In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Opening Chemicals or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Super Pool Shock

"Super pool shock is a powerful, fast dissolving and fast acting formula. Containing more chlorine than other pool shock formulas, super pool shock will eliminate algae, bacteria and other contaminants"
Average Customer Rating:
4.885 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 81
85 of 87(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Pool Shock
Review 1 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Knockout powder shocker!,
Date:July 8, 2008
By MrPool
from Southeastern Michigan
from Southeastern Michigan
Pros: POWERFUL!; IMMEDIATE! PREVENTS & CONTROILS ALGAE & STERILITY ISSUES!
Cons: ZERO
"No I don't work for the company, manufacturer or supplier. I am an inground pool owner in Michigan who used to be as stumped about chemicals and pool water balancing as everyone else but not any more.
fortunatedly, and because of this product, I have never had an algae problem because I use this product in addition to my automatic chlorinator. I have never bothered to mix this product in water prior to adding it to the pool - THERE IS NO NEED FOR THAT EXTRA STEP IN MY OPINION AND AFTER USING IT FOR 7 YEARS NOW! While my pool cleaner is running I sprinkle it directly into the water as I walk around the perimeter of my pool (in low wind conditions); I do this once every 10 days. Admittedly, I keep my chlorine levels slightly high testing the water balance with only the dip sticks which have proven quite accurate. I have recently switched to enzyme/no PH algae control product I found on this site and use no algaecide anymore - my water is crystal clear and easier to balance. I feel this pool shock and regiment has allowed me to relax about my water balance and get on with other aspects of my life throughout the week without the fear of a "water monster" weighing on me while not attending to my pool. I also use this to clean my masonary decking around the pool; just sprinkle and hose off - my plants have never been adversely affected. As you can tell I'm a big fan. This is the first time I have bothered to write a review about anything by the way...
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, less filler.,
Date:June 22, 2007
By whoneedsapoolguy
Pros: High percentage of chlorine.
Cons: You still have to pre-dissolve.
"First, Mailmandoug, who reviewed above, probably needs to add a stabilizer (cyanuric acid) so that the pool will hold chlorine. Or, if he used bromine to start up the pool, he will have to shock more than once in order to get a chlorine reading. Now for this product...you get more chlorine per pound here, which I like. Less chemical I have to handle! As for the price being better than a less concentrated product, I did the math for my 40k gallon pool, and it comes out to about the same price for any chlorine shock product offered here. Still, it's cheaper than using the liquid chlorine from my local pool supply. One thing I don't like is that you have to mix this before adding (creating fumes). I have white plaster now, but I used to have a black-bottom pool. I know from experience that you have to be very careful to mix these granular shock products well so you don't get bleach marks on your plaster."
Review 3 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works!,
Date:June 1, 2007
By mailmandoug
from Tennessee, IL
from Tennessee, IL
Pros: Raises chlorine level very quickly.
Cons: May be too "hot" for small pools.
"Have purchased from here before and had good experience with previous purchase of if I remember right a pool start up kit. Anyhow, this spring I had a hard time getting the chlorine level high enough in my 4x24 round pool. Using test strips or a cheap meter was coming up screaming for more chlorine. Even loaded floater down with 4 tabs, plus one in skimmer basket, shocking every day with off the shelf "super shock" from a local mart, would only raise chlorine level slightly. Even at the dollar a bag less than this, no bargain if it takes 10 bags or more to get the level up. One bag of this raised the chlorine level to the caution level, but I know as soon as the heat of the day gets to it all will be fine. Will be resupplying as needed here."
Review 4 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shocking Results!,
Date:November 26, 2008
By poolgal
from IN
from IN
Pros: To your door fast delivery, great price, great results!
Cons: Bags require sharp implement for opening
"This is the best pool shock I've found! Just follow the directions and your pool will sparkle all summer long. I love the ease of ordering and the fast to my door delivery. I generally order enough for the summer as the box(es) fit well on the shelf in my poolhouse for easy access. The only qualm I have is the lack of easy opening as the bags require the use of scissors or some other sharp tool to open them. But the 1 pound size is handy to use and easy to handle.
I love In The Swim products and you know they are working when your neighbor says "Your pool always looks so clear and clean! How do you do it??" Thank You In The Swim for making my life easier and my pool look great!!
