In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Algaecides or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Yellow Out The algae problem-solver

Immediately eliminate any algae problem with Yellow Out swimming pool chemicals. Increases the pool chemical algae killing power of chlorine pool shock. Use with pool shock to eliminate all algae.
Average Customer Rating:
4.188 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
26 of 32(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Review 1 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lots of work, little benefit,
Date:June 23, 2013
By Doityourselfer
from California
from California
Pros: May have killed pink "algae," but it's too early to know for sure.
Cons: Did not kill mustard algae, which came back worse than before.
"My 40k gallon, in-ground, chlorine pool had a few small spots of mustard algae and a pink "algae" infection that was just starting. I have removed pink slime from the pool before using just Algaecide 60 and chlorine shocks, but I decided to try Yellow Out because I thought it would be the cheaper and quicker choice. Boy, was I wrong. First, the treatment caused my pH to plummet (even after I purposely raised it before adding YO), so I was faced with the task of adjusting that up without spiking the already high alkalinity. Second, it took three super-chlorinations to get the pool to hold chlorine (the product tells you to do two), meaning approximately 15 pounds of granular chlorine went into the pool. Third -- and above all -- although the pink slime seems to have been quashed for now, three days after treating with YO the MUSTARD ALGAE IS BACK. And it is far worse than it was before. I am annoyed. It's back to Algaecide 60 for me."
Review 2 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
don't buy,
Date:May 30, 2012
By judy1
from Virginia
from Virginia
Pros: No pros, expected results, and got absolutely none.
Cons: Did nothing to improve the condition of the pool. After adding twice pool still looks the same.
"Added to pool twice. Did nothing to improve the situation."
Review 3 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Product,
Date:July 22, 2011
By BillW
from Houston, TX
from Houston, TX
Pros: Fastest working and best price for getting rid of algae.
Cons: there is nothing bad to be said about this product.
"I used 4 lbs of Yellow Out and 4 lbs of shock and it changed my pool water from green to clear blue. This is the best product I have ever used for getting rid of algae. Don't bother with going to a pool store and buying expensive chemicals. Just follow the instructions on Yellow Out and it will give you something to shout about. My pool look better than it has in years. I am thankful i found this product and will keep some on hand."
Review 4 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Product,
Date:June 27, 2011
By BobAL
Cons: Did not work at all, followed directions, zero results
"Ordered $58.00 dollars worth, followed directions to the letter. Result: nothing, nada, zip, no change in pool water, no change in anything except my bank account. I'm surprised that In the Swim evens carries this product. What an absolute waste of my time and money."
Review 5 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever,
Date:October 9, 2010
By AHale
Pros: Worked within 24 hours
"I neglected my pool for over a month and of course I ended up with a horrible algae problem. I tried shocking it several times with many lbs of super shock as well as other expensive algae treatments. I thought I was going to have to drain the pool. I purchased yellow out along with some more shock and followed the very simple instructions. 16 hrs later, no more algae! I would also like to mention that after recieving my yellow out and reading the instructions, I called Coral Seas to make sure that I could use the product immediately as I had shocked the pool 2 hrs previous. They put me in touch with Sam (the CEO) who was very friendly and beyond helpful. He even ask that I call him back the next day with an update. How's that for customer service! How many times do we find a company who really cares about their customers anymore? It restored my faith :)"
Review 6 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really works on yellow algae!,
Date:June 21, 2010
By algae8er
from Austin, TX
from Austin, TX
Pros: Turns green pools blue, if you have yellow algae
Cons: none
"I have a 22,000 gallon pool, and my pool man told me to use 8 pounds of Yellow Out. I had been fighting my green pool for almost three weeks, adding hundreds of dollars of chemicals and running the pool continuously. Then, I added the Yellow Out by scoops, following each scoop with a scoop of chlorine. The next morning my pool was blue. I still needed to add clarifier to eliminate a little cloudiness, but what a relief!"
