In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Natural Chemistry Enzyme Pool Chemicals or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Pool First Aid

"The ultimate problem solving swimming pool chemical. All natural enzyme swimming pool chemical removes waterline stains, and any organic contamination. Reduced pool chlorine and cleaner water."
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
24 of 25(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pool First Aid
Review 1 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can see clearly now,
Date:July 3, 2013
By buggie67
from Monroe WA
from Monroe WA
Pros: The water was clear and clean after using First aid
Cons: I could not find anything wrong with the product it worked great
"The water in my pool was very cloudy I tried everything and nothing seem to work. I can see clearly now for the first time this year, tried my products they all failed. First aid is the real deal."
Review 2 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pool Aid,
Date:May 22, 2013
By Deerface
from Katonah, NY
from Katonah, NY
Pros: Works FAST! Would highly recommend to someone who has pool water balanced but cannot see the bottom! Cloudy!!
Cons: Don't have any yet as I just bought it, but it is already working amazingly fast!!
"I have an above ground 18' ft. round pool.
Took off winter cover (NON Mesh) and opened up pool as usual. Water was cloudy and dark.
Rebalanced all chemicals and got that right but water remained cloudy even after a couple of days.
I have a sand filter so just kept sending a few inches of pool water to WASTE (then backwash, rinse, filter) and then replaced those few inches with FRESH water. Did this every other day. Checked water chemical balance daily -- all good. Would maybe only need to add more Chlorine shock to assist in killing algae, etc.
Water still cloudy a week later.
After a week of still not seeing the bottom and not wanting to spend $$$$ on chemicals not needed.
I tried POOL AID and you should KEEP your filter running!! Do not shut if off.
Next morning, saw the pool bottom!!! Dead stuff dropped down so and I vacuumed off to WASTE cycle and got almost all of it OFF off pool bottom! An amazing, quick working, timesaver product! Who knew?
Did a second round of Pool Aid (half of the first round)...just to get it crystal clear....I will see it this this afternoon..and I'm sure the water will now be even more clear! This saved me tons of work and buying useless chemicals. I am impressed and would recommend if you do not want to waste time and money. TRY this first! Then see if it's anything else.
"
Review 3 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SIMPLY AMAZING,
Date:July 27, 2012
By daddyfatty
from Kings Park NY
from Kings Park NY
Pros: Just add to pool water without checking anything.Just don't use after shocking your pool.
Cons: There are no cons to speak of with the use of this product.
"I was having trouble with my pool water turning milky white.I spent about $110 at the local pool store using their products with no luck.As a last resort i took a chace with this product and i am very impressed.After just one day i could finally see the steps on my ladder and by day two i could see the floor of the pool.After a second dose the pool was CRYSTAL CLEAR....This is the best product ever.I will make sure i always have this on hand during the summer...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miracle Worker,
Date:June 24, 2010
By SwimmingWithInTheSwim
from Iowa
from Iowa
Pros: Worked overnight!
Cons: None
"BEST PART: THERE ISN'T ANY SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS TO USE THIS PRODUCT OTHER THAN TO NOT USE WITHIN 2 HOURS BEFORE OR AFTER YOU SHOCK. You DON'T have to try to get your readings into a certain range before this product can be used!
I've been battling my dark greenish brownish pool water for a couple of weeks now and have spent hundreds of dollars. To be fair we've had thunderstorm after thunderstorm day after day here while I've been battling this problem. I made sure I had the chlorine at the 10 ppm to achieve the breakpoint to kill off whatever was causing the problem but the water just wasn't clearing up in spite of that, the algaecide and other clarifiers I've used. You could not see the bottom of the pool. I've had a lot of luck with Natural Chemistry products and decided to give this one a try. I used 1 bottle in my 35,000 gallon inground early yesterday evening. This morning the water was clear and the bottom of the pool is almost completely covered in a brown gunk and there is also a thin line of bubbly brown gunk around the edges of the pool along the waterline but it's not stuck to the walls. Regardless at least this gunk is no longer suspended in my water and this product dropped it to the bottom so quickly I'm amazed. The water itself is completely clear and I can easily see the drains in the deep end. Due to the fact that I'm disabled I put in Nitro, my automatic pool cleaner just to get a jump start on taking out some of the gunk on the bottom and this evening when I have help we'll vacuum the rest to waste and finish the clean up.
