In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Leaf Nets & Hand Held Pool Skimmers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Skim-It

Guide pool surface debris directly to the pool skimmer with the Skim It pool skimmer attachment. Fits most swimming pool skimmers to help pool surface cleaning. Pool skimmers at In The Swim.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 62
57 of 63(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skim-It
Review 1 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made in the USA!!!!!!!,
Date:October 12, 2012
By Keelababy
from Fairmount, IN
from Fairmount, IN
Pros: Simple product, but works exactly as stated. Made in the USA by American Workers!
Cons: none---the product works exactly as stated that it would.
"I was simply thrilled when I removed the product from the box and saw how simple the installation was. I was even more thrilled when I saw that the product is made in the USA by American workers!!!!! YES!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 2 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT,
Date:August 6, 2012
By realtrainhorns
from Ripley, TN
from Ripley, TN
Pros: Such a simple product, but it is amazing. Does what it says it does
Cons: None: I have to clean my skimmer basket more, But that is also a Pro since all that stuff is not going to the bottom. .
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 3 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase ever,
Date:May 13, 2012
By pumpy1
from illinois
from illinois
Pros: Have not had any trouble with it.comes on and off with ease
"does what it says it's suppose to do.would not own a pool without it."
Review 4 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job it states,
Date:May 30, 2011
By jespejo
from Poughkeepsie,NY
from Poughkeepsie,NY
Pros: Long enough and sturdy and catches the stuff....................
Cons: None..............................................................................
"This is my second season and I put this in early in the morning and by swim-time 3pm all the top water is skimmed off."
Review 5 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not so good,
Date:October 27, 2010
By Wyckette
from North Carolina
from North Carolina
Pros: Fairly easy to set up
Cons: Sometimes the leaves are smarter
"The set up is fairly easy, but even with tightening the "legs" inside the skimmer opening, it has to be retightened periodically. Otherwise the skimmer "droops" in the water. If there are a lot of leaves then this works OK. But the suction on my pump managed to get leaves to go into the skimmer before I bought this. Sometimes the leaves hit the Skim-it 2/3's of the way up and simply float around it. I should have spent my money on another product."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Outstanding product,
Date:July 9, 2010
By BOGY
from Connecticut
from Connecticut
Pros: Easy to install and remove, increases efficiency of skimmer, like the yellow color for safety
Cons: None
"The Skim-it installs easy and can be removed simply by lifting it up off the mount. The mount stays in the skimmer inlet. The bugs and leaves that usually pass by will get caught in the skimmer. The arm reaches out approximately two feet. It is yellow in color which stand out and this is a good thing. The mount is adjustable and should fit any skimmer. I have a 20x40 in-ground pool with a side skimmer. There is also a water line marker on the skim-it so you know if the water level is too low."
Review 7 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple & Effective,
Date:May 25, 2010
By Backglass
from New York
from New York
Pros: Easy to install & very effective.
Cons: Pricey for a flat piece of plastic.
"This is one of those "Why didn't I think of that!" products.
A very simple idea that works very well. You just attach it to your skimmer (no screws) and it sticks out into your pool directing the water & debris into your skimmer. All the stuff you see float right past your skimmer now actually goes INTO your skimmer on the first go around.
You do have to remove it before you swim obviously, but it just pops right off. Really not a big deal at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice top water skimmer helper,
Date:August 2, 2009
By Ronald
from Greenville, SC
from Greenville, SC
Pros: easy to install, helps keep pool clean
Cons: none
"This is a very easy to install item. Anyone can do it, takes just a couple of minutes. It helps divert water into the skimmer and really helps to keep the bugs floating on the top of the water to a minimum. After installation, my wife was amazed at the decrease in bugs floating along the top. It seems ants and crickets like to enjoy our pool as much as we do and we would spend thirty minutes or so skimming them out with a hand skimmer before enjoying the pool. Now it doesn't take long at all."
Review 9 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very helpful,
Date:August 1, 2009
By Stillbill
from Concord, NC
from Concord, NC
Pros: Greatly assisted in keep pool clean
"This product has lived up to its claim. It cut down on a lot of skimming in my pool."
Review 10 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Pool Accessory,
Date:August 1, 2009
By pooljoy
from NH
from NH
Pros: Keeps pool surface free of all debris
"The Skim IT reduces the need for hand skimming by 90%. Simple to install. Removes all surface debris before it can sink, so less time vacuuming as well!"
Review 11 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CLEANS BUGS AND DEBRI,
Date:July 20, 2009
By lynn41
from DORR, MICHIGAN
from DORR, MICHIGAN
Pros: TAKES VERY LITTLE TIME TO CLEAN TOP
Cons: HAVE TO TAKE OFF DURING SWIMMING. COMES LOOSE SOMETIMES!
"WOULD RECOMMEND FOR A FAST CLEAN UP ON TOP OF WATER. TAKES ABOUT 10 TO 15 MINUTES AND ALL OF THE BUGS AND DEBRI GO INTO THE SKIMMER!"
