In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Automatic Pool Cleaners for In-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Polaris Unicover

Pool drain cover creates a smooth surface for automatic pool cleaners to travel over main drains. Polaris Unicover quickly installs on pool main drains and works with all swimming pool cleaners.
Average Customer Rating:
3.562 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
10 of 16(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Polaris Unicover
Review 1 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product for Aquabot Owners,
Date:May 25, 2010
By SwimInOK
from Oklahoma
from Oklahoma
Pros: Easy to install, works great for the Aquabot Pool Cleaner
Cons: None
"I own an inground pool and use a Aquabot Pool Cleaner. I also was having problems with my Aquabot constantly getting hung on my main drain in the center of the pool. When I read the reviews on this product from other Aquabot owners, I quickly placed my order.
I got it within 3 days after order, and it took me less than 10 minutes to put it together and install. Now, my Aquabot cruises over the main drain without any problems.
This is a "must have" for all Aquabot owners."
Review 2 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Baracuda hangs up on it!,
Date:July 1, 2009
By Minnich
from Whitehall, PA
from Whitehall, PA
Pros: Nice cover for bottom drain
Cons: Doesn't do what advertised!
"Barracuda pushes it off the bottom drain, making it useless. Barracuda then hangs up on drain. Should be made of solid plastic, tapered to almost nothing, rather than a plactic center and another material that deteriorates by the chemicals."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase!!,
Date:July 25, 2008
By SAVEDBYGRACE
from Lawrenceburg, TN
from Lawrenceburg, TN
Pros: Aquabot T2 doesn't hang up on drain any longer
Cons: None
"I have an inground liner pool and an Aquabot T2 robotic cleaner. The Aquabot was continually getting stuck on the main drain. I read a previous review of an Aquabot user that said the unicover was a must. I now agree 100%!!!! The unicover totally solved my Aquabot hang up issue. The unicover doesn't fit tightly, but I found out that it really doesn't matter. It stays in place great. It only took me about 5 minutes to put the cover together and get it in place. The only issue that I had was finding the page of instructions that was in English. Great product for an Aquabot user!!!!"
Review 4 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buyer Beware,
Date:July 22, 2008
By Wishfuldreamer
Pros: Looks nice when on drain.
Cons: Way too light, Won't stay on drain
""THE COVER DOES NOT STAY IN PLACE AS ADVERTISED!!!!
My Kreepy Krauly pushes it all over the pool. I do not recommend this cover if you have this type of pool vacuum or one that has strong suction.""
Review 5 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great with my dolphin dynamic,
Date:June 6, 2008
By frontman
from deatsville, alabama
from deatsville, alabama
Pros: easy to install
Cons: a little loose, does not fit tightly around existing drain
"my dolphin dynamic does a great job... when it is not spinning round and round stuck on the bottom drain. when i saw this product, i had to give it a try. installs easily. only a few screws. then you sink it to the bottom and it just rests over/around your existing drain. i have the standard hayward anti-vortex drain. the unicover fits over it, but not snugly, there is about a half inch of room all the way around. which scared me at first. i thought the dolphin might push it off. but it did not. it works great. no more getting stuck!"
Review 6 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not work with a Kreepy Krauly,
Date:May 9, 2008
By inf25th
"The cover does not stay in place over the drain. The Kreepy Krauly pushes it all over the pool. I do not recommend this cover if you have this type of pool vacuum"
Review 7 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORKS LIKE A CHARM FOR AQUABOT,
Date:September 26, 2007
By RATH
Pros: WORKS LIKE IT SHOULD!!!!
Cons: none that i can think of
"if you have an AQUABOT, this cover is a must....the aquabot glides right over the top, with no more getting stuck on the drain...might not work well with other cleaners, but for AQUABOT owners, it's a must!!!!"
Review 8 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money,
Date:September 22, 2007
By papahemi
from Roseville Ca.
from Roseville Ca.
Pros: Quick delivery of purchase
Cons: Polaris ATV cleaner sucks up unicover
"After purchase the Unicover worked flawlessly for a couple of weeks. Then it started being sucked up by the Polaris ATV cleaner when it went by the edge of the Unicover. Now instead of just pulling the ATV cleaner off the drain I have to pull the ATV cleaner off the Unicover and reposition the Unicover back over the drain. I have checked the suction on the cleaner and it is set right. Rubber around edge of Unicover too flexible and needs to be made from a stiffer material."
Review 9 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solved a nagging problem,
Date:August 31, 2007
By kandj
Pros: vacuum easily flows over the bottom drain now
Cons: only good
"excellent quality and easy to install. now vacuum glides over the drain instead of getting hung up."
Review 10 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work for me,
Date:August 25, 2007
By Rich01
Pros: Easy to assemble
Cons: Did not work as indicated
"My vacuum sucks onto the top center of the cover and pulls the cover off the drain. I watched the vacuum and it would climb right onto the cover and as soon as it hit the center, it started pulling the cover off. It moves it all over the pool until the cover finally drops off and then the next time by the drain it gets stuck again. The cover did NOT work for me."
Review 11 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2007
By oldmanutley
Pros: Easy to use. Very easy to install
Cons: none
"My Krepy Krawly kept getting stuck on my main drain but after installing this product It has never, I mean never, gotten stuck even once. I wish I had bought one years before. It's worth every penny you pay. After I ordered, The "In The Swim" company delivered it very, very quickly. It's almost like they had a store next door to me."
Review 12 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential for an Automatic Cleaner,
Date:August 22, 2007
By Herplaw
Pros: easy to assemble and install
Cons: isn't fastened in place
"I got an AquaVac Tiger Shark and didn't understand why it didn't get the whole pool clean overnight. I ran it during the day once and saw that it got caught on top of the main drain and just sat there. After I purchased and installed the Unicover, it hasn't gotten stuck again and now my pool is in great shape. Excellent purchase, and essential for an automatic cleaner."
Review 13 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
doesn't work in my pool,
Date:August 22, 2007
By tipnring
from Hamburg, NY
from Hamburg, NY
Pros: good idea
Cons: doesn't lie flat with high dome drain
"tried out the Unicover, it's a good idea but will not lie flat enough on a drain with a high dome. The dome kept the outside edges from touching the bottom therefore the Hayward Navigator cleaner will get stuck on the edges and not climb over. I had to return the Unicover."
Review 14 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must Have for Polaris,
Date:August 22, 2007
By santeferwj
Pros: Polaris doesn't get stuck on drain anymore.
Cons: Need to remove it occassionally to remove debris
"This product is great and allowing me to enjoy the pool even more. Prior to purchasing the product, I would come home and see the Polaris sweeper stuck on the drain and the bottom of the pool still litered with debris. Now, I don't have to monitor the Polaris and when I come home from work, I can jump into the pool....no pausing to manually sweep the pool anymore."
Review 15 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great,
Date:August 10, 2007
By ddkCinci
Pros: Keeps from being stuck on pool bottom filter
Cons: nothing
"Worth the $$$ versus always having the expensive Aquabot stuck on the bottom drain"
Review 16 for Polaris Unicover
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Real Problem Solver,
Date:August 10, 2007
By Kaytee
"The Polaris Unicover really does what it says! The pool cleaner is able to work without getting caught on the bottom drain cover. It takes the worry out of cleaning the pool."