"
Review 5 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Stuff!,
Date:August 6, 2012
By Stephy
from Knoxville, TN
from Knoxville, TN
Pros: It is all good. It works if you love clear water. Affordable, fast delivery and clean water. What could be better?
Cons: You may have to wait a day or two but it is worth it.
"I am still just a few years into owning an above ground pool. The first year was a disaster. The second was not a huge improvement. It was expensive, burdensome, frustrating and stressful. I was at the local pool store several times a week One day I ordered shock from In The Swim. I was hooked. It is August and my water has been sparkling clear all summer. All of my chemicals come from here. I get compliments on my clean water all the time. Best of all I enjoy the pool. I can finally say I am happy that I bought a home with a pool.
I highly recommend their chemicals. As a bonus you will save tons of money.
"
Review 6 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Shock,
Date:July 13, 2009
By SummerSwimFan
from Sand Springs, OK
from Sand Springs, OK
Pros: Disolves Quickly, Works fast
Cons: None
"I live in Oklahoma. Our summers are VERY hot. I use Pristine Blue products in my pool which I wish you carried at In The Swim. However, the non-chlorine shock that is recommended for use with Pristine Blue doesn't work well enough in the 100 degree heat. So I use this great shock weekly along with my Pristine Blue products. I have been doing this for the past 3 summers and my pool water is always BEAUTIFUL!! I also used this shock during the opening of my pool and I couldn't believe how fast the water went from green-black to blue! I also love the convenience of overnight delivery."
Review 7 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the only shock i'll ever buy,
Date:July 11, 2009
By nogreenpools
from west tennessee
from west tennessee
Pros: lightening quick shipment and lightening quick results
Cons: ?
"pool was green for weeks. kept dumping shock from wal mart and other local stores in and might as well have been throwing my money in the pool because if anything it was just getting greener. relative told me about in the swim super shock and in 2 days we were swimming in a clear pool, i was amazed! It was delivered amazingly fast too. i am a skeptic by nature and was skeptical about this too, but now i will never buy another shock. i have referred several friends who feel the same way too. amazed there are 2 bad reviews on this stuff."
Review 8 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ENJOY OUR POOL,
Date:July 11, 2009
By nannaw2cool
from Campti,Louisiana
from Campti,Louisiana
Pros: It works with little effort
Cons: didn't use it til now
"Cann't say enough good things about this product. We had to drain out 56,000 gallon pool twice in 2 months because of chemicals bought at a discount store. After talking with the great staff at INTHESWIM we ordered this and put it in every week as instucted and our 6 grandchildren haven't missed a day of swimming. It's everything it says it is and along with the clorine tablets our pool has maintain balance for the first time all summer. Finally we can just enjoy!!!!!! Thank you INTHESWIM"
Review 9 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
Date:July 20, 2009
By lovedogs
from Baltimore, Maryland
from Baltimore, Maryland
Pros: Works fast; Makes your pool water sparkle!
"The field next to our pool was left to go to hay and was not cut down in a timely fashion. The wind was blowing from that direction and a great amount of straw, hay,etc.ended up in our pool. This caused the water to become cloudy and a slime covered the whole pool. We used another brand shock in the pool the first time with very little effect; then I used "In the Swim's Super Pool Shock" and was amazed at how fast it dissolved and worked to clear up our pool. I highly recommend it.."
Review 10 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Water,
Date:September 2, 2008
By CindyR
from Louisville, KY
from Louisville, KY
Pros: Easy to use once the bag is open
Cons: Bags require scissors to open
"Great stuff. I have a large pool of about 64,000 gallons. There are 2 automatic chlorinators that I refill each week, but after the weekend is over, I always put 4 bags of Super Shock in the pool. I don't mix it with water, I just pour it in placing it in front of the spouts that circulate the water (8 locations) and that seems to both dissolve it quickly and pushes it around the pool. The water is crystal clear and always tests perfect."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Find,
Date:November 27, 2008
By klsmom
from LI, NY
from LI, NY
"This past summer my pool loved the color green more than blue and I was at a point that I did not know what to do, I read your reviews on this product and I took a chance. As soon as I got it I put it in the pool and within hours I could see a difference and in 1-1/2 days the pool was sparkling, clean. The best it looked all summer. Thank You! Next year I am buying at the begining of the year and making it a part of my pool routine."