Review 7 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does The Trick,
Date:May 20, 2010
By MicMic
Pros: Cleans up the tougest algae
Cons: after using it you'll wanna make sure you always have some backup on hand just in case
"I've tried everything before this, I've used it twice and it worked everytime, algae I thought would never go away was gone the next day, it works like magic, I have a doughboy 24ft round vinyl liner and thought it was a gonner until I tried Yellow Out, it got rid of the toughest black algae you could imagine in one day, I only used 2/lbs and that was all it took, Thanks Yellow Out."
Review 8 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Money down the (pool) drain.,
Date:September 23, 2009
By love2cruise
from Louisiana
from Louisiana
Pros: None.
Cons: Didn't work at all.
"Used 4 lbs for about 30,000 gallons. Had a very bad algae problem and two weeks after application, algae is just now improving after using this, LOTS of chlorine, and another copper algaecide. This may have helped the process, but it certainly wasn't the "amazing" product that it touts itself to be."
Review 9 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a charm,
Date:August 4, 2009
By AnnapolisGretch
from Annapolis, Maryland
from Annapolis, Maryland
Pros: Works overnight, does not cloud the water, inexpensive
Cons: None
"The pools in my neighborhood, including mine, are afflicted with mustard algae. Yellow Out works overnight and leaves the water sparkling. A couple of weeks ago I had a "mustard algae emergency" and the closest pool store only sold a much more expensive product - I used it out of desperation and it clouded the water, I had to use two doses of it, it shot my chlorine into the "red" zone (which has never happened before), and I had to buy another product with enzymes to eat the stuff the other product didn't, and it took a week to uncloud my water. I spent over $75 in chemicals on this fiasco. $17 on Yellow Out and problem solved. I'm stocking up."
Review 10 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Great,
Date:July 25, 2009
By addie
from Greentown,IN
from Greentown,IN
"would definetly recommend, works fast"
Review 11 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply AMAZING,
Date:July 19, 2009
By Donovan
from Galesburg, MI
from Galesburg, MI
"I have been battling a green/swampy looking pool for almost a full season. I have literally spent $400-$500 over the months trying to clear it up. Nothing worked..... I might as well have just lit that money on fire.
I found Yellow Out on this site and thought I would give it a try - I can tell you I was skeptical but was out of options.
THIS STUFF IS AMAZING - Works just as described - INCREDIBLE.... I put it in my green pool at 7:00 pm and woke up the next morning and it was blue.... I needed to clean up the cloudiness with a clarifier but it literally turned my pool blue overnight! You will need to use a lot of shock in conjunction with it so make sure you have it on hand."
Review 12 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Expensive Failure,
Date:July 18, 2009
By DrPool
Pros: None
Cons: Doesn't work on pink algae
"This product does not work on pink algae. I followed the instructions exactly. The directions on Yellow Out require raising the pool Ph to 8.0+ and shocking 3 times in 24 hours. On my 30,000 gallon pool I spent over $80 raising the Ph shocking the pool 3 times then lowering the Ph back to 7.4. There was absolutely no change in the amount of pink algae. Yellow Out may work on other algae but not Pink Algae."
Review 13 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Algaecide,
Date:July 12, 2009
By FlyingGuy
from Murray, KY
from Murray, KY
Pros: This product works for me after having tried many others to clear my pool of algae.
Cons: I haven'd found any cons with this product of in the swim as a dealer.
"I must have spent hundreds of dollars on other products that just don't either work or only last a short time. I have been to pool shops and bought everything they recommended with little to show for it but Yellow Out works quickly and keeps on working. I highly recommend this product to anyone with a persistent algae problem."
Review 14 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miracle,
Date:July 12, 2009
By VelvetNose
from PA
from PA
Pros: Fast working, nontoxic, easy to use
"I battled algae in my pool for 2 seasons. I spent over $250 on other chemicals, but nothing worked. I tried yellow out and in less than 16 hours my pool was crystal clear. It was amazing."
Review 15 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply Amazing,
Date:July 9, 2009
By bhc755
from Evansdale, Iowa
from Evansdale, Iowa
Pros: Love it....