Helpful hint: Make sure you test the phosphates in your pool and keep them under 100 ppb. Natural Chemistry does have a product called PHOSfloc that can reduce the phosphates if they are extremely high to get them to a level that the PHOSfree or Pool Magic + PHOSfree will work to further bring the phosphates down to near zero. Last year our phosphates were well over 5000 ppb. I brought them down using PHOSfloc to around 800 ppb and then used PHOSfree to lower them down to under 100 ppb then used Pool Magic + PHOSfree as my regular maintenance. After I got the phosphates lowered we had crystal clear water and no problems for the rest of the season. This year I hadn't been the one taking care of the pool due to health reasons so the phosphates are higher but low enough that I can treat with PHOSfree now that I've taken back over the care of our pool."
Review 5 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glad I found this,
Date:August 1, 2009
By cat952
from columbia,sc
from columbia,sc
Pros: Clears water fas
"water was cloudy tried alot of POOL STORES products - nothing worked used Pool First Aid and in 24 hours water was clearing. Pool is sparkling clear."
Review 6 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Product to clear water no matter what type fi,
Date:July 28, 2009
By Ariel
from Pittsburgh, Pa
from Pittsburgh, Pa
Pros: Clears water even on mesh covered pools
Cons: None
"Have been above ground pool owners for over 30 years so we have seen and tried many different products over the years, since switching to a mesh winter cover 4 yrs ago spring opening has been a nightmare as we live in a heavily wooded area, Every yr our local pool center tells my Hubby we can not use clarifiers or floc products in a DE filter ,although I have been doing it without a problem, this year was really bad and after asking the pool people about this product, I was told They do not carry or recommend this type of product as it only helps if pool water is already clear,I felt I had nothing to lose but cloudy water with a lot of dead algae floating in it ,I ordered it, I had already used all the recommended shock and algecides, I won't say I put it in and it cleared overnight But i will tell you it WAS CLEAR IN TWO DAYS!!! From now on this is the first product I will use, Thanks In The Swim for carrying Pool First Aid"
Review 7 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent!,
Date:July 18, 2009
By ddot
from Ohio
from Ohio
Pros: It works quickly, and every time!
Cons: Can't think of any.
"We had an algae bloom from trapped water in a damaged solar cover. We killed the algea, but the pool became foggy. We tried everything to get rid the fog. Spent lots of money in the process. Finally, I read some reviews on this product and for the price thought it was worth a try. It cleared the pool up overnight! Now, I keep a bottle on hand. At the hint of a fog I put a dose in and the water is crystal clear and smooth feeling. A wonderful product."
Review 8 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Didn't clear everything but...,
Date:July 17, 2009
By DeliriousMom
from Pocono Mts, PA
from Pocono Mts, PA
Pros: Cleaned the gunk at the water line very well
Cons: didn't clear up the pool that I could tell but our prob was the filter...
"When we opened our 27' round, above ground pool this year, lo & behold it was so green it was almost black! YUCK! It took 3 weeks to get it to clear. I found this product 1 1/2 weeks into the mess & tried it and I don't think it lightened the water any but it sure cleaned up the water line extremely well I had even tried to scrub it with a scrubby sponge from the kitchen & that stuff wouldn't budge till this product cleared it all away on its own. My murky pool was caused by my filter not being installed properly (not by us!) but we took the whole thing apart, changed the sand & got it running properly and the pool promptly cleared up after that, I'm not sure if this product helped or not, but I'm pretty sure it didn't hurt either and I wouldn't hesitate to try this product again if the situation warranted it."
Review 9 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Problem Solver,
Date:July 12, 2009
By CommonGreenDarner
from Durham, NC
from Durham, NC
Pros: Easy to use, cleans up a mess.
Cons: none
"After my pump motor failed, and two weeks waiting on repairs, my pool had turned into the Black Lagoon. This product helped straighten out the algae bloom pretty quickly."
Review 10 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other benefits,
Date:November 26, 2008
By ShawnM
from Johnstown, PA
from Johnstown, PA
Pros: alternative approach to water cleaning
Cons: none
"I used for a cloudy water issue. After 24 hours the water was clear. The other added important benefit is the enzymatic cleaning of the sand in the filter. A good use of a natural weapon."