Review 12 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
Date:July 13, 2009
By blues
from Oklahoma
from Oklahoma
Pros: Saves me a lot of time each week
Cons: None so far
"Our backyard is surrounded by trees, and we have a mimosa tree that hangs over our pool. I was spending 10-15 minutes per day cleaning all the debris out of the pool.
Now I spend maybe 10 minutes per week doing so.
If the skim-it ever breaks, I'll be ordering another one the same day."
Review 13 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Bought it twice,
Date:July 13, 2009
By RacineWI
from Racine, WI. In ground 20x40
from Racine, WI. In ground 20x40
Pros: deflects most debris into the skimmer!
Cons: none.
"I've purchase this product for my last pool in Maryland and for my current pool in SE Wisconsin. It deflects much of the floating debris into the skimmer, shortening surface cleaning time. When you need to pull your solar cover back onto the pool, its very easy to detach the arm avoiding any interference. MORE THAN WORTH ITS PRICE!"
Review 14 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good Product,
Date:July 12, 2009
By jeepers
from Warren,Ohio
from Warren,Ohio
Pros: installs easy
Cons: none
"My Brother purchased this product and recommended it so I purchased it and he was right catches everything floating on the top of your pool into skimmer less work in retreiving leaves and bugs."
Review 15 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
every pool owner needs one,
Date:July 11, 2009
By pamy
from JASPER,GA
from JASPER,GA
Pros: works wonderful
Cons: none
"I SAW THIS ITEM THE FIRST YEAR I OWNED MY POOL BUT DID NOT BUY, BIG MISTAKE- THIS IS A GREAT PRODUCT.I ORDER IT TWO YEARS LATER, THIS WOULD HAVE SAVED ME LOTS OF WORK AND TIME. IF YOU OWN OR GOING TO BUY A POOL MAKE SURE YOU BUY THIS! I BOUGHT FROM IN THE SWIM-GOT BEST DEAL.THIS WILL REALLY SAVE YOU WORK AND TIME.VERY EASY TO INSTALL"
Review 16 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lifesaver for someone with not alot of time,
Date:July 11, 2009
By pitterpat
from FENTON, MO
from FENTON, MO
Pros: easy to install, and no more skimming the top, b4 getting in the pool
"we have a backyard with alot of trees, and we have a 24ft round pool, and for the last 8 years we have been going to the pool, and skimming the top of the water for bugs and leafs, etc.... for EVER, everyday..... Well NO MORE!!!!! Now we can go up, get in the pool, and ENJOY!!!! This was very easy to install, and very easy to take on and off when you are in the pool. I swear, the only thing floating on top, is the bugs that have just landed, and are alive, otherwise, everything else, is in the skimmer !!!! Everyone needs this product for there pool. EVERYONE, PURCHASE THIS, AND YOU W/B VERY HAPPY...."
Review 17 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Skim-It / Love It!,
Date:June 28, 2009
By SportsMom
from Independence, Missouri
from Independence, Missouri
Pros: Works
Cons: Can't think of any
"We have seen this for a couple of years and finally bought one which we got the other day. Wish we had gotten it a long time ago. This is so simple to use and it WORKS! Anyone that can't get it to work is because it doesn't fit, which it clearly states "fits most" but not all, or they aren't installing it correctly and need to adjust. If you can't get it to work then try sliding the part that goes inside the skimmer to fit up against the side so when you put on the arm and it swings, because it will some due to the current, that it can't go too far because the side of the skimmer is stopping it."
Review 18 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I Had Invented It...,
Date:May 6, 2009
By wktcknet
from Great Southeast
from Great Southeast
Pros: Increased Skimmer Capability
Cons: Great Con: Have To Empty Skimmer Basket More Often!
"Did you ever buy something that works so great and yet is so simple in design you find yourself saying... "I sure wish I had invented this". Well that's how I felt just a few days after installing the Skim-It. Our 24 ft round above ground pool is surrounded by trees and I could constantly watch leaves, pine needles, twigs, etc just float past the skimmer opening and then shoot back around the pool as the debris hit the water outlet turbulence. Then I (finally) decided to give the Skim-It a try. I was amazed when the second day I went to check the skimmer basket and found it totally filled! If there is any con to this product it is that you will now have to check your skimmer basket on a much more regular basis! Thanks In The Swim for a great product."
Review 19 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding Buy!,
Date:April 28, 2009
By Hairberra
from Somerset Co. Pa
from Somerset Co. Pa
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Ocassionally needs tightend
"Purchased this product last year to maybe help me control the leaves and insects that can gather on top the pool. Easily installed it, and it cut the time of skimming my 28' pool by hours. I have recommended this item to every pool owner I have talked to."
Review 20 for Skim-It
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely worth it,
Date:November 27, 2008
By Donna65
from Massachusetts
from Massachusetts
Pros: Does a great job
Cons: which way to put it
"I am so glad I purchased this product. After a few days I was pretty amazed with the results.
This past summer was the first summer I had gone in my pool every day! It was almost bug free! (and that means a lot to me!)
Of course you still have to skim it manually but not as often and not as much. I'm truly satisfied with this product and I couldn't stop beaming about it!
I definitely recommend it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.