Cons: None
"At our wits end, I remembered seeing Yellow Out in one of In the Swim catalogs. I got on line, read the reviews and decided to try it. We lost control of our pool this past week. Went from clear to swamp water (dirty brown/green) in a few short days. We spent over $100 trying to clear it with normal pool products. After Yellow Out arrived, at 6pm my husband did the first treatment and followed the directions for super chlorination. Overnight, we expected miracles as the reviews said....when we awoke, it was still the same. Dissappointed, I thought just another gimick. He again super chloriniated like the instructions said. At noon..there was still no change. He went to mow the lawn.....came back 45 minutes later and it was blue!!!! A little cloudy, but the terrible green/brown water had disappeared. We again did one more treatment at 6pm that evening and conntinued to let the filter run overnight. This morning it looks so inviting for a swim. I LOVE this product........will never use anything. How it went from yucky to blue in 45 minutes I'll never know...it's Simply Amazing!!!"
Review 16 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great alge solver,
Date:May 28, 2009
By DoubleD09
from Mpls, MN
from Mpls, MN
Pros: Works fast
Cons: You have to Shock the pool 3 times
"Tried this product because when I opened the pool was a swamp. I was shocked how fast it worked and it turned my pool from green to gray with in 20 min. Just make sure you have enough shock because you need to shock your pool 3 times. I agree with other people you also need to use a clarifier to clear it up. I will use this product again. I have recommend it to all my friends a family who have a alge problem with their pool."
Review 17 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clears up persistent algae,
Date:May 16, 2009
By awarnberg
from Phenix City, AL
from Phenix City, AL
Pros: Performed where others failed, Long Shelf Life
"After battling algae problems for two weeks, I gave in & took a water sample to a major retail pool supply store for analysis. I ended up buying over $200 worth of problem solving chemicals, only to discover 72 hours later that I basically spent that money to raise the PH as the algae was still present after all the "Steps" were followed. At wit's end I was looking in my storage shed for anything to help and found an old jar of Yellow Out, used it per label directions and in 24 hours my pool was finally blue. I still had to use a conditioner to remove the cloudiness, but at least it was blue!
The key here is to make sure the PH is balanced."
Review 18 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IT WORKS!,
Date:November 28, 2008
By dewseydee
from Dallas TX
from Dallas TX
Pros: Helped to Clean the yellow-green mess out of my pool
"My pool turned yellow/green last Spring. I tried alot of different products (including Green Out) and the Yellow Out was the only thing that even began to work. I have used it several time since with good results."
Review 19 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!,
Date:November 26, 2008
By Peach
from SOUTH CAROLINA
from SOUTH CAROLINA
Pros: EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PRODUCT IS EXCELLENT
Cons: NOTHING
"LAST WINTER I PUT A SOLAR COVER ON MY POOL, AS THE WINTER IS RELATIVELY MILD HERE. WHEN THAT COVER CAME OFF, MY POOL WAS SO GREEN IT LOOKED LIKE A LOUISIANA SWAMP! I WAS SOMEWHAT CONCERNED ON A CLEAN, CLEAR FUTURE FOR MY POOL. THE YELLOW OUT IS AN ALGAE PROBLEM SOLVER... AN UNDERSTATEMENT.. I USED IT WITH CHLORINE AND MY IN THE SWIM SHOCK. IT WAS INCREDIBLE JUST HOW GREAT THIS PRODUCT IS! FROM SWAMP TO CRYSTAL CLEAR! I'M SOLD. I WILL USE YELLOW OUT ALWAYS! IT WILL NOT LET YOU DOWN."
Review 20 for Yellow Out The algae problem-solver
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is th e best stuff I have ever used I love it,
Date:November 26, 2008
By county
from North Carolina
from North Carolina
Pros: This stuff work really fast
Cons: none that I can see
"I love yellow out I will never buy anything else. This is the only stuff that you can just put it in and let it go. Last summer my pool had really green water ,I went to the pool place in my area they gave me $150.00 worth of pool stuff, they told me to put it in and it would be clear in 3 days. I did this and still a green pool. I got this yellow out put it in and in 8 hours my pool was clear, I can not say enough good things about this product."