In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Above Ground Pool Closing Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Leaf Gulper

Make pool opening quick and easy with this swimming pool cleaner. Pool leaf vacuum attaches to a garden hose to clean the pool bottom. Swimming pool cleaners and swimming pool vacuums at In The Swim.
Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
58 of 62(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leaf Gulper
Review 1 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
works great.. cheaply made,
Date:November 4, 2013
By sueb
Pros: a must have for pools near trees, cleans the leaves off the bottom without having to vacuum
Cons: the handle needs to be made of stronger plastic, longer warranty
"very pleased with results, saves a lot of time in spring opening of pool.
bought new last yr, the plastic part that goes in the handle snapped in 2. already past the 1 yr warranty.
i noticed sylvie had the same problem in her review.
i would highly recommend if they improved the plastic part to last longer than 1 yr.
i will probably buy another one, or perhaps look for a different manufacturer.
"
Review 2 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
Date:July 19, 2013
By spanky63
from Pontiac, IL
from Pontiac, IL
Pros: Good pressure, did what was advertised. Great job cleaning the bottom of my pool even though I could not see it.
Cons: I haven't found any yet. I was afraid to buy this but my fears were for not.
"I was fearful buying this leaf gulper because I was afraid a garden hose would not provide enough pressure to work as indicated. I found the pressure from an ordinary garden hose is more than enough to work well with this item. The leaf gulper cleaned the bottom of my pool from all those annoying helicopters and leaves from all my neighbors trees. I would definitely recommend this product if you have clutter on the bottom of your pool."
Review 3 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!!,
Date:May 14, 2013
By Sulli
from Orange County, NY
from Orange County, NY
"Opened my pool over the weekend, and didn't know how I would get all the leaves up from last fall. Received the Leaf Gulper today, and the job is done!! Super easy to use. Just attach the hose and the pole, and you're good to go. It sucked up all the leaves in no time!! Amazing!! It is well worth the price!!"
Review 4 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's good..........but,
Date:April 9, 2013
By silvie
from LA
from LA
"after a wind storm, my pool is filled with pine needles and some leaves. This product is a must have for cleaning the pool; however, after a year's use (maybe a dozen times), the plastic hose connector threads became stripped (that was fixed with pipe tape), but then the connector itself snapped in two. Cheap plastic fitting. The rest of the unit is fine, wheels, brushes, body, but there doesn't seem to be a replacement for this connector which makes the rest of the unit useless since I can not longer connect the garden hose.
Anyone else have this problem?
IntheSwim - do you have a replacement part for this???
"
Review 5 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this thing!,
Date:July 9, 2012
By Lyndon
from Knoxville, Tn
from Knoxville, Tn
Pros: Works great on the big stuff, and it's very easy to use
Cons: Spreads the little stuff around, but not that big of a deal
"If you have an issue with leaves or other large debris getting into your pool, this thing is the ticket! I accidentally dropped the edge of my winter cover into the pool last year when removing the cover. This resulted in a large amount of leaves being dumped into the bottom of my pool. Ugh! After about 10 passes with my Pool Rover, and barely any leaves removed, I decided to give this a try. It's much quicker and easier than using a net and will pick up a suprising amount of large gunk from the bottom of your pool.
The only downside? If you have fine silt or dirt in your pool, it just flows through the mesh bag and gets stirred around. But this is really made for the big stuff like leaves, sticks, berries, etc.
This has become a part of my spring pool clean-up permanently. It's awesome!"
Review 6 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Pool Gadget I have ever used !,
Date:May 15, 2012
By FloridaPoolGirl
from South Florida
from South Florida
Pros: It actually works, super easy, fast and Inexpensive !
Cons: None - There is nothing negative I can say about this little gem.
"“This the BEST piece of pool equipment I have ever used. So much so I wish now I had more leaves to get out LOL. Inexpensive SUPER easy to you and it works like a charm. It grabbed up 6 FULL bags from the bottom of my 20 x 40 foot in ground pool in less than 30 minutes. Not sure what others used the tennis or ping pong balls for there was no need for me. And as far as one reviewer writing that it was “cumbersome to setup and use “; I don’t possibly see how this could be. Attach your pole, your hose and pop on the bag and turn on the water and go. What could be easier than that? For those that had a hard time handling it, you may have had the hose turned on to high making it hard to push against the current you create. It does not need to be on very high at all. Turn it lower and it works like a charm."
