In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Pool Pump & Pool Filter Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Aqua Perl

Aqua Perl DE replacement is safe to use in all D E pool filters. This diatomaceous earth alternative is volcanic in origin and silica free. Swimming pool filters from In The Swim.
Average Customer Rating:
3.167 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
6 of 12(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aqua Perl
Review 1 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It Works -- But Takes Some Effort,
Date:June 7, 2012
By Exchemist
from PA
from PA
Pros: Not carcinogenic and less expensive than DE. Does filter well.
Cons: A bit harder to wet than DE which makes it slightly harder to handle.
"There are several negative reviews all because of problems with grids clogging after using this DE replacement. Whenever you switch filter media types, the filter must be thoroughly cleaned of the old media. This requires backwashing, disassembly and rinsing the grids, soaking the grids in detergent (I use automatic dishwasher detergent with a little TSP added) and water, and removing all water and old media from the filter housing. If there are calcium deposits on the grids and/or housing, they should be sprayed with 5:1 water:muriatic acid after washing and rinsing followed by a thorough rinse with clean water. You will be shocked at what comes off the grids when they are soaked in water/detergent. Make sure you rinse everything before reassembly.
If you thoroughly clean the filter and remove all the old filter media, you will not have problems with the grids clogging."
Review 2 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff!,
Date:April 16, 2012
By twinshorespool
from Annapolis,MD
from Annapolis,MD
Pros: Light,backwashes well, no difference in filtration
Cons: none,never had any problems with it in 15 yrs,good stuff
"As A Pool & Spa service professional for over 15 years field experience. Aqua Perl is all we USE!. When properly used & proper amount is added it works well,Most pool owners do not properly backwash or use undersized or too long of a backwash hose and hence do not fully flush the grids causing a build up over time,and Any hole,crack (no matter what size) or multiport valve malfunction will cause D.E to migrate back too the pool.& If your filter valve (multiport) or Backwash valve works or turns hard then,or seeps water,then FIX IT! IT WILL CAUSE YOU backwash & D.E problems...Don't Blame the D.E or system 9 times out of 10 it IS the operator!!! Green pools? shock it, add lots of chlorine, leave the filter in recirc until water turns color green to greyish then a couple of days later put filter in filter mode ,backwash as needed, after pool clears enough and dead algae settles to bottom vacuum pool out to waste,NOT THRU THE FILTER ! after pool is vacuumed put it back in filter mode balance chems good to go! Works everytime,we use a gas powered trash pump,but you can use the waste option on the valve..Aqua-Perl is Great Stuff and I know Several pool companys along with me and ALL THEY USE is Aqua perl also!"
Review 3 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not for Fiberglass!!,
Date:July 10, 2011
By gmbillyo
from MI
from MI
Pros: The material is lightweight, and flows nice through skimmer when mixed
Cons: perlite does not stay in filter, sticks to all plastic and fiberglass
"I found this product very frustrating. In proper doses for a 3.7 StaRite System 3 filter, it does not filter its own perlite out of the water. the small white spheres stick to the fiberglass in-ground pool sides, and clog the polaris strainer as they continue to pass through the filter (note all brand new filter pads). I do catch more of them if I double the recommended amount, but many still get through. I am switching back to DE."
Review 4 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't work -- gummed up my filter,
Date:April 11, 2011
By Ewalsh
from Easton, PA
from Easton, PA
Pros: There were no Pros that I had noticed (the site says this is too short so I am adding this text)
Cons: Doesn't work at all (the site says this is too short so I am adding this text)
"I bought a bag of this stuff last year, despite many reviews saying that it would clog up their filters (among other complaints). Next time I will pay attention. This stuff did nothing at all for me last year except constantly clog up my filter. When the filter was on, I had to backwash it every 15-20 minutes or it would overpressure and stop working.
I would strongly recommend against buying this DE replacement. It's back to good ol' DE for me this year."
Review 5 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stuff Works!,
Date:August 1, 2009
By waterman25
from Kalamazoo, Michigan
from Kalamazoo, Michigan
Pros: Excellent Filtering, more time between back-flushing
"I have always had problems with DE clumping in the filter especially around the fingers. So much so that I would have to disassemble and clean the filter 4 or 5 times a season. Here we are mid-season and I have had to do the deep filter cleaning ZERO times! And back-flushing? Once a month. Oh did I mention crystal clear water? I'm sold."
Review 6 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Agree with others,
Date:July 29, 2009
By poolboy19518
from Douglassville, PA
from Douglassville, PA
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Short filtration period
"Can't wait till I use up my Aquaperl so I can go back to standard DE. I usually completely clean my DE filter twice a season, with Aquaperl I have needed to do it twice already and its only half way through the season"
Review 7 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stick with DE,
Date:July 19, 2009
By FLPoolMgr
from Gainesville, FL
from Gainesville, FL
Pros: It is light in weight
Cons: Powder is very light weight and goes into the air, shortens filter runs
"I usually use DE, and thought I'd try Aqua Pearl. I was a bit disappointed. It decreased my filter run times, which means I had to use more, which negated any $ saved by using this product. Also, the powder is very light-weight and enters the air easily, so caution must be made to not breath in the powder. I didn't see any advantage of this product over good ole DE for my pool."
Review 8 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worst purchase ever,
Date:July 1, 2009
By cass
from Hillsdale, Mi
from Hillsdale, Mi
Pros: none
Cons: very bad
"I would never recommend this product to anyone. It messed up my pool so bad. I went back to the DE powder I had previously used & everything is ok."
Review 9 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT STUFF,
Date:December 14, 2008
By ivydalepool
from West Virginia
from West Virginia
Pros: use less,priced better
Cons: none that i can think of
"I switched to Aqua Pearl three years ago and love it,it has cut my filtering price and amount in half.would and do recommend this to anybody i talk to."
Review 10 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
just not the same,
Date:July 8, 2008
By Decrovid
from Youngstown, Ohio
from Youngstown, Ohio
"Just does not filter the water the same as the regular DE used half a season and switched back. It did not last twice as long either. Stick with the real deal"
Review 11 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best product,
Date:August 25, 2007
By sunshine1
Pros: cleans better
Cons: none
"I am so glad I switched from D.E. to Aqua Perl.
D.E. was very heavy, lumpy, and extremely hard to backwash out of the filter. With Aqua Perl there is none of that. I recommend this product to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aqua Perl
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great,
Date:August 24, 2007
By marty
"this product works wonderful- would buy again"