In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Steps & Ladders for In Ground Pools or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Koolgrips

This soft zippered cover fastens over stainless steel handrails to provide a better grip when entering or exiting the water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Koolgrips
Review 1 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product,
Date:March 28, 2013
By WindjammerPoolBoy
from New Jersey
from New Jersey
Pros: They work great, look great and are very easy to install
Cons: They need special care during and after the season
"We have a lot of elderly people and small kids using our pool and the grips really help them get into and out of the pool. I highly recommend a UV spray to keep them from fading and from losing elasticity. The spray is also somewhat tacky, which helps the overall grip. During the off-season, I remove them from the ladders, dry them completely, dust them with corn starch and store them in a plastic bag in a controlled air environment (like your house for example, not outside). The rubber backing does deteriorate after 2-3 seasons and if stored without corn starch will stick together causing the backing to rip apart. With proper care, they are well worth the cost."
Review 2 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely worth the money,
Date:July 11, 2009
By tuxedo
from Arkansas
from Arkansas
Pros: Easy to install. Cool to the touch.
"I put the koolgrip on my ladder coming out of the pool. It was easy to install by just zipping over the existing ladder. Keeps hands from touching hot metal & possibly burning them. Wish I had purchased one a long time ago."
Review 3 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Idea,
Date:May 18, 2009
By Southerner
Pros: Good safety feature, good quality
Cons: Colors could be improved
"They are expensive since you have to order them separately. I originally ordered the Royal Blue, but after reading the reviews I decided to return and exchange for Desert Sand. However, Desert Sand is not the color of sand at all - it is DARK BROWN. I am disappointed that the color is not what it's advertised to be. I will need to use the UV protectant spray after all....it was another $20."
Review 4 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding product!,
Date:November 10, 2008
By valentine
from Las Vegas
from Las Vegas
Pros: No more burned hands!
Cons: the blue does fade quickly
"I put Kool grips on the ladder and where you walk down the steps into the pool. They truely work! I think I should have bought the UV protectant and perhaps the blue wouldn't have faded as much as it did in this Las Vegas sun/heat. Maybe I should have purchased the beige instead of the blue. I like Kool grips so much that I am buying some for my friends for Christmas!"
Review 5 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Order Two!,
Date:April 22, 2008
By PEteacher
from La Habra, CA
from La Habra, CA
Pros: This product is very eye catching...it's beautiful.
Cons: One order mean you get only one side to the ladder.
"These Kool Grips as they're called are both cool and Kool to have. Although, ordering one for $39 will definitely not suffice 'cause you actually need two, one for each ladder. The price is misleading 'cause at $78 it's no longer a deal. One last thing, the color fades rather quickly. It lasted only one hot summer in southern California."
Review 6 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You won't regret these!,
Date:August 22, 2007
By Skip
Pros: Soft, pleasing appearance
Cons: Took me too long before I bought them
"I was very satisfied with the koolgrips. They are very easy to install, make the ladder look really sharp and are so much cooler than the bare metal used to be in the direct sunshine."
Review 7 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific!,
Date:August 22, 2007
By grammy
Pros: Great Product!
Cons: none
"It's been in the 100's for the past 12 days here, and kool grips has kept me from burning my hand on the railing into our pool. It was so easy to install. Great for helping small little hands to grip the rail,too."
Review 8 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
must have item,
Date:August 22, 2007
By travl2go
Pros: easier for any age to get into and out of a pool
Cons: should be in pairs and a little work is needed to get them on
"Wish we had them sooner. They should be a mandatory item for every pool owner. Just for the safety issue alone they are a must to have. Yes they are a little pricey for just one, but well worth it in saved Dr. bills."
Review 9 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ad Misleading,
Date:July 12, 2007
By Starbrand
Pros: Good quality product
Cons: Advertised as Kool Grip(s) - quantity of one is not a pair
"Whereas the quality of this product is quite good, the listing in the catalog as Kool Grips is clearly misleading. I presumed that I would be getting a pair (would anyone ever really order just one?) since the price and the ad both suggest a pair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Koolgrips
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
Date:June 17, 2007
By koolinthepool
from Kansas
from Kansas
Pros: Safe entry and exit to pool, Lasts for years
Cons: Fades rather quickly,
"This is a great product. Make for a safe entry and exit to pool. Used my first one for 4 years. Only thing is it faded rather quickly. Will try the UV Protectant Spray next time.
Highly recommend, especially for older swimmers.
"