Review 11 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of Money!,
Date:August 16, 2008
By Topsy
from Rainier, WA
from Rainier, WA
Pros: none
Cons: Doesn't work
"This product doesn't work any better than other chemicals we have tried. We replaced the sand in our filter( which is working properly) and tried other chemicals. We had hoped this would work based on the reviews. The people at the pool store informed us that this product doesn't work in all cases. We eventually cleared the water but without the help of this product."
Review 12 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FINALLY Something that works!!!!,
Date:June 25, 2008
By vickisok
from Michigan,
from Michigan,
Pros: Fast working; does the job; reasonably priced
Cons: none
"We've spent the last 4 weeks trying to get our pool clear. After many many trips to the pool store, lots of money spent and still no results, I saw this and decided what the heck. I was very skeptical as I've spent a whole lot more money without any results.
Product came today after ordering yesterday. I put this in at 11 am. Went back out at 4 p.m. and to my amazement, THE POOL IS CLEAR!!!!! Will never be without this product.
Thanks for such a great way to finally be able to see clearly.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!!!!! Life Saver!!!!,
Date:June 23, 2008
By SallyG
from PA
from PA
Pros: fast, spectacular results
Cons: none
"This is the greatest pool product ever! My pool was in bad shape last fall & I closed it without any treatment. This spring it was even worse! I thought I would have to drain my pool and start over. My pool "professional" even said it would take at least a week for my water to clear up enough to see the bottom of the pool. He gave me a regime to follow and said to call when the water was close to being clear. I put the 1st Aid in, and the water not only cleared up in a day and a half, but in 2 days it was absolutely sparkling! I called him and he didn't believe me! The water looks better than it ever has! My husband, who hates the pool, was even impressed!"
Review 14 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lifesaver for pool opening,
Date:June 17, 2008
By hedgehog1974
from Yorktown, IN
from Yorktown, IN
Pros: clears cloudy or discolored water overnight
Cons: pool temp must be at least 70 or product works slower
"I first used this product when we moved into our new house and had a pool for the first time. I had a terrible time getting the water to clear up and tried everything. I had been struggling with cloudy water for 2 weeks and saw this product and decided to try it. It cleared my pool overnight! I use it every opening now or anytime the pool is a bit cloudy from heavy use. It's a lifesaver!"
Review 15 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pool First Aid,
Date:June 11, 2008
By RayK
Pros: Works very quickly to give clear water.
Cons: None
"This is an awesome product! After the first application, we could see the water getting clearer. After letting it work overnight, we made one more application. This provided outstanding results for a pool that has been clouudy regardless of the "shock" applications. Thanks IN The Swim! We will recommend this product to anyone who lets us know they have a problem with cloudy water. Also, thanks for the speedy delivery!"
Review 16 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miracle Worker Overnight,
Date:June 2, 2008
By cityhallpd
Pros: Works like no other product on the market
Cons: None
"After a pool party, the pool turned green from algae brought in from guests swimsuits. After being told I may be forced to drain my entire 40,000 gallon pool, to fix the problem, I was also recommended to try Pool First Aid. Overnight my entire murky green pool became crystal CLEAR!"
Review 17 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The name says it all!!,
Date:May 26, 2008
By flandscaper
from Lehigh Acres, FL
from Lehigh Acres, FL
Pros: Everything!
Cons: NONE!!
"Does what it says, first aid!!! I haven't had all of the scenerios described, but it helps allot of problems fast! Great if company is comming over!!"
Review 18 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good choice,
Date:August 22, 2007
By swimref
Pros: works well
Cons: none
This customer did not provide a text review.
Review 19 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product!,
Date:August 10, 2007
By cjpbsn
"We went on vacation and left the pool with the pump off. When we got back home, we had a bad algae problem. We got the algae cleared, and used clarifiers, but the water stayed cloudy. I ordered this product and it cleared up the cloudy water which made me really happy. I would greatly recommend this product to a friend, and in fact, already did to a coworker."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pool First Aid
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
Date:August 9, 2007
By KEVANDTHEBOYZZ
Pros: Keeps pool clear
"We use this every year when we open the pool, and thru-out the summer. Keeps water sparkling. We use it after heavy usage when water starts to get a littel cloudy, or after heavy rains. Works every time"