In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Winterizing Pool Chemicals or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Metal Free Pool Chemical

Eliminate tough metal stains with a dose of Metal Free pool chemical once a week. Ideal for swimming pools with well water or hard water. Natural Chemistry Metal-Free prevents swimming pool stains.
Average Customer Rating:
4.938 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
15 of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Review 1 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Warning about product,
Date:April 2, 2014
By Codger
from Edmond OK
from Edmond OK
Pros: Metal out took all metal substances out of my pool
Cons: Cons make certain that you are not using a copper algecide
"this is just a warning. I use Zodiac Nature 2 Cartridge, which uses various metals to combat algecide. It also eans that I only need .05 chlorine. Have used 8 years and it works. This year I ordered the ultimate pool opening kit which unlike other kits includes a metals remover. My entire pool turned a ghastly green and I am still working to clear it. My Fault product says not to use with two types of pool chemicals but it did not specify Nature 2. It must work great because it destroyed my $100 cartridge and I have a clear green pool"
Review 2 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Invaluable product,
Date:July 27, 2012
By jbsteele
from Virginia
from Virginia
"If you have well water, metal free is a must! My grandchildren's hair kept turning green because of the metals in our water until we started using metal free. Now we use it consistently."
Review 3 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iron in our water,
Date:June 13, 2010
By MsWillie
from Copperas Cove, TX
from Copperas Cove, TX
Pros: WORKS SUPER SUPER FAST!
Cons: water did cloud up a bit, going to put in my water clarifier which someone else's review suggested to do.
"Bought the Stain Away and the Metal Free, used it according to the directions and my water is like it should be except for cloudiness. Another reviewer suggests putting in clarifier which I am about to do. Our Kempner Water Supply co-op has lots of iron in the water that they distribute to us, (water looks like brownish urine when new pool water is filled) and when you shock/chlorinate the pool, it immediately turns like brown nasty water, because chlorine oxidizes the iron content. These two products are a Godsend to all pool owners! I will continue to buy this and continue to dose my pool when topping it off as it suggests to do. No more brown water!!! Yeahhhhhhhhh"
Review 4 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
Date:August 8, 2009
By JMcAulay
from Cleveland, Ohio
from Cleveland, Ohio
Pros: Works instantly and efficiently
Cons: A bit expensive, but worth the price.
"When added according to directions after using the Stain Free, the Metal Free cleaned all of the metal out of my pool. It worked exactly the way that it promised to, and that's as good as it gets. After one use, my water tested free of all metal."
Review 5 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pool savior,
Date:August 1, 2009
By Fonetek
from Holt, Michigan
from Holt, Michigan
Pros: Quality of product
Cons: none
"I have been using Metal Free for several years now and it is an outstanding product, it really helps to keep the copper stain away from our fiberglass in-ground pool. In addition, the price that In the Swim charges is much lower than local pool stores and the product arrived the next day! :)"
Review 6 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase,
Date:July 18, 2009
By racegirl
Pros: Easy to use & keeps my pool looking great
Cons: None
"I have alot of iron in my water & by using this every week, it keeps the brown away longer, so I don't have to use the Stain Remover but once a month. Anyone with lousy water should get this product."
Review 7 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great stuff,
Date:July 12, 2009
By rambo
Pros: Works fast, easy to use.
"Metal Free is the best metal remover I've used. Great for my pool which is on a well with high iron content. I strongly recommend it!"
Review 8 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it really works,
Date:July 12, 2009
By hick
from Catskill Mountains,NY
from Catskill Mountains,NY
Pros: as advertised,Metal Free got rid of built-up Winter stains.
Cons: took about 10 days to 2 weeks.
"If you are OK with waiting a while,Metal Free is a great product...my pool looks brand new(It's 22 years old,in - ground,22x 42.) To be honest,after 5 or 6 days,I thought the product didn't work.around the 7th or 8th day,I saw signs of the stains removal.I would absolutely recommend this product."
Review 9 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did the trick,
Date:June 1, 2009
By Wellwater
from CT
from CT
Pros: Removed new stains on steps
"This product removed the brown staining on my fiberglass pool steps and other white trim in my pool. Our well water has high concentrations of magnesium and iron, so we are always battling the stains. This saved me having to purchase another stain removing product"
Review 10 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It Works,
Date:May 16, 2009
By awarnberg
from Phenix City, AL
from Phenix City, AL
Pros: Works in 48 hours
Cons: Very Expensive
"After getting a water analysis it was discovered I had traces of copper in the water. Metal Free took the metal traces out in 48 hours."
Review 11 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
workes great,
Date:June 5, 2008
By rbag2blacklabs
from Hubbard, Ohio
from Hubbard, Ohio
"One of the best products we have found that works with our well water !!!"
Review 12 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever,
Date:November 14, 2007
By waterboy
from Myrtle Beach,SC
from Myrtle Beach,SC
"Product worked 100% better than any other product I purchased locally from a pool company"
Review 13 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Metal Free,
Date:October 5, 2007
By szzyq
Pros: great product
"I have been bouncing back and forth with a phosphate problem in my fiberglass pool. Turns out, the pool store was selling me a product with prosphates in it for the stain removal. Therefore, the phosphate level kept rising. Months later, I discovered what was happening and immediately looked for a stain remover with no phosphates. I found Metal Free on the In the Swim website. I bought it, put it in the pool following the directions on the bottle and had my water tested. IT WORKED!! Metal Free cleared up the stain and no phospates in the pool........"
Review 14 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 22, 2007
By AuntBeBe
"I have used this product for several years in our fiberglass pool. I use it when the water level is high to get rid of the ring of discoloration that is sometime present. It works great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On Well Water, Use Metal Free,
Date:August 9, 2007
By Exptoy
from Rhoadesville, VA
from Rhoadesville, VA
Pros: It works great on above ground pools filled with well water
Cons: Didn't find or experience any cons
"I battle with the water in my pool for 3 weeks before I found Metal Free, the very next day we were in the pool and cooling off.
Works best in combination with a water clarifier and balancer (lower the ph).
If you shock well water it turns coffee colored, then use the 3 items above and it clears the water and test in the medium range for all strip tests.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Metal Free Pool Chemical
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A pool must have with well water,
Date:August 9, 2007
By Poolpal
Pros: quickly clears the yellowing stairs get when you deal with well water or alot of rain fall. Easy to apply.
Cons: A little pricey
"I make sure this is on my pool supply list when I open my pool for the season. It works wonderfully in my inground pool, especially on the stairs. We have community well water in my area and we very easily can see the yellowing caused by the water. It spruces up my pool in no time. It is very easy to use."