Review 7 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Can't Get 2 Bottom,
Date:April 27, 2012
By Serenity3199
from Kentucky
from Kentucky
Pros: The jury is out on this until I can figure it out. It seems simple but I cannot get it to work.
Cons: Can't get it to down to the pool floor and my arms are sore as heck.
"This did not come with instructions so I'm not sure if it's something I've done or not done, but this thing refuses to go to the bottom of my pool. What am I doing wrong?? My arms are aching from trying to maneuver it to the bottom for about 20 minutes, then finally gave up. This is my first pool and I'm learning everything on my own from the internet, videos and instructions, and the whole ordeal is turning a dream of owning a pool into a lesson in frustration. Help!"
Review 8 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well worth the money,
Date:October 7, 2011
By DanG
from Rantoul, IL
from Rantoul, IL
Pros: does a good job of clearing out large clusters of leaves
"Bought this last year - have used it a few times. Does a good job of getting out the large clusters of leaves and bigger leaves that are hard to vaccuum up. Gets pool clean enough that the vacuum can do the rest without clogging up. A little cumbersome to setup and use, but if you have trees around your pool, better get one of these."
Review 9 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it claims to do,
Date:June 28, 2011
By Sunlovin
from Cleveland, OH
from Cleveland, OH
Pros: Shortens pool cleaning time and makes job much more bearable
Cons: Keep bag open with tennis or ping pong ball to assist with cleaning
"It is embarrassing to think of all the money I have wasted on pool cleaning products and hardware that don't deliver or that break in very little time. This product is not like the others. I expected that with the price being as affordable as it is, the leaf gulper would probably not work. I read the reviews though so I thought I would give it a try and I am certainly glad I did. All the other reviewers were right- this product really works. I bought a replacement bag just in case but I have used it more than a dozen times this year (too close to a neighbors tree) and have had no problems with the bag, the brushes or the bag. It works exactly as it says, it picks up leaves and debris off the pool floor and the bag is big enough that you don't have to stop every few minutes. It is a great product. If you have pool cleaning issues like I do, you can't afford to skip this product."
Review 10 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every pool owner should own this!,
Date:May 30, 2011
By anndees
from Jackson, NJ
from Jackson, NJ
Pros: picks up leaves and big stuff, inexpensive and easy to use
Cons: wish it came with a operator ---- just kidding--------
"My inground pool had a ripped cover from a large branch and everything from leaves to pine cones fell into it. When I finally got the cover off, it looked like the black lagoon, including wildlife. In other words, a disaster. I could not see the bottom or even down 6".
I started trying to scoop the abyss with a leaf scoop, but it was very difficult. After the first day I only had a few buckets of leaves to show for all my work. Needless to say, I was depressed and exhausted. That night I sat down at my computer and googled, "remove leaves from pool". In the Swim came up with "Leaf Gulper". Figured I had nothing to lose at the inexpensive price, so I ordered it immediately,
It arrived within 48 hours and I hooked it up. It worked just as advertised. I had the bag full in just 2 minutes and it removed almost everything, even tho I could not see bottom. This was a pool and back saver. Automatic pool cleaners get stuck with large leaves .Every pool owner should have one!"
Review 11 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leaf Gulper,
Date:December 17, 2010
By Diane
from Portland, OR
from Portland, OR
Pros: Effective in removing leaves from pool bootom
Cons: No warranty or brush replacement parts
"Although this product does do a good job of picking up leaves, the bag is not well constructed and needs replacement after only a few uses. I've only had this one year and half of the brushes have fallen off, with no replacement options and no warranty I am going to have to buy a new one since I can't find any better alternatives. Thumbs down to this manufacturer."
Review 12 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice product,
Date:November 11, 2010
By PAEv
Pros: works almost as well as described
Cons: difficult to keep on bottom
"works well for the price, I added 3 ping pong balls to the bag, they keep it up and open, leaves flow in better"
Review 13 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Leaf Cleaner!,
Date:June 2, 2010
By TCrashL
from Minot, ND
from Minot, ND
Pros: Easy to use - inexpensive - saves time.