Review 12 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase ever,
Date:November 26, 2008
By fergi103
from university place, wa
from university place, wa
Pros: goes a long way and uses less bags
"Hi there,
We have a large pool measuring 29,000 gallons of water. It takes quite a bit to get our pool at the accurate levels of chemicals. Using this SHOCK product this past season has greatly reduced the amount of bags and the concentration seems to last longer. This stronger product is not available at the discount houses (Costco) either and you would pay much, much more at the pool and spa stores.
"
Review 13 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like this much better than regular shock!,
Date:May 24, 2007
By gozar
Pros: dissolves very quickly, dosage is less
Cons: more expensive
"I like the super pool shock much better than the regular pool shock. The super pool shock dissolves much more quickly and does not require mixing prior to adding to the pool. Also, since a bag of this treats 15k gallons vs. 10k gallons for regular pool shock, I can treat my 30k gallon pool with 2 bags of super pool shock instead of 3 of regular shock. Keep that in mind when you are pricing them out."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff!,
Date:August 24, 2012
By HappyinLouisiana
from Bossier City, LA
from Bossier City, LA
Pros: Long lasting, home delivery, desolves easily, clear water
"This stuff works GREAT!! I spent the first half of the summer trying get rid of cloudy or green tinted water. I'd go to he local pool store, plunk down my $100 to $150 and nothing changed. I was putting 2 to 4 bags a week of the other shock. I tried the super shock and the water has been perfectly clear. I put one bag a week and that's it. Plus, it's delivered right to your front door!"
Review 15 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have used super shock for many years,
Date:July 11, 2009
By kiki
from hartville,ohio
from hartville,ohio
Pros: works great and easy to use
Cons: leaves a little residue on bottom of pool
"I have been using in the swim super shock for many years . It works great and I find that if I put it directly into the skimmer while the pool is circulating the filter removes any residue that would normally lie on the bottom of the pool if I were to sprinkle it on the surface of the water. I have and will continue to recomend this product to all my friends."
Review 16 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Deal,
Date:July 21, 2009
By Pokey
from Manassas VA
from Manassas VA
Pros: Use only 2 bags and the cost is less!!
Cons: None
"I love the supershock! only 1 bag per 15,000 gallons and with a 30,000 gallon pool, every penny helps. We use In the Swim for all of our pool needs...they beat everybody else's prices hands down! Fast delivery is also a huge plus! I don't have to drive across town to get what I need. I just order it online and get it the next day!"
Review 17 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product,
Date:July 11, 2009
By Gofast
from Mount Gilead, Ohio
from Mount Gilead, Ohio
Pros: Dissolves quickly/controls algae
Cons: None
"I have tried many different pool treatments. The Super Pool Shock is the best I have used. It controls algae better than any other shock I have used. I always keep coming back to this. It is a waste of money to use any other shock treatment. I am hooked on this. Try it once and you will not use any thing else."
Review 18 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Shock I've Purchased,
Date:July 25, 2009
By LovintheSun
from Tellico Plains, TN
from Tellico Plains, TN
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: none
"The super pool shock better than anything I have tried before. It is good for 15,000 lbs opposed to the 10,000 lbs. with other pool shocks. It is cheaper than the shock at local chain stores and works better! I love not having to leave the house to get it..the shock always comes the next day!"
Review 19 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
Date:September 17, 2012
By pooldragon
from Springfield, VA
from Springfield, VA
Pros: economical, fast way to boost chlorine in a single shot
"I use a pack of this instead of the regular shock on my pool (20k gal) when closing for the winter, going away on short trips, or dealing with algae problems. Brings the chlorine levels way up right away and keeps them up for quite a while (with stabilizer already in the water, that is)."
Review 20 for Super Pool Shock
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time Saver,
Date:July 12, 2009
By Redlady
from NJ
from NJ
Pros: Quick and easy to use
"Super Shock takes all the hard work out of having a built in pool. Used in regular intervals as outlined on the bottle, my pool is always clear and clean and ready to use with very little effort. Of course, my polaris automatic cleaner is the other partner in easy pool maintenance."