In The Swim Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At In The Swim
Shop Natural Chemistry Enzyme Pool Chemicals or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at In The Swim.

Phos Free

Eliminate algae in a swimming pool by removing the food source and starving it. Phos Free pool chemical from Natural Chemistry removes the phosphates algae needs to grow in swimming pools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
48 of 50(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Phos Free
Review 1 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Product,
Date:August 22, 2007
By shirt
"I have had no algae since I started using this product 2 years ago."
Review 2 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Purchase,
Date:November 27, 2008
By applesmommy
from Pinellas Park, FL
from Pinellas Park, FL
Pros: Keeps pool algae free
"I wouldn't dream of opening my pool without this. It works wonderfuly!!!!"
Review 3 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Stuff,
Date:August 9, 2007
By rabjab2
Pros: Must have for your pool
"I have used this product for 2 years now and it is great. I use it all year long."
Review 4 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
Date:August 15, 2007
By Margs
"Combining this product with Algaecide 60, I have a beautiful gleeming pool. Thank you."
Review 5 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
Date:June 16, 2009
By PoolCop
from Western North Carolina
from Western North Carolina
Pros: Works great
Cons: None
"Best product to keep algae away, it want kill algae or help clear your water. But it will keep your pool algar free."
Review 6 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phos Free is the Best,
Date:August 22, 2007
By LIpool
Pros: No Green slime build up on walls
Cons: None
"I use weekly and have not had any alge build up on the pool walls since.
Also use at closing and no problems in the spring."
Review 7 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hot stuff,
Date:August 28, 2007
By rwetucson
"My unheated 25000 gallon pool gets to 92 degrees during the Tucson summer. Phos Free works well even under these temperatures.."
Review 8 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Great,
Date:November 27, 2008
By Stingray0124
from Bethapage, NY
from Bethapage, NY
Pros: Easy to use
Cons: None
"I had an algae problem for years. After using Phos Free, the problem was solved and I haven't experienced an algae problem since."
Review 9 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great help,
Date:July 11, 2009
By weezie30
from St. Louis, MO
from St. Louis, MO
Pros: time saver, easy to use
Cons: expensive
"Even though the expense for this product is higher, it is WELL worth it. We have drastically reduced the amount of times we have to vaccum or brush our pool."
Review 10 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome,
Date:November 28, 2008
By eal6
"After fighting algae for most of the summer, I tried this product and the algae died and didn't return! I will definitely use this next summer for an algae free pool."
Review 11 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORKS GREAT,
Date:June 26, 2007
By poolfairy
"We have a problem with the water department introducing phosphates into our water. All I have to do is add PhosFree to the water and clear as air in less than 24hrs. THANKS!"
Review 12 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for algae control,
Date:December 14, 2008
By carolstoys
from hot desert, california
from hot desert, california
Pros: never had an algae problem after using this product
Cons: none
"I have had a pool for over 20 years and fought with algae year after year until I saw this product and decided to give it a try. Ever since, every year has been algae free. I love it."
Review 13 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product for algae control,
Date:November 27, 2008
By warren
from hollister, ca (south of san jose)
from hollister, ca (south of san jose)
Pros: easy to use once a week
Cons: none
"shock first then let values go to normal then use product on PM basis...works better than anything else I used (yellow out which was great emergency product) and concentrated algecide"
Review 14 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phosphate remover,
Date:May 18, 2007
By paul
Pros: works fast, cheaper than others
Cons: None
"I decided to try Phos Free because it was sigificantly cheaper than other phosphate removers I had used in the past. It worked very well, it cleared the entire pool in 24 hrs. Recommend it highly."
Review 15 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the investment,
Date:May 16, 2009
By awarnberg
from Phenix City, AL
from Phenix City, AL
Pros: Performs as expected, Great for weekly treatments
"When our pool is open, I add three capfuls after backwashing every week to keep the phosphates down in the pool - and IT WORKS! I've been using it for three years now and don't open a pool without it!"
Review 16 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!,
Date:August 27, 2009
By Flyguy
from Long Island
from Long Island
Pros: It works excellent
"Phos-free works great. As soon as I put it in our pool we stopped having problems with algae & the water turned so crystal-clear that the water looked shinier than it has ever been. This is a big must-have."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Stuff!,
Date:August 6, 2012
By cattledogmom
from MA
from MA
Pros: PhosFree lowers overall chemical usage saving money in the long run.
Cons: Phosphate level check is a pain. A tab needs to be dissolved and chemical reaction timed.
"This product is worth the money you spend on it as you can keep a cleaner pool and spend less money on Super shock, and algae killers. Both this year and last I have had no algae problems while using this product."
Review 18 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effective phosphate killer,
Date:July 13, 2011
By blueswede
from Minnesota
from Minnesota
Pros: This will stop phosphates fast and keep your pool algae free.
Cons: Need to add incrementally to sand filters or psi will ramp up.
"Phos Free has been my go to product for the past two years. It will take water with over 1000 ppb phosphate to less than 100 ppb in about five days or less. Used consistently it has kept our pool clear and algae free."
Review 19 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use and works great,
Date:August 1, 2009
By cat952
from columbia,sc
from columbia,sc
Pros: cleared up algae is just 2 days
"My pool had a very bad algae problem it looked like a pound. Tried everthing the pool stores advised nothing worked. Use Phosfree in in just 2 days algae was gone. I wish I would have used this first I would have saved alot of money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Phos Free
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Algae Ever,
Date:July 31, 2007
By MesaRon1
from Central Arizona
from Central Arizona
Pros: Will keep Algae out of your pool all year long
Cons: None
"I had some green and yellow algae in my pool every year no matter how well I kept the chemicals and kept the pool clean. For the last three years I have used Phos Free as directed and have had no algae period. I highly recommend this product."