In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Automatic Pool Cleaners for In-Ground Pools or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner

Polaris 165 automatic pool cleaner is an affordable and efficient pool sweep. In-ground swimming pool cleaner moves on the pool water surface and uses a mesh bag to trap debris. Polaris pool cleaners.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 8
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Review 1 for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Suprised,
Date:June 15, 2011
By Bishop
from South Carolina
from South Carolina
Pros: Super Product. Great for anyone with in-ground pool.
Cons: Nothing bad to say. Try and it and you will see how good it works.
"This product does everything is says it will do. I just received the 165 today and it has already clean my pool in less than 3hrs. I am really please with this product. Wish I would have ordered it sooner."
Review 2 for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not what it seems,
Date:September 2, 2009
By ADFSC
from Greenville, SC
from Greenville, SC
Pros: Simple set up - Allows use of skimmer
Cons: Doesn't clean surface or clean evenly
"Contrary to what you might think from its appearance or read in other reviews, this cleaner does nothing to clean the surface. It only collects large debris on the pool bottom and not evenly. It has a hard time with corners at the bottom. It does mix up the fine silt so it can be pulled into your filter to be cleaned, but does nothing to remove it."
Review 3 for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
works okay,
Date:June 6, 2009
By panda
Pros: easy to set up and works good for awhile
Cons: hoses split easy gets sluggish
"In the beginning it works great, except won't clean near the ladder so all the leaves and debree stays on the left side of the pool in the deep part around the ladder area. The hoses seem to get a split. It starts to get sluggish even after the filer has been back washed. I've had a couple other pool cleaners that work thru the skimmer, don't like them because of the leaves that don't get skimmed. so I keep buying this type of cleaner."
Review 4 for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love it!,
Date:November 26, 2008
By Webbmkr
from Loveland, CO
from Loveland, CO
Pros: does a good job skimming the bottom
Cons: hose too short
"We are very happy with the polaris. It is our first sweep and we didn't know what to expect but it does a really good job of trapping the debris floating in the water and the bottom (not just the top like we expected) from the look of it. We used it everyday for the entire summer and it was still going strong by the end. The only semi-neg's are that the hose that comes with it is a bit short for an avg length pool and the connection to the filter outlet could be easier to secure/and keep tightly fitted (when it's not water shoots out and the sweep loses a lot of power)."
Review 5 for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad for the money,
Date:September 9, 2008
By NCpoolpwner
from NC
from NC
Pros: Relatively cheap, reliable, easy to assemble
Cons: requires some monitoring, not 100% effective.
"I have a 18 X 32 IG Grecian style pool. I had a polaris 360 for about 3 years until it broke down. A friend recommended the 165 to me so I thought I would give it a try since its cheaper and see how it works. I have used it this whole season and it has done fairly well.
The assembly was easy to do in less than 30 minutes. The only tool you need is a knife to cut the hose. The hose comes coiled up and tries to stay that way in the pool. So lay it strait on concrete in the hot sun for a day to help get the coil out of it. The 165 cleans fairly well. Not quite as efficient as the 360. It seems to want to get in the deep end and not get back out so you have to go outside and pull the cleaner to the area of the pool you want it to clean and hope it stays there. The bag gets about anything and the tail has jets that stir up silt to help the pool stay clean. Like all polaris cleaners of this type there is a little filter where the hose attaches to the wall that needs to be cleaned out once a week or so. If your cleaner looks sluggish that filter probably needs cleaning, which is quick and easy.
Overall not as fast at cleaning as the 360, but cheaper and hopefully more reliable. My friend had his 165 for many years. If you dont mind babysitting it a little bit then you will probably be happy with the 165. Also with a flat bottom round type pool it would probably not need any babysitting at all."
Review 6 for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
Date:January 26, 2008
By Cruiser
from Kansas
from Kansas
Pros: Saves time & energy in cleaning the pool
Cons: None
"The pool cleaner allows more time to enjoy the pool instead of breaking my back cleaning it. Simple connection to the skimmer. I couldn't live withou it."
Review 7 for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Polaris,
Date:August 22, 2007
By 2040PoolQueen
Pros: Great for leaves
Cons: doesn't pick up the small stuff
"Overall
I like the polaris. This is the first year for our 20x40 inground pool.
We had quite a lot of leaves in it when we opened the pool in the
spring and the polaris was great for getting them out. Just plug it in and let it go to work!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacing Polaris 165 - Great cleaner,
Date:May 16, 2007
By DexterPoolDadGuy
from Dexter, Michigan
from Dexter, Michigan
Pros: Inexpensive, works great, durable, proven technology
Cons: Can't clean under a solar cover, uses pressure side cleaning
"When we bought the house, a Polaris 165 came with the house. The Polaris 165 was over 10 years old and still worked! I used it for years until the kids broke it, so I'm replacing with the same thing. I trust Polaris, I know the 165 works in my in-ground vinyl pool, and it is a great value!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Polaris 165 Automatic Pool Cleaner
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1