny deck or throwing it in the grass. We have a very large pool, and this product allowed us to inexpensively store our cover while we are swimming. It also is easy to pull back onto the pool when finished."
Review 17 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2007
By Blazeluv
Pros: Easy to put on and off pool
Cons: Falls out of one side sometime
"Solar Saddle was easy to install on our pool. We got rid of the unsightly solar cover sitting on our deck as well as keeping it clean."
Review 18 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great purchase,
Date:August 24, 2007
By byjandp
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: More detailed instructions
"My husband installed it in a short period of time. Easy to pull the solar blanket over side of pool and accordian it into the hooks. Can be done by only one person if needed."
Review 19 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Alternative to the Reels,
Date:August 24, 2007
By PoolBetty
Pros: Easy to install and Use
Cons: You have to get the spacing just right
"We have used a solar reel for about 3 years prior. Everyone in the family hated it! Nobody wanted to be first in the pool or last out. There was always complications. I found this on line and decided it couldn't hurt to try. Wow! The whole family agrees how much easier it is! No more fighting with a big heavy reel and having the stupid blanket get stuck. It is simply: fold and over the edge! The only downfall was installation. It took a few attempts to get the saddles where they needed to be for proper storage of the blanket."
Review 20 for Solar Saddle Pool Cover Holder
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the solor panel and hook!!!,
Date:August 22, 2007
By soldierswife1105
from Clarkrange TN
from Clarkrange TN
Pros: Keeps the pool cleans of debris, helps to warm the water, the hooks keep it off of the ground!
Cons: a little hard the keep it on the edges of the pool. I thought about placing magnets on it, they won't stick!
"We live in the Appalician Mts. so the water temp drops dramatically EVERY night. Since we have had the panel to pull over it, the pool is much more comfortable to swim in. It is easy on and off. My 11 and 12 year old can accomplish it with out my help. I beleieve the solor panel is the greatest invention since peanutbutter! I strongly recommend the use of a solor panel, especially if you are like me and do not like cold water. Try it it works."