Cons: none
"I wish I would of bought this sooner! I put 2 tennis balls in the bag to keep floating. My husband turned on the water from a regular hose. It sucked up the leaves super fast. It takes out the big stuff that regular vacuuming won't. It replaces the pool with fresh water that you lose from backwashing. It saves so much time and energy. My pool is now clean instead of green from leaves. I Love it!"
Review 14 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding timesaver,
Date:May 19, 2010
By VAmom
from Sterling, VA
from Sterling, VA
Pros: Incredibly easy to use
Cons: Haven't found one yet
"I left it to other family members to shut down the pool last fall while I was out of the country. When I returned during winter, nothing had been done; it hadn't even been covered. After the snow and ice melted this spring, I found the darkest green pool I've ever seen. No matter how much I netted and vacuumed, I couldn't get enough leaves out. When this product arrived yesterday afternoon, I went right to work. In about an hour, even though I couldn't see the bottom, I had removed more leaves than I had during the entire previous weekend. I wish I had noticed it sooner in the catalog as it would have saved me many hours of back breaking work."
Review 15 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST Leaf Cleaner,
Date:April 14, 2010
By scmitc
from Scottsdale, Arizona
from Scottsdale, Arizona
Pros: Inexpensive; easy to use; no electricity required
Cons: None
"Was very skeptical but decided for the inexpensive price, it was worth a try. If you have trees that dump leaves in your pool, DO NOT WAIT to purchase this tool! Over the past 25 years, we've probably spend well over $1,000 on Hayword, Kreepy Krauly and Baracuda vacuums (they all have their issues!). I hooked this up to the hose, put a tennis ball in the net (as was recommended by others) and was able to clean up ALL the leaves in my pool in 5 minutes WITHOUT RUNNING THE PUMP! It even sucked up the small twigs our neighbor's obnoxious tree dumps in our pool. I just wish I had purchased one of these years ago. The big leaves aren't hard to scoop out but- it would have saved me hours of trying to scoop up all those ity-bitty leaf particles and acorns that are so hard to get at! Best invention they've come up with for cleaning leaves. And buy from In the Swim....incredibly good customer service - great communication - fast shipping and very carefully packaged."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Actually works great!,
Date:March 20, 2010
By KyMom
from KY
from KY
Pros: WORKS!!
Cons: Bag is not big enough
"I could not believe that this actually works! I did find that the bag was small as we have several trees and towards the end of the year we had some good storms come in and the leaves came down everywhere. So I took a mesh hamper bag and replaced it and WOW! This little device really helped get the leaves out and ready for closing. THANK YOU!!"
Review 17 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Vacuum,
Date:November 19, 2009
By JLMS
Pros: Works quickly
Cons: None
"Borrowed one from a friend after a recent nor'easter. Worked so well I purchased this on-line about 3pm one afternoon and it was delivered the very next morning. Highly recommend it for pools with trees nearby."
Review 18 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Must "Have",
Date:November 19, 2009
By willing
from Charlotte, NC
from Charlotte, NC
Pros: Product is exactly as it is described
Cons: make sure the netting is secured; it will pop off
"As a first time pool owner, I have had my share of frustration dealing with leaves/debris. This product is my solution."
Review 19 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great accessory,
Date:September 23, 2009
By joe
from Mountain Top, PA
from Mountain Top, PA
Pros: Cuts leaf clean up time by at least half
"I don't necessarily leave reviews unless the product really works well. This is a great tool/accessory if you have a lot of leaves to clean out of your pool. I bought one in the spring for start up and used it again for fall clean up. It works just as described and the leaves do not get into your filter. I did follow the advice from other reviewers and put in a tennis ball to keep the bag floating upward. You could also use an empty plastic water/soda bottle. Another suggestion I have is to replace the string that comes with the bag with heavier cord. I used very thin plastic coated rope/string like you would use for a quick clothes line and I replaced the tab to keep the bag closed with a small spring tab like the kind that keep sweatshirts or jacket ties from coming out. Worked great for taking off the bag to empty the leaves. Way easier."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leaf Gulper
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
super fast delivery,
Date:August 3, 2009
By poolillinois
from Illinois
from Illinois
Pros: Really works well for the price
Cons: emptying the bag can be a pain
"Great product for the price. Easy and inexpensive way to suck up leaves, especially if water is not clear enough to see the bottom. Plus, ordered on a Friday evening (after 4:00 p.m.) and received the next day on Saturday. Great product, fast service!!"